We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star staff, 1 star maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 star staff, 1 star maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed in 1 star-4 star facilities all over the world. The San Luis Staff is outstanding and definitely 4 Star. The condition of the property leaves much to be desired. Dead Bolt on door will not engage unless a strong person picks up on the door to engage, no hot water from 6pm-8pm, thermostat will not run on automatic-have to manual run the fan on and off due to your comfort level. Football playoffs this weekend, TV on and off all afternoon. Of course on the first game, score tied with 2 mins left and it went out for 20 mins. Currently watching second game, goes off every 15-20 mins for about 15 mins then comes back on. Did report to front desk but have heard from no one. I could have done better at the Motel 6, you can too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We certainly apologize for the intermittent tv service you experienced. We recently upgraded our television system throughout the hotel and tv service was not consistent during these enhancements. We appreciate your comments about our property and hope you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    355
    212
    138
    135
See reviews for
556
629
46
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I will talk about the good first. We spent New Year's Eve night here. The location is good and convenient to restaurants with a very nice view. The lobby was decorated nicely in Christmas decor. The cafe does have a breakfast Buffett for $15. It had a good variety and we liked everything that we tried except the grits. They are cooked with onions. It was bad for us as we really like grits, but not with onions. Our server was very friendly but had way too many tables and was not able to keep up with the coffee refills. Not her fault as she was very busy. The furniture in the lobby is comfortable but dirty. The arms of the chairs are stained and discolored. We were on the 7th floor and has a nice view. Balcony has two chairs and a small table. Room darkening drapes worked well. We could not hear any noise from adjoining rooms. Our room was near the ice machine and we did hear loud people in the hall. The room had a large entry about 8x8 with no overhead lighting. The closet is in the entry and was therefore a bit dark. The bathroom was about 8x6. It was small with little counter space. It was also not cleaned well and the shower head was soapy. A one cup coffee maker was on the small counter. A hair was in the water reservoir. And we had to clean it out before making coffee. Four packages of coffee, two sugars and two creams. Since we both like cream and sugar in our coffee, it was irritating. Only one if us got coffee. Be sure to ask for extra when you arrive if you take the condiments in your coffee. The beds were comfortable but the linens were worn and dingy. An obvious color difference from the bottom and top sheets. Only a thin blanket was on the beds and no extras were provided. Again, ask ahead of time if you think you will need them. FYI, the Ihop, Rainforest and Landrys does require that you walk outside and even across the street. It was cold and drizzling and the hotel would not allow shuttle service to them, even with an advance request. I do not recommend this hotel and will not go back. See my photos. I will attach more when I download the camera photos

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austinwineoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us while in Galveston. We have shared your feedback with our managers to follow up on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

San Luis Rocks! This is the 4th year that we have booked a New Year's Day visit. Check in was a breeze, and we were offered champagne upon our arrival. Andrew, one of the resorts managers, was at the front desk and made us feel right at home. I love the Marc Roberts elves throughout the lobby, but the displays were being taken down that day. I was so thankful that Andrew informed of the timing, so that I could walk around and take all of my pictures. Even though it was New Year's Day and not the big New Year's Eve party, we were treated like royalty. We saw Andrew busy throughout the resort and received excellent service from all of the staff, especially Angela and Melanie in the inside/outside bar areas. The best part of all: I forgot to place our breakfast request on the door before we headed to the pool and Andrew delivered one to the pool at midnight, so that we would receive our warm breakfast in the morning. Now that is service:) The San Luis is the only place we stay while in Galveston because it is the best!

Room Tip: Club 10 is awesome, but we mainly stay in those rooms in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Happy New Year to you! Thanks for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. And you'll have to return sooner than New Years Eve in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Staying in San Luis is like playing crapshoot. I stayed there twice and the experience was miles apart. Both times I stayed on the VIP levels (15th & 16th FL). The Good: the ocean view, breakfast on the floor, and great room service. My room on the 16th Floor has been renovated and it's nice and comfortable. The Pool area is superb and kids are kids after all. The Bad: TV is not working. The room on the 15th Floor has not been remodeled and the toilet in particular is very worn out. The Ugly: I found a curly hair about an inch in length (yes, you guess right!!!) inside the ice bucket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the lack of tv- we were upgrading our resort system during the time you stayed with us. We did have plenty of tv's in our lobby bar and H2o, so hope you were able to catch your shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We just stayed the one night while in Galveston to visit Moody Gardens. The entrance was very nicely decorated for Christmas. Check in was a little slow. Two people at the desk but they were having some difficulty with the customers they were dealing with. Our reservations were correct and had no trouble when it was our turn. The room was very nice and quite spacious. Very neat and clean. The bath room was very nice, but a little small. We parked in the garage adjacent to the property, no problems there. The only negative issues were the TV didn't work until about 9pm, (was told it was a cable issue), and The Steakhouse and the Cafe restaurants are closed on Monday nights. Would have definitely tried The Steakhouse if it was open. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay there again if in Galveston.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AtascocitaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us while checking out all that attractions Galveston has to offer! While you were with us, we were upgrading our in-room television system, so hope you could check out your tv shows from our lobby bar or H2o tvs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The resort pool area is beautiful, but it seems that everything needs an upgrade inside the hotel. (popcorn ceilings, 80's decor, water pressure is minimal, lumpy beds) The television didn't work inside the resort, which meant all the screaming kids were running up and down the hallways with nothing to do on a 40 degree night. They then filled the heated pool and hot tub area and parents were not keeping a watchful eye on them (or the barking dogs locked in the rooms). The Cafe, which is one of the more reasonable places to eat at the resort, closes at four. Overall, just not a great stay if you are looking to relax. The Spa was the only place that we could escape and truly feel like we were in a resort. The services were amazing and it was peaceful. If you want a resort with screaming children, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a resort to get some relaxation time in, then I suggest the Hotel Galvez and Spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidor, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We (me and my husband) decided to stay at the San Luis, for our honeymoon. Once we arrived to the front deck for check in we gave our reservation and the woman at the deck ran a preauthorized amount which took out what we had in our account, and then told us it declined the card. We asked her what she ran it for and she told us she didn't run the card, that it wouldn't even take for 50 dollars, and that we would have to pay cash to keep our reservation. We agreed to pay the cash amount. After getting to the room and deciding we wanted to see the pool/ lounge area, then ordering a drink there, and going to settle our tab. The card was then declined again. I went up to the room to check our account online, there was an amount taken out for a little over a hundred dollars postdated for the next day. My husband went to resolve the problem at the front desk, after getting told a few different stories he decided we weren't going to stay somewhere that he felt we were being scammed. The hotel refunded us only half of the amount we paid in cash (after being there for hardly an hour and a half). The lack of informative knowledge with their actions, along with emptying our bank account and half of our cash on hand, to me goes to show the amount of ignorance, within the San Luis staff. If that wasn't enough for adding insult to injury, after contacting the manager to let him know I would be getting in touch with him through my bank to refund the amount taken off the card (which they said never happened in the first place). I had the lady at my bank fax my transaction records to the manager, he went on to tell her that her "sarcasm" over the phone was not needed. When she was only going over how many times my card was ran at the San Luis along with what went through and asking how he was going to refund it. The amount of unprofessionalism that Mr. Reid carried out, along with the incompetence with the front desk, shows complete disregard for customer satisfaction. Clearly is the reason why I would not recommend this hotel. This was our first choice to stay for the occasion and our honeymoon was ruined before it even began.

Room Tip: If they can't get their information and answers straight. Avoid a conflict later and say nevermi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We appreciate your review and know you have discussed your situation with management. We are sorry we were not able to come to terms with you and your husband. We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing