We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price with an amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are looking for and average hotel with a good view this is the one!
We got upgraded to a higher level room with a better view and also was chosen to be the quest of the day with a free 'present' to choose from. We chose fruit and cheese plate delivered to our room.
The rooms are in good condition but the bathroom needs a little work around the tub.
The pool area is nice and restaurant is convenient for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach and I'm glad you werre picked as our guest of the day! Thank you for leaving us your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

When we arrived they were still prepping rooms, so while we waited Ed, the concierge, offered to take all of our luggage and store it away - including chilling our bottle of wine - and recommended a great restaurant (Nick's) for dinner - which turned out great! When we returned, our luggage was neatly arranged in our room - which was clean and ready - and our wine was chilled with two glasses. During our stay, Ed always made sure that we had good options for dining and entertainment - always with a smile on his face! The Jolly Roger restaurant was pleasant, with a great breakfast every morning and the staff was friendly and attentive. We also enjoyed food and cocktails at the nice pool, which our kids really enjoyed and was clean and fun. We were on the 4th floor and had a nice sea view. The hotel was very centrally located, with most things within walking distance and the beach - right across Seawall Blvd - had been well maintained. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor if available for a better sea view and further away from air-conditioner unit...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We love hearing when our associates exceed our guest expectations. Thank you for mentioning Ed- we will certainly pass these comments along to him and make sure he is recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for one night for a little get away. Hotel was older but clean and cozy and for the price can't complain much. The room was clean and beds and pillows were so comfortable and thats important have stayed a places much more expensive and beds sucked so this was good. Holly at the front desk checked me in and was extremely friendly and pleasant to deal with. I also won guest of the day which got me a upgrade and a very nice fruit and cheese platter which was a nice snack after swimming but not ready for dinner yet. Location was also good beach right across street and not to far from the pleasure pier.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrisvl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that Holly was very friendly during your stay- we will certainly share these comments with her. Thanks for taking the time to review you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Check in and check out went smooth. They upgraded us to higher room with a view. Staff friendly and helpful except for one lady at the desk I encountered when I inquired about the shuttle. I did not get her name unfortunately. She was very curt with me, no smile. Holly and Adriana were the best though. The free shuttle service by the way is very cool. A super friendly driver took my party to and from my birthday dinner at Salsas which was very nice and convenient and we didn't have to worry about driving. Pool was nice. Bartender very friendly. A lot of children going wild in the pool, but that's to be expected at a family hotel in the summer. Rooms are average, but I really like having the mini fridge and microwave in the room. Bed, pillows all good. But beware of the restroom bath towels! I loved that they were so soft and new and then realized that I was covered in white lint and so was my clothing! :-( I was a bit disappointed that the ice machine on our floor was missing. Overall a good stay for a good price.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was a good for the price.

Room Tip: For the best view get a room on the 5th floor or higher and on the far right side of the hotel. If y...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabernet1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Check in was a little slow but Keith was very friendly and make sure we received a room with an excellent view. Was a little worried that our room was right when you got off the elevator but it was not a problem. Room was very clean and the beds and pillows were great. We were on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean. Could not believe how quite the hotel was. Never heard any noise from above or beside us and the hall way was the same. Will be staying here on our next visit to Galveston.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dawnrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that Kieth was friendly your stay- we will certainly share these comments with him. We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed Galveston and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was not ready. Were given the key thay belong to occupied room. Room was dirty. The staff was ineffecient. Before I forgot somebody called us 30 minutes before arrival time telling us the credit card we use was decline. When I verified credit card company theres nothing wrong with the card. Anyway After few hours of waiting we finally got our room key and a room that was occupied we got yelled at then called the front desk again and waited for another 20 minutes and nobody shows up. I think employee that barely gets paid their salary is the reason for a very disgusting service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jktaylor5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We are disappointed to hear you did you not enjoy your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your comments, please email higv@ldry.com. We appreciate you leaving your comments as we share our guest feedback with our entire team and learn how to improve service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Great rates great family hotel! Within walking distance of the beach and great view from the rms! Excellent service and the pool was lots of fun on downtime! Bath rms were clean and beds were great! Would stay here again!!! :) happy vacationing!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We love hearing when our guests had a fantastic stay. Thanks for choosing to bring your family to stay with us- we hope you'll return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £73 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing