We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore on the Beach
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

It may not be the Hilton, but we appreciated the people & the location. Very pleasant staff,we had a comfortable room on the top floor. It was nice to be able to step out on our balcony to view the ocean, Pleasure Pier & the beach. We had a full moon that week end so the pictures we caught were great. Breakfast could have been a little more varied with hot food, but the lobby/diner area is "cozy". We definatey will return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    109
    91
    75
    95
See reviews for
134
136
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The view is awesome, can see the sunrise, and the pleasure pier. Lots happening on the street, and a real good location. My husband and I have stayed at several hotels in galveston, the staff at the commodore were friendly and most helpful. The hotel is privately owned and it is an older hotel. We stayed in the winter, and thought all was good. For the price we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Having just read some of the poor ratings the Commodore on the Beach has received in recent times, it triggered my own experience of a week long stay there about awhile back. I chose this hotel for it's location and lovely view of the Gulf. I will never stay there again. I booked a room on the top floor hoping to avoid parking lot and pool noise. It was the one blessing in my stay. The couple in the room next to me had nightly pot smoking fests, who a dimwit could figure out they were dealing drugs. The constant slamming of their door and the flow of quick stop visitors, and the pot smoke that entered my room, underneath the locked door that separated my room from my noisy neighbors was nuts. When I reported it to the desk staff repeatedly, they told me they could not limit their guests visitors. This behavior I went on each night from 10 pm to the early morning hours. My neighbors, being three sheets to the wind, proceeded to talk in decibles levels equivalent to a shout. Did I mention their loud, nasty sex talk, between drug deals? This to, was A.O.K. to the front desk staff. The Commodore was staffed with employee's who did nothing to protect the reputation or integrity of their employer, their work place, or their clients. It is unfortunate, because the setting is superb, the views of the Gulf spectacular, the walking distance to restaurants fabulous. The owners must place a low priortity on the quality of people they allow to run their business. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

First of all....we did enjoy our stay here. And you do get what you paid for. We went down for one night and wanted somewhere cheap on the seawall. If you want a more upscale place, stay somewhere else. The rooms were nice, the beds were comfy, and the front desk staff were pleasant. They do serve muffins and cereal in the morning with juice and coffee.

Now for the negative....the rooms are small. Like I said, we were only there one night so no biggie. The parking lot is small. We were on the second floor so you did hear road noise most of the night. You do hear people outside and other toilets flushing. Also, our air conditioner only would switch on and off...there was a dial to make it warmer/colder but it didn't work.

You couldn't smoke in your room, which also is not a biggie; however, you also can't smoke on your balcony either or you get the $150 fine. Lucky for us, we asked about this at check in and they told us, your neighbors will call you on (like it's happened several times before I'm sure). I've stayed at a lot of places in Galveston and most places you can smoke on the balcony.

Overall, it wasn't a bad stay for a night. I'd stay there again for a cheap one or two night trip.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel on the weekend of Oct. 6 & 7, 2012.For the price I paid, I was disappointed but the location was good (directly across from the beach). The hotel itself was nothing fancy but the room was clean and the bathroom was clean as well. The tv (a nice flat screen) in our room was either malfunctioning or something was wrong with the receptacle that it plugged in to because it took about 30 minutes to get it to come on. Also the a/c made a horrific noise each time the compressor would kick off and on. Parking was a challenge because, for a hotel that has 90 rooms, there may have been 45 to 50 parking spots. The complimentary breakfast was an appetizer until we could find a restaurant for a brunch before heading home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouisianaDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I will admit I was a little upset when we checked in after reserving a specific room and it wasn't available when we got there.What good is it to reserve if your not gonna get what you asked for..I have found after coming to Galveston for many many yrs.i still come back to the Commodore...My room has ALWAYS been very clean...I'm a nurse I know clean....My bed has always been comfortable...view is awesome...The older gray headed man at desk could stand to be a little more friendy....The maid service was excellent and very friendly...The location is great...Joe's Crab Shack next door Gaido's ,Ihop...Lots so close by....Beach and jetty across street.... Love the Commodore....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We visited Galveston, Tx on a whim during Labor Day weekend. We really wanted something on the beach. The first motel we tried - which looked nice - was Gaido's - which was sold out. We then went to Commodore's. The prices were high $189 first night & $159 second night. There were no frills - no coffee in room etc. The view was nice of the ocean. The pool was clean & refreshing. The "breakfast" consisted of coffee, juices & packaged rolls. There were also packaged cookies in the afternoon. I would not recommend this hotel. The beds were more like hammocks. As mentioned the view of the ocean was nice, the pelicans etc flew over & you could see the light show at the Pleasure Pier. One more note, there were no breakfast places - after walking the strip both ways we ended up at waffle house. So, look around before you choose this hotel. You may very well find more for your money. Without the location this hotel would have trouble getting business.

Room Tip: If you do stay here - ask for a room in the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coyotenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 53 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Beach

Property: Commodore on the Beach
Address: 37th and Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77552-3830
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Commodore On The Beach Galveston
Commodore Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing