We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view of the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Wharton, Texas
1 review
“A beautiful view of the ocean”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The rooms were clean and the beds were soft. Had a wonderful view of the ocean and enjoyed the pool. Front desk personal was friendly. It was close to a lot of attractions so you didn't have to drive to far to get to them. It was in walking distance of entertainment and food places. Really enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed Galveston and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    329
    174
    90
    77
See reviews for
450
308
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I love there pool and rooms they are great they have great room service i think they are the perfect place to hangout on vacition or for rommance for a honeymoon for a kids making all a's its perfect! you should try them out if you need a vacition they are perfect great amazing we loved them and the whole city we loved the trip so much we bought a nice beach right my them we love this hotel me amy 8 year old son and my husband

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is at a great location for the view of the Gulf as well as local restaurants. The rooms are a little dated but not bad at all. The folks at the front desk are very helpful and accommodating. The pool area is very nice for a refreshing dip in the water and some tanning. After a long day exploring the island this is a very nice hotel to relax at. It has bar, food, and it's clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the compliments on our staff and pool area. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am so disappointed at how my family was treated here last weekend. I made a reservation weeks in advance (full price, nonrefundable), and then for good measure called the day of our reservation to inform the staff that although we would be arriving late, we were on our way. I was told that our room would be waiting for us. When we checked in, the night manager acted shifty as he punched on the computer, then proceeded to tell me that "unfortunately" our room wouldn't have much of a view. He was right; the view from our balcony was the top of the restaurant and the air conditioner units for the entire hotel. I had paid to see a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Instead, we were tucked in a dank corner room. The manager apparently had given away our room with a view and dumped this room on us. The manager was thoughtless and dismissive when we challenged him, and the day manager was equally patronizing and unwilling to help the following day. The Satisfaction Guarantee is a farce and empty words; Holiday Inn has zero intentions of making this right. I deliberately chose Holiday Inn, purposely avoiding discounts and deals on the Web and choosing to pay full price, specifically for the peace of mind of knowing our room would be nice, that we would get a view of the ocean, and simply put, that I would get what I paid for. I did my due diligence (and beyond) to ensure a good trip for my family, and I was taken advantage of. Holiday Inn took my nonrefundable payment, pocketed it, then doubled its money by selling my room to another family. Worst part was seeing how disappointed my 10-year-old daughter was, especially after I had touted Holiday Inn as a reputable company that we could trust.

Room Tip: If you book your room online and in advance, call the on-site desk staff before you arrive and speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are disappointed to hear you were not satisfied during your recent stay and would like the opportunity to speak with you. If you will email ehimes@ldry.com we will reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groesbeck, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We had a 7th floor room and the view was great. The room was clean and fairly quiet. Holly helped me with checking in and checking out. Her customer service was exceptional. I appreciate her advice and helpful attitude. We are looking forward to a return trip and will be staying at this hotel again due to the view, location and quality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing that Holly was very helpful during your stay- we will certainly share these comments with her. Thanks for taking the time to review you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Enterprise, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is very very clean! The pool was just wonderful.....it is big enough where you can relax and enjoy in your own space and also has a pool for the babies. The area around the pool is serviced which was also nice. Ocean view....we woke up to sit out on the balcony to watch the dolphins and shrimp boats and beautiful sunrise. The hotel staff goes over and beyond to accommodate guests needs. This hotel is the best hotel to me in Galveston. We have stayed twice this summer and plan on staying more.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms and up seem to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doraandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It's great hearing you are a repeat guest of ours! Thanks for continuing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Two families headed to Galveston. A beach resort... Relies heavily on the summer tourism. Hotel is older but remodeled and very clean. Staff was nice for the most part but not very competent. Our room was not ready when we got there at 4:15 (checkin is at 4). We waited in our friends room for a promised phone call when ready. They said about 15 minutes. After 40, I called them. It was ready but no apology for not calling to tell me. We asked various staff member basic questions about the hotel as the days progressed. We rarely got a correct answer and found things out for ourself. Like where the bar was and did the laundry have a coin machine & soap available. For the record, there's decent bar overlooking the pool but the waitresses never asked us if we needed anything. We always called them over. They never took empty glasses or trash away. Very poor service. As for the laundry, no coin machine and NO soap on the premise for purchase. Had to go to the store. The restaurant served a descent breakfast buffet (not free) but the service was poor and very slow. Several waitresses looked down right mad that we were there. We won't stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are disappointed to hear you did you not enjoy your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your comments, please email ehimes@ldry.com. We appreciate you leaving your comments as we share our guest feedback with our entire team and learn how to improve service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.3 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing