We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy - just 4 walls & a bed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore on the Beach
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not fancy - just 4 walls & a bed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We visited Galveston, Tx on a whim during Labor Day weekend. We really wanted something on the beach. The first motel we tried - which looked nice - was Gaido's - which was sold out. We then went to Commodore's. The prices were high $189 first night & $159 second night. There were no frills - no coffee in room etc. The view was nice of the ocean. The pool was clean & refreshing. The "breakfast" consisted of coffee, juices & packaged rolls. There were also packaged cookies in the afternoon. I would not recommend this hotel. The beds were more like hammocks. As mentioned the view of the ocean was nice, the pelicans etc flew over & you could see the light show at the Pleasure Pier. One more note, there were no breakfast places - after walking the strip both ways we ended up at waffle house. So, look around before you choose this hotel. You may very well find more for your money. Without the location this hotel would have trouble getting business.

Room Tip: If you do stay here - ask for a room in the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coyotenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    108
    89
    73
    90
See reviews for
131
133
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Top stop to stay after travelling right across the USA without seeing the ocean since the Californian coastline - reminded us of home staying right on the beach with great sea views. Saw fishermen catching red fish from the pier in front of the hotel. Was quite a windy night as Hurricane Isaac was in action further south. Hotel is close to the beautiful Gaido's Restaurant, just a short walk there. Don't know where review about library came about as I didn't get there but did get to see the very old Elissa Spanish sailing boat at Pier 21!

Heaps more to write about on other places we stayed, restaurants etc. across the US after our return to NZ - just no time to do them as we have driven right across the US plus prior to that had driven down the Californian coastline from San Francisco to Huntington Beach, just south of LA. In New York at present and due to fly out in a couple of days. Happy travelling to you all!

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong as all face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Commodore is an older hotel that has a wonderful pool and patio area with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. Yes, it is an older hotel and not on the same page as The San Luis or Moody Gardens, but if you are looking for clean with a great view, good price, and wonderful pool, then stay at The Commodore on the Beach. You can cross the street and be walking in the sand or sit by a large pool with a waterfall. There is also an outstanding view of the Pleasure Pier Ferris Wheel for a free light show at night. We had about 16 people in our group, including adults and children, and rented 7 rooms. It was a super place for our family and friends to get together in a large group and visit and swim. The rates are very reasonable. I will remember to bring my coffee pot the next visit as the morning coffee is NOT the best, but it is FREE and limitless. I would recommend The Commodore if you are looking for a trip where the room is used mainly for showering and sleeping (as we did) and you spend the majority of your time out by the pool, beach, or shopping on the Strand. After all---why else do we go to Galveston??

Room Tip: We stayed poolside on the ground floor. It is shaped in a U so all rooms face the pool and the Gulf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texassunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place needs the board of health called. The facility and the rooms were that of a run down housing project. We checked in went to our room saw the filth and checked out. For 20 more per night stayed at Holiday Inn which seemed like a 6 star hotel in comparison.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

OK the Commodore is retro, not fancy, and is not for the high-falutin'. I like it because of these characteristics, not in spite of them. The a/c is stout, the room and bath is clean with a nice showerhead, and the balcony is ideal for watching squadrons of pelicans as they fly along the seawall. And the beach is right across the street, Pleasure Pier is slightly less than a mile walk, so all in all it's a very good location. There are lots of surfers to watch, too. The pool looked fine although I didn't use it; plenty of guests did.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you a slightly better view and more exercise if you want to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Looks like it did when I stayed here in the 70's - it's an older hotel but room is clean. Room and balcony are a little small but sufficient. We have plenty of towels and sheets are clean. I checked mattresses when we checked in and there was no evidence of any bed bugs. Room is a little damp and musty from the humidity but nothing a little Febreze wouldn't fix. Hotel is in a great location right across from the beach and right between Joe's Crab Shack and Gaido's Seafood restaurant. Also within walking distance to souvenir shops, Pleasure Pier (.08 mi) and Murdoch's (1.1 mi). Pool was clean and plenty of lounge chairs available. Lobby was clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. They did have milk and cookies in the afternoon and continental breakfast - nothing fancy, but complimentary. TV worked just fine - not that we watched it much, I mean REALLY...we are on vacation. And, YES there is wi-fi because I am using it now to write this review. It's not the Ritz-Carlton but perfectly fine for a long weekend. Will stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank n2wine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Parking sucked. Did not sleep well beds sucked, balcony to small , dirty bathroom shower broke came out of wall Price to high for the service we got

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 53 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Beach

Property: Commodore on the Beach
Address: 37th and Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77552-3830
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Commodore On The Beach Galveston
Commodore Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing