We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Over the past three years I have stayed at this hotel eight times. Each visit I have managed to encounter at least one or two problems UNTIL this trip. The hotel has markedly improved. My entire stay was, without a doubt, one of the best Holiday Inn experiences I have ever had. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Galveston Island!

Room Tip: The best views are on the 3rd through 8th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. Our Hotel Team has worked diligently to improve our Product, Cleanliness, Quality and Service. It is nice to hear that it has been noticed. Our entire hotel team take pride in providing exceptional service to every guest. Thank you for your business and we hope that you return for another visit soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Unless you want to hear loud music/bass until 2am on the weekend, do NOT stay here! We won a free nights stay as a New Years Eve balloon drop prize there this last New Years. We used it on Sat Nov 9 & it was a nightmare! We were on the 8TH FLOOR & we could hear the live band in their nightclub until 2am! I checked with the front desk & was told that they have live bands there every Fri & Sat night. Upon returning on our room we ran into TWO seperate guests that also said they were awake because of the music & were fed up. The front desk acted like they were more concerned about the bar attendance than our comfort. My husband & I enjoy going out just like the next person, but we were there for a romantic weekend that turned out to be exhausting! ON TOP OF THAT, we killed a large roach in the bathroom right after we checked in! Read other negative responses here & you will see others posted their frustration as well. The only good thing I can say is that the bed was very very comfortable. So unless you are there to party & stay up, stay somewhere else! Thank God ours was a free stay or else we would have checked out that night. The front desk did ensure us weeknights are much more quiet. Guess I will never know.

Room Tip: The higher up the better to avoid the loud music from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelisathomasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I apologize for your inconvenience. We do have Bands that play in the Bar on Friday and Saturday nights which is part of the Activities which makes a Holiday Inn Resort unique to other Holiday Inn properties. Our hotel team should have found a resolution for you such as relocating you to the quieter end of the hotel. It is quieter on weekdays. I do apologize again and I hope that you will give us a second chance to earn your business and trust.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our two week holiday started in Galveston. Arriving late we booked this hotel overlooking the Gulf of Mexico which nice. Hotel is outdated however we had a good rest.

Galveston is worth visiting, lots of history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDutchman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review. Our hotel completed a full renovation to Holiday Inn's latest Urban Scheme Room Decor and completed the Holiday Inn Re-Launch in 2011. We are scheduled to complete another round of renovations in the beginning of 2014. Our hotel continues to improve its Product and Quality. At the same time, it is our Hotel Team's Goal to provide friendly and courteous service. We appreciate your patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope that you can make a return trip in 2014.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

When we booked our reservation for our anniversary weekend, we were perfectly okay with getting an average room for the weekend on the beach. Beginning with the friendly and courteous service of the front desk staff, WE WERE COMPLETLY BLOWN AWAY with our choice! The room was spacious, with modern décor and a SPECTACULAR view!! The bed was soooo comfortable, it was hard to leave! This hotel not only provided us with a romantic getaway with all the bells and whistles but an experience we will not forget. A big thank you to the staff, you are simply amazing!!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor but all rooms have a GREAT view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We thank you so much for recognizing our Hotel Team. It is their goal to provide every guest with exceptional service. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived in Galveston late afternoon cruised Seawall Blvd twice and sorta trolled to find a nice hotel for a reasonable price, worried we may have trouble finding a good one, but my wife spotted the Holiday Inn Resort and went in to inquire as to cost and amenities, she came out and said..we are staying here, great friendly staff, esp Mikal, and good rate and lots of amenities. Nice room overlooking the pool and Beach, and they threw in a free breakfast buffet since my wife misunderstood the Breakfast explanation! Great service, great room with a view, excellent food/breakfast buffet and right in the middle of everything....couldn't have been better!!

Room Tip: All the rooms on upper floors,2 up face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that your guestroom and restaurant experience exceeded your expectations and we are also happy to hear that our staff provided you with frindly and courteous service. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were fortunate to have found and booked the Holiday Inn Resort in Galveston.
We usually stay at another more expensive hotel, but justified the more expensive costs because they permitted us to park our car for a week while on the cruise. To our amazement, the Holiday Inn was not only less expensive, but also permitted us to park for a week at no additional charge.
The room had TWO Queen sized beds that were very firm with firm pillows. What a nice sleep.Bathrooms clean, as was the room.
From the minute that we arrived, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. I forgot my frequent hotel number, but they took the time to try to help. The desk clerk than provided us the password for Holiday Inn's free WIFI and in no time I had my number. Every one of the hotel staff asked, "Is there anything I can do to help you??". WOW - what a refreshing change from the hotels that we've stayed in Galveston.
This hotel is perfect for a cruise out of Galveston. You are only one mile (a 15 minute walk) to Guido's, one of the islands old established restaurants for dinner. The hotel is directly across the street from the sea wall, which is nice for an afternoon stroll.
Breakfast is very convenient. Yeah, there is a McDonald's about 2 to 3 miles away, and there is an IHOP fairly close by, but the hotel's restaurant was VERY reasonable. We figured that by the time that we had walked or driven to the other restaurants, the price would basically have been the same. Breakfast was hot, tasty, and JUST what we ordered. The restaurant greeter remembered us from the previous evening's check-in, and she joked about having our Holiday Inn number for breakfast. THAT is personal service. Our waiter served us promptly and kept returning to make sure that everything was satisfactory,
The front desk then called the driver of the bus to take us to the cruise ship, and Debbie arrived within 2 minutes. We loaded our bags, and were taken straight to our ship. The return trip after the cruise was even better. We were the first off of the ship, and our hotel bus was exactly where they said that they would be located, and after just a few minutes, we were the ONLY passengers on the coach being driven back to the Holiday Inn. We were dropped off in the hotel parking lot, and within minutes were on our way home.
I feel that the Holiday Inn Resort is the ONLY quality and friendly hotel to use in Galveston if you're planning a 7 day cruise. Great job!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-in-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that we made your Pre-Cruise Trip a perfect stay with us. We appreciate the commendation of our team from the Shuttle Driver, to the Restaurant, to our Housekeeping Team. It is much appreciated! Again, we are happy that we could serve you and we thank you for your business. We hope that you can come back to our hotel very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Rooms very spacious with great view of the Beach. Staff is most friendly and accommodating.
Rooms were kept exceptionally clean ! Hotel is located within walking distance several
restaaurants and shopping areas.
Really enjoyed my stay!,,

Room Tip: Select a room above the 1st and 2nd floor to get a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryjbamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.9 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £67 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing