We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but the pool is not maintained properly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice hotel but the pool is not maintained properly”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a nice hotel but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The one big advantage of this hotel is it has a nice pool. However one big problem is they don't know how to maintain the chemicals properly. We have stayed here 2 years in a row and both times the water would sting everone's eyes. My kids 5 and 7 did not want to swim that long because of it. I asked other kids if it was bothering them as well and they all said yes. I even talked to the engineer in charge of maintaining the pool and he admitted that the pool was out of balance and his boss likes to err on the side of having too much chlorine than too little. I have a pool my self and it is amazing to me they can't get the chemicals balanced properly when this is a selling point of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    378
    227
    155
    146
See reviews for
625
687
56
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kountze
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Every year I go to this Hotel for school (work). It's only 2 nights that I stay I have never had any problems or complaint it's beautiful,very,very clean,Everyone that works there that I had met was so friendly & helpful.The pool is always clean.I have stayed at many hotel in Galveston but none was this perfect.I always park in the back & walk right up to the doors,no problem with anyone messing with you from the outside.If you want to feel like a Queen or King then you picked the right hotel.I plan on getting a room next month & bring my daughter & grandaughter & niece just for the night to enjoy the beach !! If you pick this hotel you have no worries,I will say I wished it was alittle cheaper on the price but that is proably why it's so Great & stress free. Barbara Malone

Room Tip: I have never ask for a certain room because everytime I have stayed here it all been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbi_no2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

You can not get a better view of the Gulf than in one of these rooms.
Overall I really enjoye the stay of just one night. The Pool gets very, very busy as it is a major meeting area for the younger people in the area.
The room itself, King was pretty nice but it is showing it's age. The decor was nice.
Easy check in & out. The lobby area and entrance very nice, all the staff was very courteous.
I will be staying with them again.
Easy acess to the beach.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My family and I have been staying in this hotel for 27 years, I have baby pictures of me sitting pool side as well as recent ones with my family and we all love it! The condos are awesome for those traveling in groups as it offers alot of room for 4 or 5 girls to get ready to go out for the night...I would call that a plus! The valet service is excellent, they remember us (by name) year after year as well as the concierge desk, we LOVE Fellette!! Anyone posting a bad review on this site is obviously expecting something unfeasible or just being ridiculous!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristinWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The staff at this resort were excellent, but it is definitely a party hotel, and not appropriate for families. We were with a group of 15 athletes, ages 10-18, who got quite an education in inebriation. We even had to call security one night. Until the pool bar folks can learn to turn people away when they have had enough, I would steer clear of this resort.

Housekeeping was not good with details. One day, they shorted us a towel, the next, they forgot to empty our garbage. Several days they did not leave regular coffee or cream.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 6 and up have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Molly99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for our mini romantic getaway. We have been here before but since it was summer, we went for the Club 10 floor because we didnt want to be bothered by children during our romantic getaway and Its an all adult floor.

It was worth every penny. The decor was modern and upscale. There were snacks and bottled water in the floor lobby. Fiji water and champagne in the room. Unobstructed ocean view. Maids refreshed our ice bucket and left truffles without us even having to ask. Complimentary valet parking. Private floor access. Most comfy bed ever! Now im spolied and will only stay in the Club 10 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chasaty379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baytown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Decore was very outdated, toilet broke twice, we had to ask for a fan bc the A/C was not cooloing. We paid 20$ extra a day for a mirowave that did NOT work.

Room Tip: a bit over priced for the accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penniejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing