We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We (me and my husband) decided to stay at the San Luis, for our honeymoon. Once we arrived to the front deck for check in we gave our reservation and the woman at the deck ran a preauthorized amount which took out what we had in our account, and then told us it declined the card. We asked her what she ran it for and she told us she didn't run the card, that it wouldn't even take for 50 dollars, and that we would have to pay cash to keep our reservation. We agreed to pay the cash amount. After getting to the room and deciding we wanted to see the pool/ lounge area, then ordering a drink there, and going to settle our tab. The card was then declined again. I went up to the room to check our account online, there was an amount taken out for a little over a hundred dollars postdated for the next day. My husband went to resolve the problem at the front desk, after getting told a few different stories he decided we weren't going to stay somewhere that he felt we were being scammed. The hotel refunded us only half of the amount we paid in cash (after being there for hardly an hour and a half). The lack of informative knowledge with their actions, along with emptying our bank account and half of our cash on hand, to me goes to show the amount of ignorance, within the San Luis staff. If that wasn't enough for adding insult to injury, after contacting the manager to let him know I would be getting in touch with him through my bank to refund the amount taken off the card (which they said never happened in the first place). I had the lady at my bank fax my transaction records to the manager, he went on to tell her that her "sarcasm" over the phone was not needed. When she was only going over how many times my card was ran at the San Luis along with what went through and asking how he was going to refund it. The amount of unprofessionalism that Mr. Reid carried out, along with the incompetence with the front desk, shows complete disregard for customer satisfaction. Clearly is the reason why I would not recommend this hotel. This was our first choice to stay for the occasion and our honeymoon was ruined before it even began.

Room Tip: If they can't get their information and answers straight. Avoid a conflict later and say nevermi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We appreciate your review and know you have discussed your situation with management. We are sorry we were not able to come to terms with you and your husband. We wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

The San Luis was fantastic! We searched for our ideal hotel for several days. The San Luis met all our wishes. Since we were vacationing at Christmas time we wanted a heated pool, and hot tub incase the weather was cold. Ocean view was also very important to us and the views from our balcony at the San Luis were great! From the moment we arrived we were treated very well from hotel staff and the Christmas decorations in the lobby were absolutely beautiful! The extremely nice concierge was kind enough to take our pic in front of their many beautifully decorated trees. The location of the hotel was also perfect for us so that we were able to walk to many of the restaurants and attractions. The H2O bar has a swim up side (in very warm pool water) as well as a very nice fire pit and outdoor heaters that make hanging out in the cool winter weather very comfortable. If your looking for a very classy hotel with immaculate grounds, ideal location, great views, spacious rooms, extremely helpful/friendly staff, then The San Luis is the best choice by far. We hope to visit again maybe in the summer months.

Room Tip: PH floors are 15 & 16 and the club level is 10. We stayed on 16 and it was perfect! Quiet, bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyTuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The awesome decorations for Christmas were beautiful. The staff at the restaurant were very professional and friendly. The Christmas Buffett was incredible, everything was excellent, the service superb. Our server Lauren courteous and keep coming and checking on us how it was everything and bringing us drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The San Luis is centrally located and parking is a breeze. The staff is amazing, especially Darby, who checked us in. All of the guest rooms face the Gulf of Mexico and the views are all spectacular. The rooms are kept very tidy, the food is excellent and the staff is always friendly and courteous. Our room was pristine, the A/C and heat worked perfectly, the bed and furniture was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern and functioned very well. Our guest room was located on the 14th floor and was very quiet. The décor was modern and in excellent condition. We especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee and newspaper in our room. The heated swimming pool is beautiful and the sound of the waterfall creates a very relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay at the San Luis Resort and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thanks for reviewing your stay. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My son decided he wanted to celebrate his 8th birthday here. Kindell at the front desk made it one he would remember forever. Awesome place !
Christmas decorations are beautiful this time of year. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool was to die for with warm water in freezing temperatures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Happy Birthday to your son. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The San Luis is a very clean friendly place to stay. We were greeted by the valet guys even though we didn't use that service. Up the stairs into the lobby which was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Great place for a photo opp. The employee Darby greeted us. Very polite and friendly. Check in was quick!! Our room was 1424 - Very end of the hallway away from the traffic to the elevator. Very quiet. Our room was huge. King size bed. Lot of bathroom amenities. Soft bathroom towels. Never ran out of hot water in the shower. Bed and pillows comfortable. Every room has a view. Our view was amazing Morning and Night. Ordered Room Service. Ordered Medium Steak/French fries, Fried Calamari, and a Seafood Pasta--- Loaded with condiments-mini ketchup bottles, mayo, mustard, A1 sauce, Heinz-brand new bottles. Even had a bottle of fresh flowers on our tray. Cold drinks. Very prompt. Food was hot and good quality. Even got a courteous follow up call to see if we enjoyed our food. You won't see any trash anywhere on the property. If your reading please don't change the high quality of customer service you have. Everything is great. Next time I will try the heated pool. Under the weather at the time. :O)

Room Tip: room 1424 is quiet and end of hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andypapoutsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad to hear our staff exceeded your expectations. It sounds like your In-room dining meal was fantastic as well. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was very lacking. I am happy that i was too busy to be there much. Had someone else check me in so I cannot talk about that. However by the time i got to my room I just passed out until i woke up at 2am sweating. The A/C that was set to 70 was reading 76 and would not get below 74. I had to sleep on top of the sheets with the door to the balcony open letting in all the great Sea Wall noises in. Once i got back to sleep it was fine. In the morning i woke up to take a shower. The bathroom was very small, and they care so little about the hotel that not even the towel rack was not even level. The shower was very dark. The shower current set up lets no light in and there is no light in the shower itself. That is probably so it will be impossible for people to notice all the mold. After getting "clean" I went plug in my phone to charge and watch some sports center. When i went to plug it in i found even more mold. This hotel is disgusting. For 200 a night, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and have shared your comments with Management. Our Engineers and Housekeepers take great pride in ensuring the proper working condition of any appliances as well as cleanliness; we apologize for your experience. If you would like to speak with a Manager about your experience, please email ehimes@ldry.com as we would like the opportunity to remedy your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#2 of 51 in Galveston
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £156 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing