We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We bring the kids on a mini two day vaca every year to the Galveston beach. We have tried a few hotels, but keep on coming back to this one. It is a little pricey in my opinion, however it is very clean. The main reason we love this hotel is because of the large clean pool. You are located right across the street from the beach, you can shower off all the sand right beside the pool, and then take a nice dip. There is bar service at the pool if your a drinker, and a full service bar and grill located beside the pool. After staying at other hotels, I'm a huge fan of The Resort on the Beach!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for coming back to us. We enjoy providing a great family resort for our guest to enjoy. The pool is a great area to relax while enjoying our activities. Thank you again for continually coming back we value you loyalty and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was within walking distance to the Convention Center for the trade show we attended. Also, it's right on the beach with plenty of parking. Does not include free breakfast, but is also within walking distance to IHOP which was a nice treat for us. The staff were all extremely friendly and the room was clean with a great view of the beach. The pool has an interesting shape, was clean and well cared for, and staff was on hand with free snow cones and apparently a movie with popcorn later that night.

Room Tip: I have heard to avoid pool side rooms which are noisy. Ask for a great view of the beach though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trade show. We do offer room packages that include breakfast options, so be sure to ask when booking to see what is available. I am glad you enjoyed our beachfront location and that there are many locations within walking distance to our hotel. We have a great activities team who enjoy proving the extras poolside amenities. Thank you for giving us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Holly and the staff were very friendly and polite. They really care about the safety of their customers. The service was great! The location was perfect!!! We had an awesome view of the beach from our room. The kids loved the pool and enjoyed the outdoor movies. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. Holly and the staff do an excellent job in providing friendly service to our guest. I will share your comments with them. I am glad to hear that the kids enjoyed our pool and that they were able to spend time watching our dive-in movie that our activities team provides. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My first trip here last year I was a little disappointed. I booked a romm here for an ocean view, but the smoking rooms are only on the first 2 floors and some are blocked by the restaurant and lobby area. I spoke with the manager after that visit and he assured me that I would have a different experience this time, and he was right. The staff was much friendlier this time and I had a room with a great view. What really impressed me is the amount of time they spend cleaning the common areas such as the pool area. Every day i watched them scrub and vacumm the pool, spray down the entire deck area, and wipe down all the tables and chairs before they laid out fresh towels in every spot. Attention to detail on these small items makes me feel that they are on top of their game. p.s. Having the bar onsite is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us again at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach. I am glad to hear this experience was great. Our staff takes pride in keeping all of the areas of the hotel guest ready and does an excellent job in keeping it clean. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room had a great view. As soon as I walked in I was greeted checked in quick and it was off to my hotel room. The maid that cleaned my room was Wendy Roberts. Her service was excellent and the room was immaculate. It's been awhile since I encountered a maid that actually wants to know if the room is up to your standards....She really cared. In short if you ever come to galveston Stay at the holiday inn on the seawall...you will not regret your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t_howard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our beachfront location with our gulf views. Wendy does do an excellent job with our housekeeping team and we will share your feedback with her. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel has a friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Nice to have a fridge and microwave in addition to the coffee maker. The pool area is nice but the pool is only 5 feet at the deepest and it would be nicer for adults if there were a hot tub too. Other than that, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our resort. Our entire team strives to provide the best customer service and am glad to hear that they met your expectations. We do have a great room product with a variety of amenities to make our guest stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 for a family trip within driving distance. The wife and I had stayed here in Summer 1995 previously overnight. Love the location and the view. Paid extra to get on an upper floor and I think it is worth it. The two upper floors are the best I think. The door opens into an exterior hallway on the back. You can see the cruise ships in the distance when docked. The rooms had been redone not too long ago. Not too many amenities but the small balcony looking across the busy road to the gulf is nice. In room safe is good. Small separate dressing area with mirror. You can see the volcano go off at the Rainforest Café to the West. River ride there is pretty neat. San Luis Resort (very luxurious) next door. The HI pool is small and standard faire. The restaurant The Jetty was okay, had plenty of breakfast selections but some took too long to refill. Some a bit overdone.

I really like this place for sentimental reasons but the overall property could be remodeled to make it a bit nicer. Son loved the arcade (claw machines and video games). Crossing the busy road to the beach is a challenge at all times. Be warned: The water here is NOT CLEAR. They have recently put up flags near the jetty (rock outcropping) near the hotel beach and the lifeguards will yell at you if you get too close.

I really like the island and this place with all there is to do nearby : The Pleasure Pier, Seawolf Park, Bolivar Ferry, old Fort Travis on Bolivar side, fishing off the fishing pier (son caught and released his first fish!) The Strand shopping and various other things that we didn't do (Schlitterbahn water park, Moody Gardens) make it a nice trip. The Kema Boardwalk and Johnson Space Center in Houston about an hour away was fun too. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a higher floor. overlooking air conditioners or a brick wall would be pretty di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Member_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us again at the Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach. I am glad to hear you enjoy our beachfront location with its gulf views. We have done many property enhancements since your last visit in august, and plan on do some upgrades in our guestrooms this coming fall. You will need to come see what we've done on your next visit. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
802 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £68 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing