We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and a friend just styayed here from March 19th to the 21st and had a great time. From the moment we walked in the door the front desk staff was so wonderful, they gave us a room with a balcony overlooking the Gulf which was a great way to have a vacation on the island. The rooms were updated and had a nice mini fridge and microave so you could use them. I love when I can come to a hotel and just feel like I was at home and that is how I felt here. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful stay we will be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: View of the gulf in most rooms so should be a ncie stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for staying at our Resort. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are here to make you comfortable and feel at home. I will share your comments with the entire team. Hope to see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    298
    156
    81
    71
See reviews for
395
276
26
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Galveston, mainly because of how bad everyone talks about the beaches and the city in general. I was actually surprised at how much nicer it was than everyone led me to believe. We chose this hotel for its location. There are tons of restaurants, a lot within walking distance and of course the beach directly across the street. We were upgraded to an ocean view room at no extra cost which was awesome. The room was ok. It had a fridge and microwave and good size balcony for two people to relax on. The only complaint I have about the rooms is how un-sound proof they are. From the ceilings to the rooms next to you, we could hear everything. Walking, conversations, etc. Very annoying...
Of course it was too cold to swim in the pool but from the looks of it, seems very nice with the outdoor bar and tons of seating and lounging space. We did visit the inside bar. Not too impressed, it felt very dark and it could probably use a lot of updating. The staff was extremely nice and very courteous, always smiling, saying hello. The restaurant staff was equally as nice and very courteous. Not really something we have experienced at other Holiday Inn hotels before.
The beaches were actually pretty nice, of course the water isn't clear but unlike Corpus Christi, there was no seaweed washed ashore and the sand felt softer and finer as well. We will most definitely be returning in the summer to enjoy all of the amenities as well as the beach!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach and we’re thrilled you visited Galveston and loved the beachfront location of our resort. We are always upgrading our amenities on property to meet our guest expectations. I am so glad to hear that our staff went above and beyond; we strive to exceed guest expectations. It will be much warmer soon, so we can't wait to see you this summer!
We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The photos on the website are not a good representative of the actual rooms. The lobby and entry areas are nicely updated but the room we stayed in was very average and kind of smelly. The view was pretty good, we could see the ocean and hear the waves if the traffic was light but there was pretty heavy traffic all day. Convenient location for beach access and restaurants within walking distance. Not sure if we would stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Terri D,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide particularly with the room condition and some aspects of our hotel. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'm frugal when booking a hotel room (as my other reviews also denote). My fixed income from my retirement pension is meager at best. A spur of the moment decision on February 16 saw me giving Priceline a bid to find us a super hotel for the night at a ridiculously low price. Holiday Inn on the Beach Galveston took our offer. This hotel is incredibly well maintained, with beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico, and a super friendly staff. Since we had our 3 year old grandson staying the night with us, the front desk clerk assured me we would have a fantastic room. The balcony, though small, was perfect for the 3 of us to sit and gaze upon the beautiful hotel pool area (too bad it was too cold for a swim) and the waves hitting the beach and jetty just a stone's throw away. Beds had very high end bedding which was so comfortable. The restaurant had very good food, and all of my grandson's meals were free. I can't praise the front desk staff, restaurant personnel, and housekeeping enough. Even a nice maintenance worker asked if I needed assistance when he saw he struggling with my suitcase. Location is prime property!!! We definitely want to come again to this hotel when it's summer and we can swim in their sparkling pool with the neatest cabana for sipping drinks. However, I doubt I can get it as cheap again.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor or higher, and on the side of the building which is opposite the lower build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for staying at our Resort. I am so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us. I hope that you can make a return visit to our hotel when the weather is warmer this summer. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh, Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Good Location on Seawall Blvd for watching Mardi Gras Parades. All rooms have Gulf View Balcony. Separate Restaurant and Lounge within the Hotel. Very convenient property. The only thing that we found to be negative is that we were told to hang a parking pass on our rearview mirror. Parking was not enforced...if you were to leave the property the day of the parades you would be hard pressed to get back in and most vehicles did not have parking passes visible. Otherwise it was satisfactory overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTK1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the parking issue furing the Mardi Gras Holiday. We thank you for your business and hope that you can return to our hotel in Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were told upon check in that HI is an integral part of the San Luis Resort. Had a great time spending hundreds of $$$ at H2O, Landry's, & B Jiggers. Customer service was excellent at each location. Our family was horrified, however, when asked to leave the San Luis pool because that amenity is only for those staying at the San Luis. We explained that we were at the HI - part of the San Luis Resort. In addition there was hardly anyone at the pool. No go - we had to leave. Won't be giving another penny to HI or San Luis Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plankinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review. The San Luis Pool is available to our guests in the off-season but not on weekends or the spring break and summer season. I do apologize as you should have been able to enjoy the San Luis on this occasion. Please contact me directly at the hotel and we will accomodate your request for a future stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to our cruise on Feb 7/14. The rooms were good and the bed and pillows were comfy. I loved balcony from our room and the view of the ocean. However, the bar was directly across the pool from our room and it is a popular bar for the locals. It has live music, which sounded great, but when you were trying to sleep at midnight, didn't appreciate the music or the people outside talking loudly. We kept the TV on and used ear plugs to block out the noise. The lobby gives ear plugs for free to guests. There isn't any room in the hotel that wouldn't hear the music from the nightclub.

The hotel provides fee shuttle service around Galveston and to the cruise port. Ed was our driver and he fabulous. He gave us his business card so we could phone him when we were ready to be picked up. Pleasure Pier is just a few minutes drive from the hotel and had some great rides for all ages.

My husband walked over to a sports store and bought a fishing license and then walked down to the 61 street pier and fished most of the day and evening. We spend the day walking along the boardwalk and enjoyed the sound of the ocean.

IHOP and Rainforest Café are a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but rooms on a higher floor will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but we apologize about the loud music from the bar. As a resort, our hotel amenities feature live entertainment in our bar as well as numerous Kids and Family activities. This is a brand standard for Holiday Inn Resorts.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing