We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore on the Beach
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Great view from the 4th floor! I sat at the floor to ceiling window when it was too stormy for the balcony. Breakfast was included, but just cereal and packaged pastries, plus coffee, juice and milk.

Room Tip: Best views from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwkeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

it was fun, the wife&kids loved the pool clean and clear water,staff very helpful especially the nice guy in the lobby took all are stuff to are room on the 4th floor.Room was very clean,perfect beach view from the 4th floor room where we were.will come back..when we checked out the nice guy took are stuff down to..we forgot an ipad in the room and got it back the next day thanks Commodorep.s.WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

April 5th thru the 8th (Easter weekend) We booked the family room on the second floor and I was extremely happy and very pleasantly suprised especially after reading poor reviews. Our room was huge! It slept 8 grown adults very comfortably (3 queen beds and a full size sofa sleeper), plus a living room area with TV and plenty of storage for our luggage. The bathroom was huge, plenty of towels, cold A/C and the big bonus, our private balcony which was enormous! The other rooms have smaller balconies, but that's because they are usually just one or two beds. But every room in the place has a gulf view. It was beautiful. The pool was wonderful and very clean. We never saw anyone jumping the fence and trying to swim in our pool. Our room and the facility were very clean. I saw tons of personnel always walking around with brooms and picking up. Plenty of staff to help with towels and our other needs. We arrived very late, around midnight after driving in from Austin. The lady at the desk was pleasant and she was helpful with all my questions (very different than in the reviews I read). We got to our room very quickly and the elevator worked perfectly. The next morning, the beach was right across the street with easy access since there is a traffic light right at the corner of the hotel. We had a great stay. I would like to address some of the negative comments that I saw earlier. It's true the Commodore is an older hotel. But it's clean. They have been in Galveston forever. And yes, the breakfast is pretty bare bones, but there are tons of restaurants within a block or two. We have been going to Galveston and Crystal Beach for over 20 years and all hotels suffer from the salt air and sand. But you cannot find a better deal for a comfortable nights stay with that much easy access to the beach. Yes, it's not a resort hotel, but it doesn't have the resort price either. I'm a single mom on a tight budget. This was our big family vacation for the year and it impressed even my picky teenagers. When we go to the beach, we go to be on the beach, not stay in our hotel all weekend. But when we did come back to the room, a great hot shower and a cold room and comfortable beds were very welcome indeed. I have a bad hip and usually after day 2 on a hotel mattress, I'm in discomfort. My hip never bothered me the entire time. The staff was friendly and helpful with my questions. Our experience was a good and happy one, so I couldn't understand all the bad reviews.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gulf and the hotel is on the main drag of the beach. But that's why I chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222SandyS222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had the family room suite. I knew it would not be luxury but it was clean. A perfect place for a large group. After staying there and looking back at the pictures, they are accurate. I came for the beach. Having a waterfall in the pool was a bonus. The employees didn't have the manners that I am accustomed to at hotels. The pictures from the beach make it appear to be very run down. After driving the area and realize all hotels are the same distance from the beach, I would have picked a different hotel.

Room Tip: Get the Family Room Suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed: March 2012
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was soooooo shame.....When my sister in a (unnamed) organization took me to check in @ The Commodore on the Beach. 1st of all i had these reservations for about a month, so excited told every by in the organization were i was staying, and had the nerve to try them to come and stay THANK GOD THEY DID NOT!!!!!! THAT WEB PAGE WAS FALSE ADVERTISMENT...THEY SHOULD BE ASHAME OF THEM SELVES..THE WATERFALL pressure was very low,the hotel is old and smelly. I could have died right ther...my sister tried to get another hotel, there was none, convention in town ...SO I WAS FORCED TO STAY.... the air went out, no fans, and a foggy tv

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorisb344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

this hotel is awful!! you will be embarrased to tell anyone youre staying here. Even the restaurant employees around the area talk very bad about this place....The place doesn't look nothing to how they show it on the web site, it looks old and raggidy for what your paying for...once again-DON'T DO IT!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 52 in Galveston Island
413 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Beach

Address: 37th and Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77552-3830
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £81 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Commodore On The Beach Galveston
Commodore Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing