We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay, beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay, beautiful views”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I had a quick 2 day stay at the San Louis and it was wonderful. Tons of amenities, Jacuzzi, pool slide, near lots of restaurants and across from the gulf. staff was quite friendly. Newspaper delivered daily. We stayed on the 14th floor which is one below the penthouse, and the views where breath taking. highly recommend staying here again.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
It's so great to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us! Thanks for leaving a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    369
    226
    147
    139
See reviews for
588
667
52
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently stayed on business with a coworker. We booked a room with two doubles and for whatever reason we were upgraded to a two bedroom condo... it was a pleasant suprise. The room itself was great and the view was awesome plus we loved having our own rooms and bathrooms. Service at the front desk, room service, valet and the new italian restaurant was wonderful! Only negative was tht our suite is in dire need of an update, not sure if that falls on the hotel or a private owner but there needs to be a standard. I would go back with my family!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Went here for a work retreat -- really nice experience. Good service in the room and the cafe, and the pool and swim-up bar were a lot of fun. A little heavy on the chlorine, but oh well. Clean, right? The conference area was way too cold, but at least we had our own thermostat and could make our room feel OK.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf, but the top two floors are extra nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a very well run and maintained property. Short wait in line, but it was a large conference. Front Desk at check in and checkout was VERY friendly, efficient and welcoming. Thanks to Darby for her hard work, smile and humor, you made my stay exactly what I would expect.

Room Tip: On busy check-ins, they may upgrade using Condos - depending on occupancy. Great views, balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent location. All rooms have ocean view and balcony. Rooms are up to date and well maintained. Very good and friendly service. Plenty of restaurants available
inside the hotel as well as within walking distance of hotel. Good beach across
the street from hotel. Very niece swimming pool. Excellent Sunday brunch.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, also the higher the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desfwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business conference. The pool and pool area is very nice, lots of staff to keep it looking clean and giving great service. We spent of couple of hours at the pool and had some drinks. My room was very nice on the 5th floor, ocean view and nicely updated. I used the workout room twice, standard equipment but it was just a bit small. I also had a pedicure at the spa. Very nice spa area and good service. The lobby areas and conference center were also very nice. I would definitely return for business or on a family or adult trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I enjoy getting away from Houston with and without our children. The staff, especially Philett Carter and Tommy Hendricks, are a joy to see everytime we come. They are so attentive to our every needs. We love the pool, the restaurants and the attention to detail at the resort. We also enjoy the piano bar on the weekends. The location is great as the beach is across the street and there are many good restaurants to select within walking distance. We also enjoy the continental breakfast on our floor in the morning and our children have to be limited to the sweet snacks during the day. We look forward to many more pleasant experiences at the San Luis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing