We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel resort while spending a weekend in galveston. The hotel was very beautiful and centrally located. The employees treat you like VIP. Hotel rooms had spectacular views of the beach and gulf. There are nice restaurants and bars located in the resort and the pool was very elegant. The hotel has plenty of parking space and is right next door to IHOP and the Rain Forest Restaurant. We had so much fun there, that we have decided to return there for our vacation next month.

Room Tip: This is a very great hotel, a little more expensive then most of the other hotels in galveston, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bull46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the San Luis Resort. It is our resort team's goal to provide quality accommodations and memorable service to our guests. We thank you for the patronage of our beautiful resort and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    363
    219
    142
    137
See reviews for
573
643
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the San Luis Resort for two nights for a quick, much needed getaway close to home. The good: location was good, several on site places to eat as well as walking distance to several more restaurants on Seawall Blvd., decent size room and balcony facing the beach, staff were very friendly. The bad: noise was a major problem. There seemed to be no amount of sound proofing whatsoever. We were 6th floor and the music from the pool bar, traffic, and other guests was insane. Prices for drinks at the pool bar was $10 for a mixed drink. Room service prices for a chicken sandwich and a cheeseburger was $56. Breakfast buffet for two in the cafe was $33 for a small buffet. We had requested a refrigerator for our room prior to check in, took five hours to get it after three requests. AC was loud whenever coming on. Shower/bathtub drain was busted and just laying in the tub. Very few cable channels to watch. Don't expect much for $140/night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GSDrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We appreciate your review and comments. Thank you for the commendation of our resort location, our dining options, and the quality of service that our associates provided you. We sincerely apologize that the pool area and seawall was noisy from your room as well as the inconveniences that you experienced in your room during your stay. Our team takes pride in providing both a quality product and exceptional service to our guests. We appreciate your business. Please contact me directly when making your next reservation so I can ensure that you have a perfect stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Venue is beautiful, but the security is a nightmare. I attended my cousin's formal wedding reception last night and was very disappointed in the unprofessional ism of the hotel security staff. Instead of being there to keep possible wedding crashers out, they did that themselves by chaperoning the reception armed with lethal weapons and using flashlights to intimidate guests that they believed had brought in their own alcoholic beverages. This beautiful (and expensive) celebration will be remembered as the one with cops bullying law abiding family members to the bride. It was such a scene, and frightening to everyone in the room as we did not know why they were interrogating several family members and searching with flashlights all around and under tables. The previous night a family member was approached by security and nearly physically thrown out of the pool area for not having a wrist band on. He had simply forgotten to put it on and the father of the bride had to intervene at this encounter as well. The only staff worthy of giving a good review for is the valet parking. Very friendly and quick service. But I would not recommend you planning the beautiful and perfect reception of your dreams, because everyone will remember it for the thuggish goons ready to pounce on your guests for breaking a rule that could have been handled in a less conspicuous way. Thank you San Luis hotel for the embarrassment you've caused the family which put a lot of money in your pockets this weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ThrillCker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We do appreciate that your group chose to have your wedding at the San Luis Resort and we appreciate your business. As you know, the wedding party took place in our ballroom and the wedding party also enjoyed the festivities at our restaurants and bars throughout the resort. All of these public areas of the resort serve alcoholic beverages and are under the resort's TABC Liquor License. Unfortunately, some of the attendees of the wedding party chose to purchase bottles of liquor at an off-site retail store and bring them to the wedding festivities in our ballroom and pool deck area. These areas are under the jurisdiction of our resort liquor license and therefore, it is illegal for outside liquor to be brought into these areas according to TABC Law. It is our Security Officers duty to enforce those laws. Several Liqour bottles were confiscated by our security officers. We apologize to the group that a small number of the attendees that did bring liquor bottles to the resort caused any disruption for the entire wedding party. However, we must abide by state law or we could be in jeopardy of losing our liquor license. Again, we appreciate that your group chose the San Luis Resort and we take pride in providingcare, comfort and safety to our guests.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Reserved premium king room, got two double beds, ac was not working properly. Staff was outstanding, wait staff, bellmen, valet attendant all went out of the way to be helpful, courteous and professional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We thank you for the commendation of our team members. It is our resort's goal to provide memorable five-diamond service to every guest. We do apologize that you did not get the room type that you requested. We thank you for your patronage of the San Luis Reosrt and we hope that you can make a return visit to our resort again very soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were able to get a special for Club Ten; their adults only tenth floor. It included valet parking ($18 daily), bfast for two each day off a limited menu of standard bfast fare (at least $25 for each person's meal each day), bottle of champagne (split of prosecco - warm) and expedited check in - nowhere near reality.

PROS:
Pretty looking room, quick elevators, comfy bed, great reclining chair, sitting area with mini sectional, free wifi, big balcony with comfy chairs and incredible beach view, friendly staff, very good food, good coffee in room, nice pool area and pool bar, excellent italian restaurant (Grotto separate review), great drinks at pool bar (at $9 each). Coffee, mini desserts and gelato area. Excellent (say it's there).

CONS:
Fridge not included ($10 daily). We requested day before. Checked in, not listed. Came later, hot, and just set down in first free spot. Signage for entrance not clear. Waited over 10 minutes to check in with our "expeditied check in". There is inset TV in bathroom but the bedroom TV does not move to make it easy to see from couch. If door is open t patio, AC shuts off. Sinks are the modern bowls which are very pretty and totally useless. Each time I used water went everywhere. The sink traps were closed and we had to ask for help to open them (tip, push down on them). One clock in the room time was wrong and too hard to fix. No towel racks anywhere (hook right next to shower only). The easily accessible media plug was 2 outlets and USB. Two phones, ipods, ipad, and camera...... Were told at arrival all day free transportation to new Pier. Tried to use (not started until May). two separate people called at different times to see if a fridge was delivered. Seems like many new staff - not able to answer simple questions without finding someone else.

Suggestions: For the price, we thought the room was fine. However, we considered another night and the cost doubled!
Provide a written list of amenities for Club Ten members at check in (are gratuities included, what do we get - there was coffee in 10th floor lobby and I did not know, don't say bottle of champange if not (Wonderful Chilled Prosecco for Two for example). Update room materials (some channels not available, the Grotto not listed at all, in and out of season amenities not clear). Put sign up for expeditied check in. Only King beds available on that floor.

Room Tip: adding photos when I figure it out. Lots of families so if couple, choose tenth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margarita0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your Club 10 Guestroom. We also appreciate your comments and we will use them to continue to make improvements to our product and service. It is our goal to provide both a quality product and five-diamond service so this will assist us in achieving that goal.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchcock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I have been together going on 11yrs and just made 5yrs of marriage and decided to celebrate here at the San Luis. This was our 2nd time staying but I have to admit it was a very pleasant stay the 2nd time. Melanie at the front desk was very polite, friendly and helpful and made our stay well worth it. Our room was very clean with a gorgeous view. The pool is beyond amazing! And I did encounter the woman in the gift shop by the name of Holly who went above and beyond her job title to help us. We have stayed at several hotels and come in contact with several people but to make an impact on your stay was well worth it. I would without a doubt return for future holidays and etc... Holly and Melanie are the key to this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_crob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your commendation of our resort and our team members. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and provided you with a memorable experience. We thank you for your continued patronage of the San Luis Resort and we hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have stayed here before and it has always been a nice weekend getaway for us. This trip however we were here for 3 nights and really felt like service in every area of the property was top notch. Staff in every area went out of their way to be helpful and kind. The only problem encountered this trip was at the pool. A manager treated us like criminals because we didn't have a towel card...which by the way we were never given upon check in, and when we asked at the pool were told we didn't need them because we had wristbands. None of this would have been a problem except we felt like he wanted to make an example of us in front of quite a few people...it was NOT what he was asking it was HOW we were treated. Had to mention this because our entire experience here was FANTASTIC! Other reviewers seemed way over the top picky. We have stayed here a number of times and have never had the experiences that other reviewers have had. Rooms are just basic rooms but ALL have great view of the Gulf.

Room Tip: Higher the room better the view. Pay no attention to previous reviews. Rooms are pretty much basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoy staying at our resort. We apologize about your pool towel experience. It is our goal to provide both a quality product and memorable service to every guest. We greatly appreciate your patronage of the San Luis Resort and we hope you can make a return visit to the resort very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing