We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The San Luis Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,711)
Filter reviews
2,711 results
Traveller rating
1,574
468
301
190
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,574
468
301
190
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub leveljohn paulswim up barpool areagreat resortpool staffvalet parkingthe entire stafffire pitgreat poolrainforest cafespring breakconvention centergulf of mexicoocean viewmoody gardenssteakhouse
Filter
Updating list...
1,949 - 1,954 of 2,711 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

With one word THE BEST. Me and my wife took a weekend off so we can enjoy the sunny weather in galveston for our anniversary and we had one of the best visits.Arrived there before 4 pm and we had a fast check in and the room was nicely furnished with a nice view.Went first to the H20 bar for a couple of drinks at the pool and we had a fun time.Than for out dinner we went to the Grotto on italian food.The food was great.One of the best italian places that I ever been. Our waiter Stefan made our dining experience special and for the end he brought us desert plate saying happy anniversary and a candle on it.Great night.The next morninig we had breakfast at the Bistro and the buffet there was pretty good.Excellent pancakes and very good service.We spend the rest of the day swiming at the pool and enjoying the pleasure.We ll be back very soon!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a perfect anniversary stay with us. Our hotel team takes pride in providing quality accommodations and service to our guests. We appreciate your patronage of the San Luis Resort and we hope that you can visit us again very soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

a return visit ti the San Luis and had a great afternoon as I chilled at the pool bar and must say that one particular server stood out. Lucy Perales was spot on with service.
Look for her the next time you stay.

Room Tip: Book a Club floor for a great room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local-Beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay and we thank you for your commendation of our team member. We will recognize her for her service. We appreciate your business and hope you can visit us again soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Let me first start by saying the San Luis is probably the nicest hotel on the island. They make a good effort to hit the luxury marks from amenities, to staff, to ambiance and on site restaurants.

The did fall short in several areas, especially in the check-in/check-out process. For the amount of money being spent, one should be allowed to check-in even 15 minutes early or if space permits, the extend check-out by 30-60 minutes. During our stay, the hotel was far from capacity, yet the staff was quick to decline any request. As a frequent traveler, I can tell you that nearly every hotel i have stayed in would not find this an issue.

They apparently have a luggage storage room for those not allowed to check-in, but it is full. I checked daily, just to figure out if it would change, and it was always full and the staff recommended keeping luggage in your vehicle (assuming you had one). Again, having stayed in the mega resorts of Orlando and Las Vegas, a full storage room when the hotel is well below capacity is something i've never encountered.

On the plus side, the pool is nice, proximity to the beach is nice, and the adult only swim up bar is very nice. I highly recommend requesting a room on the 10th floor, which is adult only, in addition to other amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th Floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We appreciate your commendation of our hotel being the finest hotel in Galveston. However, I do apologize for your check-in/check-out experience. It is actually our busy summer season and we actually were fully committed every night during the entire time of your stay. Unfortuantely, this is the reason why we were not able to accommodate either an early check-in or late check-out. We do always offer to hold luggage for our guests and I will look into this issue. I again do apologize for your check-in/check-out experience but we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your business.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Do not stay in condo room 436 at the San Luis resort in Galveston unless you like to wake up at 6am every morning while on vacation.
There is an alarm clock that goes off each morning in the next room that wakes you up at 6am and lasts for more than an hour. I called the front desk the first morning and all they said is they will look in to it. The second morning it went off again I went to the front desk to get them to turn the alarm off. They said the room was owned by a condo owner and did not have access to the room to turn off the clock alarm. They said to check with Sharoldene Lopez who gets in at 9am - "she may have access to the next room to shut off the clock alarm". I will check with her at 9am for I am writing this Review now while the clock alarm is still going off.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your inconvenience. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have access the fully owned condos and only the condo manager has access. I do apologize once more for your inconvenience and I hope that Sharoldene, the condo manager, was able to assist you.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We took a couple of days from our routine work in Houston and head down to Galveston to enjoy the sun and some relaxing time. Weather was great H2O bar attention. However speed on service is something that the resort must improve. Rooms are great all looking to the beach

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your comments about the speed of service so we can continue to improve our service. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews