We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The San Luis is centrally located and parking is a breeze. The staff is amazing, especially Darby, who checked us in. All of the guest rooms face the Gulf of Mexico and the views are all spectacular. The rooms are kept very tidy, the food is excellent and the staff is always friendly and courteous. Our room was pristine, the A/C and heat worked perfectly, the bed and furniture was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern and functioned very well. Our guest room was located on the 14th floor and was very quiet. The décor was modern and in excellent condition. We especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee and newspaper in our room. The heated swimming pool is beautiful and the sound of the waterfall creates a very relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay at the San Luis Resort and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    356
    212
    139
    135
See reviews for
557
631
46
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My son decided he wanted to celebrate his 8th birthday here. Kindell at the front desk made it one he would remember forever. Awesome place !
Christmas decorations are beautiful this time of year. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool was to die for with warm water in freezing temperatures.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Happy Birthday to your son. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The San Luis is a very clean friendly place to stay. We were greeted by the valet guys even though we didn't use that service. Up the stairs into the lobby which was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Great place for a photo opp. The employee Darby greeted us. Very polite and friendly. Check in was quick!! Our room was 1424 - Very end of the hallway away from the traffic to the elevator. Very quiet. Our room was huge. King size bed. Lot of bathroom amenities. Soft bathroom towels. Never ran out of hot water in the shower. Bed and pillows comfortable. Every room has a view. Our view was amazing Morning and Night. Ordered Room Service. Ordered Medium Steak/French fries, Fried Calamari, and a Seafood Pasta--- Loaded with condiments-mini ketchup bottles, mayo, mustard, A1 sauce, Heinz-brand new bottles. Even had a bottle of fresh flowers on our tray. Cold drinks. Very prompt. Food was hot and good quality. Even got a courteous follow up call to see if we enjoyed our food. You won't see any trash anywhere on the property. If your reading please don't change the high quality of customer service you have. Everything is great. Next time I will try the heated pool. Under the weather at the time. :O)

Room Tip: room 1424 is quiet and end of hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypapoutsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad to hear our staff exceeded your expectations. It sounds like your In-room dining meal was fantastic as well. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was very lacking. I am happy that i was too busy to be there much. Had someone else check me in so I cannot talk about that. However by the time i got to my room I just passed out until i woke up at 2am sweating. The A/C that was set to 70 was reading 76 and would not get below 74. I had to sleep on top of the sheets with the door to the balcony open letting in all the great Sea Wall noises in. Once i got back to sleep it was fine. In the morning i woke up to take a shower. The bathroom was very small, and they care so little about the hotel that not even the towel rack was not even level. The shower was very dark. The shower current set up lets no light in and there is no light in the shower itself. That is probably so it will be impossible for people to notice all the mold. After getting "clean" I went plug in my phone to charge and watch some sports center. When i went to plug it in i found even more mold. This hotel is disgusting. For 200 a night, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and have shared your comments with Management. Our Engineers and Housekeepers take great pride in ensuring the proper working condition of any appliances as well as cleanliness; we apologize for your experience. If you would like to speak with a Manager about your experience, please email ehimes@ldry.com as we would like the opportunity to remedy your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

14 of us made our annual Thanksgiving trip to Galveston and stayed at the beautiful San Luis Resort. Check in was smooth and parking was plentiful on Wednesday. Our room was a premium king and was spacious and of course, the huge attraction of this hotel is that every room has private balconies that look out over the gulf. Our room was on a floor that had not been upgraded yet but it was still nice. My niece had a room that was updated and it was gorgeous! One of the reason was also love this place is the outside H2O bar at the pool. We gather around the fire pit every night before Thanksgiving and basically stay there until we play out or they close. Lots of friendly people and the servers were fantastic. Beds are comfortable, service is impeccable. We will be back next year if not sooner. Only had 1 small problem with the bill and they immediately fixed it. Great people!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better for the awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks to you and your group for staying with us over Thanksgiving. You'll have to make s'mores over the H2o firepit the next time you are here! Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We arrived on Thursday after 4 on Thanksgiving day - entrance decorated beautiful. Christmas already. Our room was ready on the CLub 10 level - adults only. We didn't get our welcome champagne on arrival - they told us they were out. Each and every staff person were very friendly - had blankets to hand out at the H2O bar around the fire pit. Nice atmosphere. Besides the champagne not being there, and 2 hour wait for a hamburger from room service everything else was really nice. The AC didn't work the first night but they sent someone up right away and gave us chocolates. It was our anniversary so I wasn't going to let anything bring us down. Had a great dinner at the Grotto - then one evening went over to Landrys and had a great dinner. The weather was chilly but the pool was heated and nice. Not too crowded .....Everyone was super nice.

Room Tip: without kids go for the 10th floor - with kids go for a higher floor room - corner suite is best for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Happy anniversary! We're so pleased you chose to celebrate on our VIP adults only Club Ten floor. We look forward to welcoming you back sooner than your next anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I Don't want to waist anymore of my time on this place, so I'll keep it short. They messed up on my reservation twice. The A.C. in the room sounded like a helicopter, At one point room service was a 3hr wait until of couse they ran out of food and closed the kitchen. Oh the buffet that was almost $80 dollars per person SUCKED!. Would of rather had Luby's. I was trying to have a nice peacefull thanksgiving. Ended up being a total nightmare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We will certainly share feedback with our Management team to ensure we do not make the same mistakes with our future guests. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing