We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs To Sort Priorities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs To Sort Priorities”
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Stayed in the Condominiums March 08. Unit clean, well seviced, modern and comfortable. Presumably previous reviews related to non renovated units.Ok Galveston is not Waikiki but still has a great resort beach/island feeling; especially if youve been in Houston too long.

A highlight should be the pool which would be nice except for the clouds of smoke wafting over the whole area from the swim up bar area in one corner- believe it or not they allow people to sit and smoke cigarettes and cigars in the pool. Room information states this is prohibited and against Galveston City ordinances; but security includng an officer who patrolled the pool area all Easter Sunday did nothing and spent a lot of time chewing the fat with these people. The same applied next day (absent security) and the barman happily supplied these people with ashtrays - although a lot of ash went in the pool anyway.

By comparison on the Monday after a swim I took my kids to play on the beach. On the way we stopped to play on the grass slope leading down to the beach. Within minutes of setting foot on the grass a security vehicle turned up and blasted over the loud speaker that it was not allowed and get to get off.

So there you go- the San Luis is happy to ignore what they say are city ordinances and have you and your children suffer the health consequences and unpleasantness of second health smoke when in the pool; but walk on their grass and you are in big trouble.

Recomend this place - yes - otherwise than as set out above
By the way they say it is a family friendly environment..

Will I consisider complaint to Galveston and other authorities about fthis situation or sake of others - yes - thinking about it.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BartonTerrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    379
    230
    158
    148
See reviews for
641
699
56
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

This is an overpriced hotel and a major money grabber. You can't even take a bottle of water down to the pool area---you are expected to buy everything from the hotel. They have security walk around "busting" people who even tried to sit poolside with their "own" drinks. You can't even sit at a poolside umbrella table unless you are going to buy food/drink from the bar. Want to lounge on a comfortable chaise poolside? You have rent a 10x10 cabana for $300/day! It's ridiculous to be treated this way considering the overpriced rate for a mediocre room. The bathroom was tiny and the closet was tinier. The decor was substandard for such an "upscale" hotel. The noise level on the 7th floor was awful. We were woken up at 2 a.m. by noisy neighbors through thin walls. The only plus was a very nice pool area with heated pools, great heated grotto area and a nice hot tub. But we won't go back. If it makes you feel special to be grubbed for your money, by all means this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Heated pool
  • Disliked — Usually free services/accommodations have a fee attached.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weekenders02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

The hotel is very nice and rooms are clean. The pool area is great and has a water slide for kids and a swim up bar for adults (don't forget to bring your ID) All rooms are ocean front, and that is why I loved it so much. The beach is across the road, but there is a crosswalk. Galveston beaches are rather grey and not what I had hoped for. I prefer the white sand beaches. The Rainforest Cafe is next door and has volcano eruptions nightly! We did use the spa in the hotel and the experience could have been better. The older more experienced staff that I had was very good. My daughter had a young person who was not up to standard for the prices we paid. She had to have her nails done over by another staff member. In all, I would stay there again, but would forego the spa.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Very good hotel, easier to park on the back unless you want to pay for valet parking. The rooms are good but they could use a modern decor and LCD TV for a start...
Very nice views from 12th floor, choose ocean view!
Quite pricey but perhaps worth it if you are in Galveston. Excellent food at the Fish Tales but prepare to wait!

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DanielDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2007

The San Luis is a beautiful hotel. My husband and I stayed at the San Luis while my husband attended a conference. The room was great and had a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. I had a terrific massage at the spa. I love the Molton Browne toiletries. The beach in Galveston is not so great. Aside from the Strand area, activities are few and far between in Galveston. Having said that, if I ever return to Galveston, I would stay at the San Luis.

  • Liked — The Molton Browne toiletries
  • Disliked — It is located in Galveston
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We had a nice time at the San Luis for our second trip there. The first time was last summer for a special weekend with the wife. We loved it them so we brought back the family (2 young girls). We had a good time again but this time had a big gift card to apply to the price of the room.

The pool was great and the location was great. I like the rooms fine, no problems there. All in all I really like the hotel, grounds, service, everything. Well, everything but the price. I firmly believe the prices are way too high. I guess the supply is there though b/c the place was packed and it was supposed to be a rainy weekend. There are few very nice hotels on the Island so I guess that's how they can charge the prices they do. However, while I really like the hotel, I don't see myself spending another weekend there at the posted rates. Maybe a weekday stay would be better. Also, you can't reserve anywhere but through the hotel and there are never any specials. It's the rack rate all the time.

Therefore, if you have the money, I'm sure you'll enjoy the stay, but if you're averse to spending $250+ a night for a hotel, don't even bother reading more reviews, the prices are well above the norm for weekend stays here.

  • Liked — Location, grounds
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPBonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed here for two nights in late June. I had three kids with me and we were looking for a Galveston hotel that had good access to the beach (although the beaches in Galveston are not that great - too much seaweed washes up daily) and was convenient to Schlitherbahn in Galveston.

We booked a non-smoking room and checked in at 3pm. We went to our room and it was a smoking room. Then we went to another room with a wonderful view of an air conditioner on the roof. Finally a new non-smoking room that worked out just fine. The room was large enough, but on the fifth floor the view of the beach is limited. Still the rest of the stay was good.

Pros: Access to the beach, probably the best hotel pool in Galveston, the valet service was some of the best I have experienced, convenient to the beach and restaurants, flexible towel service.

Cons: You need to be above the 6th floor for a decent beach view, it can be pricey on the weekends (our rate went up $100 between Thursday and Friday night).

  • Liked — Valet service, location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing