We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Hot Water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Hot Water!”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Lukewarm shower 1st day, cold on the 2nd, no matter how long I ran the tap. seriously mislead regarding breakfast vouchers, was told 'breakfast included' but actually 'deduct $10 per person from breakfast total' was what they meant. 'kids eat free' does not include teens. Were told could use pool next door but could not.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieselguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
I apologize for the miscommunication across the board. We strive hard to offer a consistent product with exceptional service and apparently we failed at that. I encourage you to please contact me (Quinn B) to discuss your past stay and how I can make it right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    319
    169
    87
    76
See reviews for
422
297
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Booked this hotel imagining sitting on our balcony watching the waves roll in across the street. Called months ahead to confirm beachview, 4th floor or higher, king bed. On arrival, however, we were given a first floor room facing an alleyway on the interior of the building. Was told the hotel was full and that was that. No view. Alli, the staff we confirmed with on the phone was also the one that could care less on check in. Arriving at 6 pm, we were too tired to find other accomodations. Pool curfew was not enforced and had to listen to drunk people around the pool at 3am.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bllrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
I wanted to take a moment to let you know that we have defiantly corrected the issues at hand and we encourage you to return to see the changes yourself. I do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay and we look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

we stayed on 6th floor which overlooking the beach. everything is conveniently located.
we found our favorite restaurant--The Spot--it's like a mom and pop restaurant--serve seafood--big hamburger! we love the moody garden and the festival of lights

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrysipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
It is awesome to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

While I did not stay at the Holiday Inn as an overnight guest, I attended a function there and the service was absolutely horrific. The food was not replenished as it should have been, a bartender was very difficult to find for the CASH BAR, and the staff appeared to be rushing us out of the room. The function was scheduled until 11:30 and the staff tore down the tea and water station at 10:45 - another guest had to ask to have it set back up, as we were dancing and needed drinks. The bar was torn down at 11:10. On more than one occassion myself and multiple other guests had to wait several minutes for anyone to acknowledge that we were even waiting at the bar. I am a local Galvestonian and attend several functions a year in the area - I will be sure to tell everyone I know not to use the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maf811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
I am sorry to hear of the poor service that you have received. It has been some time and we have gone through some changes enhancing the product and service. We wanted to thank out guests for their business and comments on how we can be better. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Some friends and I checked in to the Holiday Inn Resort for a long weekend in Galveston. Overall, I would say this was a nice vacation and the hotel was pretty much as expected. The room came with a refrigerator and microwave, which was handy, and the view from the balcony was wonderful. The staff, without exception, were extrememly nice and attentive, which goes a long way. The room was clean and seemed to be recently redecorated. We were on the fourth floor and did hear the live music from the lounge across the pool until the a.m. LOUD with a rattling bass. The pool itself was fairly noisy with other guests until after 2 a.m. Also, there was apparently some construction going on in the rooms just below ours (which we were not told of), so occassional hammering during the day. Also, we called the front desk at 5 pm to have our rooms cleaned after a day of sightseeing (we had slept late that day, so missed the regular cleaning shift). Housekeeping showed up at 10:45 pm! Granted, they apologized profusely and Louis did an excellent job........Another bother was that the doors to the rooms don't close very well. A couple of times ours was inadvertenly left unlocked! Despite all this, we were there to have a good time and were willing to overlook some human errors and mishaps. Plus, we got a great deal on a room near to the beach.....so, yes, I would stay there again. One recommendation: unless you are a glutten, it is a better deal to order from the regular breakfast menu rather than pay the 12 bucks for the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcoca59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 12 March 2017
We are glad to hear that you would stay here again. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. We thank you again and look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at this property. I treated my daughter and two young grandchildren to a weekend away from Houston while I was visiting. It's not just a family hotel though. I would return to this hotel with my husband if the opportunity arose.

The service here was much more than I expected from a Holiday Inn. I usually stay at Hilton properties but this stay has convinced me to branch out! The staff was so friendly and eager to please. We called down for a couple more towels for the room and had a friendly staff member with a stack of towels at our door in minutes. When I called the front desk they always greeted me by name. So simple, but a nice little touch.

The rooms are standard and clean but each room has an ocean view balcony. The shampoo, etc. is Bath and Body Works. The check-in goodie bag for Priority Club gold members is also a nice detail.

We arrived early and our room was not ready, which was expected. But the staff offered to call my cell as soon as the room was available and offered us the use of all of the hotel's facilities while we waited. I believe we got the call within an hour and were settled in in no time.

The pool area is clean. There is a ping pong table and a kiddie pool which is quite large with foam "noodles" available for the kids. On Saturday night there was a family movie and to our surprise a staff member came around offering frozen treats for all... whether you were at the pool for the movie or just for a swim.

Kids ate free in the restaurant with our stay and the breakfast offerings for the little ones were pretty good. The service in the restaurant was not very good though. So I'd skip that if I were to return.

Getting to the beach from the hotel can be quite an adventure. You must cross a major road and the crosswalk is a bit of a walk. Take the crosswalk!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. It is great to review that our guests are enjoying themselves and want to come back. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We arrived about 5pm. Check in was quick and without a problem. Found out room to discover all rooms face the beach. Beautiful view from the 2nd floor. Beds were comfortable. Stayed 2 nights, wish we could've stayed more. Beach was only feet away. Balcony in every room to walk out and enjoy the sounds of the waves. Will visit and book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrod2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
It is great to hear that our guests will be visiting again and want to rebook. We have been working hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing