We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and attractions nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore on the Beach
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed on the bottom floor by the pool which is a great pool by the way. Served a decent breakfast and is right in the area by walking distant of many great restaurants. Check in was a little annoying as they stated that the room that was reserved wasn't available (had one of our freinds checking in first as we hadn't arrived yet) but after we told them we had confirmation paperwork, all of the sudden it came available. Also, pool area closed at 10 even though we were just about to go and get in it.

Room Tip: Make sure to keep your reservation handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We travel to Galveston at least 3 times a year and have always stayed at the hotels with the best value/rate. This was our first time at The Commodore and we enjoyed it! Every room has a view of the beach, which was pretty cool. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanekCanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The pros of staying in this hotel is the room. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept on. The air condition worked great but the bathroom was a bit small but clean. The cons? If you are looking for luxury, keep looking. The pool water is cloudy and smelly. We went during the month of August and at one point I counted 20 screaming kids in the pool. The location is right across the seawall which brings on the traffic noise about 10 feet away from the pool. Between the screaming kids and the traffic noise, it was not a relaxing pool side. The building itself is OLD. The elevator is hot, slow,and scary. At one time the elevator doors jammed on us and we had to force it open. The breakfast is a muffin and cereal. Nothing fancy. The location is great. Across from the beach and fairly close to restaurants. We toured Gaidos hotel next door and it seemed so much cleaner and quieter. We might give that a try next time we travel to Galveston.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

First of all when i booked this hotel i was so excited about the hotel i had booked. The pictures of the hotel on the website painted a pretty picture. I promise you that picture was from the first day it was built. The outside of building was very nasy. The pool was foggy. The rooms were nothing as they made it seem. The house keeping did do a very good job while we were out. We cut our trip 3 days early due to the fact we had came back from the beach and was sitting on our patio which was far away from the pool area watching the son go down drinking a wine cooler and a beer just relaxing and some guy came up to us n told us we were not allowed to do that in the pool area. I mean really we were no were near the pool area. This is no pleasure place it like a jail. The ground were the pool is was very molded and filthy mold on the pool walls. The owner of this place obviously needs to fire his managment if he cares any about his buisness cause they dont. And yes the breakfast sucks. A bowl of cereal and a muffin..really. i will never stay there again i will pull my camper or go down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Booked room in advance,made a 10 hour drive to get there,very disappointed upon arrival and checkin. It's a $25 motel at best. Very much in need of renovations,really just needs to be torn down. Pool water was milky colored,pidgeons sitting on top of pool fountain crapping in water,which then flowed into pool. Elevator scary,hot,and smelled of hot machinery. Complimentary breakfast a cheap muffin from some cheap convenient store with tiny cup of coffee. Not worth the money or time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jscocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The 3 reasons for staying at this hotel are: 1. just across the street from a good beach. There is actually a traffic light at this corner-a huge plus; 2. wonderful swimming pool; 3. many great Galveston restaurants within walking distance-less than a mile away from here. The "walking distance" has become important because Galveston now charges to park on Seawall Blvd.
Other plusses include: Less than a mile for Pleasure Pier, almost every room has a balcony, or view of the ocean, rooms are as clean as can be for this type of beach hotel,and the staff is, most, very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, 3 or 4, room. No coffee in the room, so if you need coffee before getting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many, many times. It is right across the street from the beach and in walking distance to a few good restaurants, Murdoch's and the Pleasure Pier. It is pretty basic, but, comfortable and clean. The balcony is a plus to watch the beach fun and traffic going up and down the seawall. You do hear traffic, if that bothers you, bring a fan for sleeping. Great pool! Breakfast is simple, milk and cookies served at night. The front desk staff is friendly and always happy to see you.

Room Tip: Restaurants very near! We like the 4th floor, rooms toward the right are more private when sitting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugaree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 52 in Galveston Island
409 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
1.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Beach

Address: 37th and Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77552-3830
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £66 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Commodore on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Commodore On The Beach Galveston
Commodore Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing