We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My first trip here last year I was a little disappointed. I booked a romm here for an ocean view, but the smoking rooms are only on the first 2 floors and some are blocked by the restaurant and lobby area. I spoke with the manager after that visit and he assured me that I would have a different experience this time, and he was right. The staff was much friendlier this time and I had a room with a great view. What really impressed me is the amount of time they spend cleaning the common areas such as the pool area. Every day i watched them scrub and vacumm the pool, spray down the entire deck area, and wipe down all the tables and chairs before they laid out fresh towels in every spot. Attention to detail on these small items makes me feel that they are on top of their game. p.s. Having the bar onsite is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us again at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach. I am glad to hear this experience was great. Our staff takes pride in keeping all of the areas of the hotel guest ready and does an excellent job in keeping it clean. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    311
    161
    84
    74
See reviews for
404
287
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room had a great view. As soon as I walked in I was greeted checked in quick and it was off to my hotel room. The maid that cleaned my room was Wendy Roberts. Her service was excellent and the room was immaculate. It's been awhile since I encountered a maid that actually wants to know if the room is up to your standards....She really cared. In short if you ever come to galveston Stay at the holiday inn on the seawall...you will not regret your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t_howard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our beachfront location with our gulf views. Wendy does do an excellent job with our housekeeping team and we will share your feedback with her. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel has a friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Nice to have a fridge and microwave in addition to the coffee maker. The pool area is nice but the pool is only 5 feet at the deepest and it would be nicer for adults if there were a hot tub too. Other than that, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort. Our entire team strives to provide the best customer service and am glad to hear that they met your expectations. We do have a great room product with a variety of amenities to make our guest stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 for a family trip within driving distance. The wife and I had stayed here in Summer 1995 previously overnight. Love the location and the view. Paid extra to get on an upper floor and I think it is worth it. The two upper floors are the best I think. The door opens into an exterior hallway on the back. You can see the cruise ships in the distance when docked. The rooms had been redone not too long ago. Not too many amenities but the small balcony looking across the busy road to the gulf is nice. In room safe is good. Small separate dressing area with mirror. You can see the volcano go off at the Rainforest Café to the West. River ride there is pretty neat. San Luis Resort (very luxurious) next door. The HI pool is small and standard faire. The restaurant The Jetty was okay, had plenty of breakfast selections but some took too long to refill. Some a bit overdone.

I really like this place for sentimental reasons but the overall property could be remodeled to make it a bit nicer. Son loved the arcade (claw machines and video games). Crossing the busy road to the beach is a challenge at all times. Be warned: The water here is NOT CLEAR. They have recently put up flags near the jetty (rock outcropping) near the hotel beach and the lifeguards will yell at you if you get too close.

I really like the island and this place with all there is to do nearby : The Pleasure Pier, Seawolf Park, Bolivar Ferry, old Fort Travis on Bolivar side, fishing off the fishing pier (son caught and released his first fish!) The Strand shopping and various other things that we didn't do (Schlitterbahn water park, Moody Gardens) make it a nice trip. The Kema Boardwalk and Johnson Space Center in Houston about an hour away was fun too. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a higher floor. overlooking air conditioners or a brick wall would be pretty di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Member_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us again at the Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach. I am glad to hear you enjoy our beachfront location with its gulf views. We have done many property enhancements since your last visit in august, and plan on do some upgrades in our guestrooms this coming fall. You will need to come see what we've done on your next visit. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room was ok. . . it smelled bad, right by the door. It was great to have a balcony facing the gulf! Breakfast was good! We had a good time at the pool, but it was not heated, which would have been a lot better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us we’re glad you enjoyed the beachfront location of our resort. We appriciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with some friends for my birthday. I live in Houston and wanted the convenience of being able to stay at the beach at a decent price. The staff was extremely helpful, greeted me and acknowledged my membership status. Fresh fruit water in the lobby was a nice touch. Pool was clean and not cluttered. The bar atmosphere was nice and again extremely helpful as to places to go eat locally. Room was nice and although I didn't eat at the hotel the menu was impressive. I will definitely be back! Good job Holiday Inn :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Resort we appreciate your loyalty as a member. I am glad you were able to enjoy our beach front location. Our team takes pride in providing exceptional service and quality room product. We hope again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I stayed a weekend here and it was very nice. Our room had a balcony view of the Gulf of Mexico. The staff was very helpful, from early check-in to recommendations for activities for the kids. The pool was great and we all had a good time watching the nightly movie shown by the pool. The location is fantastic and is within safe walking distance to the beach, Rain Forest Cafe and many other attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. Our team takes pride in providing exceptional service and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations and want this to be as comfortable as your home. We hope to see you on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing