We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel not only has a beautiful pool, but great pool service. The hotel itself has several excellent restaurants on site. The rooms are big and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there every time we visit!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for your review- we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,593 - 1,599 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel!!! Decorated for the holiday, like nothing I have seen before! Beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony, and gorgeous room! Fabulous lounge, gift shop, and amenities! Terrific location, close to shopping and restaurants! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Christmas is one of the best times of year to visit- with all of our gorgeous decor, it is the perfect getaway. We hope you'll return sooner than December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is great looking and clean. The service on the other hand, leaves a lot to be desired! We stayed at the Club Ten and the hotel wasnt packed but the service we received was really bad. I will never return!!! We got there at 4pm and our room was not ready and check in is at 4 pm. They just told us to wait. We did not get in to our room till 4:30pm and that's after going up ro inquire since we were just sitting in the lobby. We did not get the glass of Champagne we are supposed to get during check in. No bell man, had to carry my bags up and out when leaving. Every time we requested room service the server had forgotten comething.. salt, ketchup e.t.c! Rude customer service!!! Just terrible!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shee254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We certainly apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would love the opportunity to speak with you about your Club Ten stay. If you email ehimes@ldry.com we will be glad to have Management reach out to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon before going on a cruise. The staff were very friendly and helpful! We ate at The Steakhouse and the food was awesome! We had an exceptional waiter there named Kaleb. We will definitely stay here again! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethanyfelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us prior to your cruise. We wish you a happy marriage and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was sick the first day of our visit and the staff took impeccable care of me while my husband was in meetings. They carried my bags up, cleaned my bathroom after I was sick, and brought complimentary crackers and water. All the staff was gracious and professional. Thank you all so much for making a miserable day more bearable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0mmaBear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We're sorry to hear you were sick during your stay- this means you'll just have to return again soon and experience all that we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was a bit apprehensive at first staying here as i am new to the island but ice heard ita like the Alamo, you can't visit texas without getting the full effect of actually being there. We called a head to ensure our reservations for me and my elderly mother only to be rudely addressed on the phone by karlesha. She aas very short with me and seemed as if my slightest request was an inconvenience. Her rudness aside, the rest of the staff were amazing. Melanie was attentive, personable, and really wanted our stay to be perfect. We dined at the Grotto were chef K.Carter generously came out to allow my mother to personally compliment him on and excellent job on our food. Room service was excellent and timely although a bit pricey. The stores available are unlike any that we have seen in hotels! Cindy was amazing helping my mother one on one with their jewelry, she made us feel like celebrities! After a disappointing meal at flamingos we stoped in the gift shop and was pleasantly greeted by Melissa. She was very caring and intuitive. You could tell she enjoys what she does and is an excellent pick me up after a sour day. A beautiful play of relaxed and fun atmosphere through the entire hotel, after the first night it quickly became my home away from home! Thak you Tommy for al of you help and suggestions!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meangreentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for all of the compliments to our staff! We're glad you and your Mom enjoyed yourself and hope you had safe travels back home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a great hotel for a fun getaway to Galveston: business or pleasure. It's right on the Seawall; all rooms overlook the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms are very well appointed: upscale. Bathroom amenities are very nice: robes, upgraded toiletries, coffee maker. Free wifi and parking. The patio offers a great seating area to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. The Staff are extremely pleasant, attentive, and professional. We had dinner at The Grotto in the hotel and enjoyed a fabulous dinner. They're replastering the pool now, just in time for the summer and their swim up bar! Summers require a two night minimum on the weekends. The location is great: walk across the street to the water, or go for a great walk along the Seawall. The way the holtel is situated, you can see amost the entire Galveston Island. From the glass-walled hallway, you can see the Historic Strand District and a cruise ship if it's in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for staying with us while in Galveston. Hope you tried one of the seasonal dishes at Grotto- they are getting some rave reviews! See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £132 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing