We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Awesome Ten Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent all over the Resort and we were impressed. The Spa was great, very small which is good and it is kept up very nicely. I had a Massage and it was excellent, one of the best I have ever had.
We arrived a little earlier than we expected as we drove in from Houston and the Front Desk was accommodating, allowing us to check our bags and provided us with pool access. The pool was kept very clean and the bar was busy on this hot summer day, but the bartenders and servers were always around ready for us to order a refill.
We really enjoyed the Club Ten rooms, they were very nice and had great views, all the rooms here have balconies overlooking the Gulf. We can definitely tell that Housekeeping does a great job at keeping the rooms clean. It is key access floor, which is nice. They have waters and sweets on the floor in the afternoon as well as coffee in the morning and you also receive complimentary breakfast in the room, which is defintely worth the upgraded price.
We only stayed one night, but I would definitely come back again for at least two nights so I can enjoy the pool area and the other amenities a little more.

Room Tip: Chose the Club Ten if you are traveling without kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We thank you for your review and appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly recommend our Club Ten floor. The guestrooms on that floor have been recently renovated and as you mentioned, we provide upgraded amenities including champagne, snacks, bottled water and complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I stayed in the family penthouse suite. Due to the fact that these penthouse suites are not rented that often, I felt the front desk did not always know how to handle a problem pertaining to the suites. However three gentlemen made our trip spectacular. At the front desk please ask for Jacob - truly the ultimate professional at his job. Solved problems ASAP , granted request ASAP, etc., went above and beyond his regular duties to ensure our satisfaction and helped us being that this was our first visit to this resort. Second, a evening valet by the name of Brock and a weekend valet, named Dennis Stark treated us ( and other guest as I watched) like we were royalty. These three people gave a great example of how an upper end resort should (and to be expected) should treat their guest. I would definately recommend their conceire, (her name escapes me at this moment) who made our summer trip more enjoyable also. I am recommending this resort if you want to be treated like royalty. 5 out of 5 stars!

Room Tip: Definately reserving the family penthouse suites again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our family suites. We also appreciate your commendation of our associates. It is our team's goal to provide quality accommodations and exceptional service. We thank you for your business and we hope that you will visit us again at the San Luis Resort very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had confirmed reservations made through Opentable at Grotto Restaurant at 1:00 PM on July 4th. When we arrived, we found the restaurant did not even open until 4:00 PM. We met the Restaurants Manager, Jean Paul, who could not have been more accomodating. Naturally, he could not open the restaurant for us, but promised to look into the problem with OpenTable accepting and confirming the reservations, then led us to another restaurant within the hotel (Blake's Bistro), where he brought us a couple of dishes on the house, and made sure we were very well taken care of service-wise.

The food and service were both excellent, and the hotel did an excellent job of covering for OpenTable's error.

Room Tip: Valet parking is complimentary when you dine in the hotel--just ask the restaurant to confirm that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your inconvenience of Grotto not being opened and we appreciate your commendation of Jon Paul, our Director of Restaurants. We thank you for your patronage of our resort and we hope that you can make a return visit very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I live 20 miles north of Galveston, never vacationed there. This year, decided to take my daughter down for a girl's weekend. I wanted to fall in love much more than I did with The San Luis. The main floor and restaurants are very impressive and outstanding. The rooms did not meet expectation. The first 3 minutes in the room my daughter found an empty cigarette carton on the floor. Gross. So we took it out of the room and threw it away. Later that evening, I found a bottle cork and dirty glass on the floor. I put them on the TV stand in hopes housekeeping would take them away. Not only did these stay the remainder of the weekend, so did my coffee cup from the in room Keurig each morning. The AC vent leaked, and housekeeping removed the rug that was keeping us from slipping on the marble. The housekeeping staff is selective and not attuned to detail. The rooms are not of the caliber I expected for the price; beds/pillows maybe average, probably less. I gave the front desk feedback on the room service upon my exit, virtually no response. Would not even look at me (and I give nice feedback - usually people are happy!) The rest of the staff was exceptional, friendly, helpful and competent. Jacob was especially helpful printing a file I needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank signup_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are in the middle of renovations and we have completed all of the public areas. The next focus of our renovations is on the guestrooms and the guest corridors. I apologize for the cleanliness issues that you had. This is not our standard of cleanliness or service. I will address this experience with our team so we can ensure that this doesn't occur again. Please contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss this matter in further detail. Thank you for your business.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The San Luis Resort is the diamond on the Gulf of Mexico. The first moment we got out of our car, each and every request or wish were answered with a smile and a yes of course. Never have I been treated like a king, as I have been here.
The restaurants, the pool, H2O, all first class.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review and your feedback. Our resort team takes pride in providing quality accommodations and exceptional service. We appreciate your patronage of the San Luis Resort and we hope that you can make a return visit soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had the pleasure of speaking with Mr. Eric Dean this morning, a telephone representative for the San Luis Hotel. He was very pleasant and was able to accommodate ALL of my requests which included adding an additional room reservation to my existing one...a cabana rental for 2 cabanas and dinner reservations at The Steakhouse restaurant to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. If this is any indication of how my stay will be...I'll definitely be a returning customer! Thanks, Mr. Dean, for making a wonderful "first impression" for me. We are looking forward to our stay already!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank sonya610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your response. We appreciate your commendation of Eric in our Reservations Department and we also appreciate your wonderful comments about our steakhouse and the Resort. Thank you for your business. We hope to see you very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I visited the resort for 2 days on June 11 & 12th and I was blown away by how great this place is. The service was amazing the pool and all the bars and restaurants were super. The steakhouse had the most amazing ribeye I have ever had. I have traveled all over the Caribbean, Aruba, Maui and the Bahamas and the service here blew those places away. Now I did miss the blue water of those other places but the hospitality more then made up for it. I will certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments about our resort and the hospitality of our staff. It is our team's goal to provide our guests with both quality accommodations and exceptional service. We thank you for your patronage of the San Luis Resort and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £147 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing