We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Two families headed to Galveston. A beach resort... Relies heavily on the summer tourism. Hotel is older but remodeled and very clean. Staff was nice for the most part but not very competent. Our room was not ready when we got there at 4:15 (checkin is at 4). We waited in our friends room for a promised phone call when ready. They said about 15 minutes. After 40, I called them. It was ready but no apology for not calling to tell me. We asked various staff member basic questions about the hotel as the days progressed. We rarely got a correct answer and found things out for ourself. Like where the bar was and did the laundry have a coin machine & soap available. For the record, there's decent bar overlooking the pool but the waitresses never asked us if we needed anything. We always called them over. They never took empty glasses or trash away. Very poor service. As for the laundry, no coin machine and NO soap on the premise for purchase. Had to go to the store. The restaurant served a descent breakfast buffet (not free) but the service was poor and very slow. Several waitresses looked down right mad that we were there. We won't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are disappointed to hear you did you not enjoy your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your comments, please email ehimes@ldry.com. We appreciate you leaving your comments as we share our guest feedback with our entire team and learn how to improve service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only snag was that we were given a room with one king bed when our reservation had been made for 2 beds. Not sure how the mix-up happened, but they sent up an inflatable mattress for our 3 year old and it was not a big issue. The view from our room was very nice. Danielle was very pleasant at check-in on Friday evening and when we left Sunday morning Holly was also helpful. There was a young lady doing kids' activities by the pool named Rebecca - she was patient and sweet with my daughter and working with lots of loud, energetic kids on a 95° afternoon in the heat with a smile on her face impressed me. We really enjoyed our weekend, and would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alias419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We love hearing when our associates exceed our guest expectations. Thank you for mentioning Danielle and Rebecca- we will certainly pass these comments along to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel staff was very polite and helpful and friendly. Holly at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with. Each time we returned from an outing, we were welcomed back like an old friend returning home. Loved sitting on the balcony and watching the boats in the gulf and the traffic on the seawall. Was a great 25th anniversary trip!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Happy 25th anniversary to you! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you sooner than your 26th anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Destination:
I'll post a little about Galveston first for those of you who may have never been there. I have to tell you up front that if you are expecting post card beaches and gorgeous blue water you will be disappointed. The water has a brown hue too it at all times, and the sea weed is out of control. They have a tractor that tries to clean the public beach each day, but by mid morning the sand is thickly lined with sea weed. You can feel it brush up against you the whole time you are in the water, and the decaying sea weed on the sand has a strong unpleasant odor. Other than that, Galveston is a fun Island with all the typical attractions and restaurants that you would expect from a beach town.

Location of Hotel:
The hotel is right next to another major resort so the location is pretty good. Beach access is right across the street. You can walk to some restaurants, but if you are hoping to get to the pleasure pier by foot you are in for a long walk. There is a large sporting good store, a very good Mexican restaurant, and a beach shop (bathing suits, boogie boards, chairs etc.) all within a short walk.

Amenities:
The only amenity we really used was the pool and we enjoyed it. It is an "L" shaped pool, has nice shade, good temperature, and a nice waterfall feature. There is also a children's pool and wait staff who will get you a beverage from the onsite bar.

We did notice that they have an onsite babysitter / child care room. We didn't inquire about the rates but I thought that may be good for you to know in case you wanted to plan a night out without the kids.

Room:
Our room was on the fifth floor. Every room above the 2nd floor, including ours, has a nice ocean view. All rooms have a balcony with the exception of rooms on the 1st floor - those have a door that leads out to the pool area. The first negative thing we noticed about the room was how dirty the floor was. When we arrived to the room we let our daughter crawl around while we set up her play pen. After just a few minutes her hands and knees were black from the filth. Needless to say we wore flip flops in the room from that point forward. The floor was also moist, but I would imagine that is par for the course in Galveston. I grew up in that area and it is rare that the humidity level is less than 85%.

The beds were comfortable, plenty of pillows, and the AC worked well. The room had a microwave and decent sized refrigerator, and I believe that all rooms on this property do. We noticed some signs of aging in the bathroom. Some of the wall paper was peeling, and some of the grout in the shower was in need of a good scrubbing.

General Comments about property:
Elevator:
There are two elevators and on one day only 1 of them was operational. This caused major delays. Also keep in mind that the walkways to guest rooms are not interior corridors, so you are waiting for the elevator in 90+ degree heat with 100% humidity. Very uncomfortable. Even when both elevators were working you have to wait during busy times. The elevators are not large, so if 1 person has a luggage cart you pretty much have to catch the next one. Another thing we did not like is that there is no service elevator, so sometimes the door would open and you see hotel staff with furniture. Obviously no room, so you have to wait for the next one to come around.

Parking:
Parking was on site and free, which is nice because you have to pay to park anywhere you go on the sea wall. We never had trouble getting a park spot, so we were please with that.

Value: I shopped around quite a bit for a room with a balcony in Galveston so I can tell you that this hotel is a pretty good value if you are looking for a balcony with an ocean view. I did see some less expensive hotels, but you have to sacrifice a balcony or location, so I think this hotel is kind of the sweet spot of price and amenities.

Room Tip: North side rooms on the 3rd floor an above will have a clear view of the gulf and the pool. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We always appreciate guest feedback and we share your reviews with our team. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A friend and I stayed here in July 14 for 3 nights. It is ideally located and the walks along the seawall are nice. Breakfast was good (included), the rooms were comfortable, and the only draw back is the uncomfortable pillows. The staff were fantastic and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 69theleg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your review of your recent stay. Each of our guest rooms is supplied with a variety of soft and firm pillows that are labeled for your convenience. We would be glad to provide you additional pillows if you call Housekeeping during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife, 5 year old granddaughter and myself checked in early on July 8th for two nights. Holly, a front desk employee was quick to check us in and "guaranteed us a pleasant stay." After receiving a room on the first floor, blocking our view from the beach, I went back to the front desk and asked for a room with a view. Holly and Mike M. tried every way possible to move us up to a higher floor with specific accommodations, but everything was already booked. They assured us a higher floor room would be ready for us the next day with no extra charges. (seems the higher up the floors, the price also rises) The next day we were in a beautiful top floor room with complimentary passes to several restaurant for food items on the beach. (they moved all of our luggage while we were down on the beach....great) Everything went perfect for our trip on the island and especially at the Resort...thanks for everything!! Hal & Penny Ward (plus Francis)

Room Tip: be nice when checking in....you never know when you may need additional help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Annie C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First time to stay here and we enjoyed it very much. The location was great for us - we did end up driving to lunch and dinner. The cafe downstairs is perfect for a quick breakfast. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms clean - two items high on my priority list. The pool was nice - if targeted toward small children - but right next to the hotel bar with good music. Clean can be hard in Galveston but this resort does a great job of keeping the sand at bay. There are only two elevators so we usually had to wait a bit and the room prices seemed a little high - but it seems in Galveston in the summer, there are only two extremes on hotel rates. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are enter from the back with a balcony view of the Gulf. I spoke with another guest who sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel77079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear your children enjoyed the pool. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £66 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing