We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am here for a wedding and didn't expect much from Galveston. I am blown away! Vegas style bar with great staff, I will come back for a weekend getaway. Brittni at H20 pool bar was awesome, great attitude and customer service, she rocks!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tw1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for your review of your recent visit. We hope you'll return again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful & so is the view. The staff is very nice & says hello or asks if you need anything wherever you go on the grounds. The managers are friendly & the activities director is fun & bubbly. The night security is beyond fantastic. When my goddaughter wanted a snack at 1am, we asked a security guard about a chip vending machine. He opened up the hotel gift shop & let us charge snacks to the room. My goddaughter said that she felt so special!

The food in Grotto is fantastic & they have the best Bellini drinks & desserts. The pool is heated with an "adults only" area at the swim-up bar. There are two hot tubs, one of which is in a cave under a waterfall & slide. The pool is open late & we got to swim at 9pm at night in the warm, well-lit pool.

The spa is clean & beautiful with a knowledgable & good staff. Housekeeping is very good & helpful, & water bottles are available all over the hotel. The valet service is fast & friendly.

The hotel is located on the sea wall next to IHOP & Rainforest Cafe with beach access very close.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for the great feedback on our accommodating staff! We hope you all enjoyed your trip and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I'm late submitting this, but I celebrated by bachelorette party here last April. I had about 20 girls coming in from all over, the majority of us lived in Houston and Baton Rouge so it was a very convenient location. Overall it was an amazing weekend! I'll start with the pros then list some cons. Pros:
- my room got upgraded to a suite, which ended up being the perfect location for the bachelorette shower as it could hold 20 girls easily! lovely...
- no issues with multiple rooms, they were able to accommodate all of us
- Pool area is marvelous!! Seriously, you feel like you're in a tropical paradise; especially with the views of the ocean, beach and palm trees in the background. We all kept forgetting we were only an hour from Houston.. made it the perfect get away.
- Bar in pool was pretty sweet, got a bit crowded but not bad. I did appreciate how they had the "adults" area of the pool by the bar. It's lovely sitting it the pool drinking a frozen margarita. :)
- Staff, especially valet guys were great!! They ended up letting us use the hotel shuttle, since there were so many of us, and dropped us off both nights at a local restaurant and the strand bars for nights out. They also gave us their cell phone number to pick us back up. amazing.

Cons:
- there were some major issues with reserving lounge areas at the pool. My friends reserved one of those tents/lounge areas months ahead of time, which were ridiculously expensive. Online it says it holds a specific number of people, when we got to the pool we pulled over some additional chairs so that all the girls could lay out. This was not allowed, even though it says it accommodates 6 (or 8, I forget) people, you are only allowed 4 or so lounge chairs. That's ridiculous, for the price you should have a lounge chair for each person. (they have chairs inside the tent, but my friends wanted to lay out) They did try to accommodate us with some additional space, but this was only after my friend asked to speak to the manager and expressed a lot of frustration and anger. We were spending a lot of money with weekend at the hotel so expected better service.
- There was also a slight issue with the bar one night. One of the bartenders was especially rude and when we asked to speak to a manager, he was rather obnoxious. I understand they probably deal with drunk people all day, but I was quite surprised at their poor customer service for this type of resort.
- the elevators are insanely slow!! I think one of them might have been broken... you literally would wait 20 minutes trying to get to your room. We tried to take the stairs once and ended up in the back loading dock..

While there were a few issues, and the customer service was not at the level I expected, it was an amazing weekend. I highly recommend this place for any type of reunion, girls weekend, get-away from Houston. We definitely want to go back this year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for selecting us as the place to stay to celebrate your upcoming wedding. Our poolside cabanas offer additional private seating but unfortunately one cabana doesn't accommodate 20 people. We're glad you were able to find additional space for everyone to enjoy and we hope to welcome you back for your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a spring break getaway with family for spring break, welcome was great with valet parking, but it is an overpriced deal (18 dollars per day) The check in process was quick and smooth. We were told that we were the guest of the day, this qualifies for some gift, i think they tell everybody this anyway.
We took the elevator to our floor, the elevator opened, then a very strong smell. this might be related to the fact that the carpet is old. In addition, there was the paint smell right next door to our room. The pillows in the rooms are so small, it was very uncomfortable for me personally, Other than those two smelly issues, our stay was great.

The staff were professional, prompt services were delivered. Even though the weather was horrible, the pool remained open and was heated, the restaurants has varieties of food, the steakhouse was great. overall, it was a very pleasant stay and would go back again

Room Tip: All there rooms are good, they all face the ocean, but you can see some evidence of aging as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Congratulations on being selected as our Guest of the Day! We only select one reservation each day and welcome a new guest as our Guest of the Day which comes with several perks that we hope you enjoyed. We hope you took advantage of our spring break activities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked this location for a surprise birthday for my wife. The location is great right across from the beach. The pool was great and the swim up bar great. Everyone was very friendly and took care of all are requests. WE had are young granddaughter with us and theirs need sere also met. Great place and would recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdodge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Happy belated birthday- we're grateful you chose to spend your birthday weekend with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed here many weekends and no matter what the weather, we enjoy our stay. The room is large with a desk and ample bathroom with separate sink for dressing. The large window with a gulf view and a spacious balcony is a must!

All of the staff are professional and friendly. The grounds were beautiful even in the cold of winter and the location is so convenient.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best! larger and sunny Higher floors expand the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for continually choosing to stay at The San Luis when you are in Galveston- we really appreciate your business. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our visit began with our grand welcome from valet Robert. He was exceptional in every category. Our imaculate room sported a beautiful view of the gulf, pool and fire pits. The common areas of the hotel were spotless and well appointed. Reid at the front desk was very warm and accomodating. Valet Robert was one of the highlights of our trip. He deserves major kudos for the excellent customer service he provides. I highly recommend The San Luis Resort for their upscale facility and exceptional staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laffinalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We love to hear when our employees make our guests' stays complete! Thanks for the compliments to Robert and Reid- we'll be sure to pass them along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £140 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing