We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lone Star Rally Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    488
    165
    63
    47
See reviews for
445
973
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Tremont House is a well appointed hotel close to where I need to be in Galveston. The fact that there are a dozen stairs at the entrance makes rolling luggage useless. Very few of the rooms have a desk surface to do any work. Beyond the business inconveniences, the hot water is never really available for a morning shower and the blackout curtains are not designed to be used frequently, if at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We appreciate the feedback on your stay at the hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel does have several stairs at the entrance and our valet should have been on hand to assist with your luggage. If they weren't, my apologies. Please note that you may request a room with a desk and all our rooms are equipped with a pull-out shelf on the armoire that can serve as a desk. We hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is what you expect from a Wyndham Grand Hotel, beautiful, clean and organized. Everything was perfect for our arrival without any problem. But the hotel is located away from the beach, the only sea view is facing some docks and it is not pretty. The city center is historic and pleasant, but not very busy. The hotel has no restaurant, only a snack bar and a bar, which is somewhat unsatisfactory. We dined at a nearby restaurant, but it was the only one in the region and quite simple. The breakfast is excellent, but it works a la carte, which can be a little frustrating if the number of guests is very large. Parking is expensive, around $ 20, and is on a plot adjacent to the hotel, even better to park on the street. The staff is efficient but not friendly or sympathetic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izabel_zattar_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay at The Tremont House. As you mentioned, Tremont Cafe offers casual dining and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. While The Tremont House is a mile from the beachfront, it is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District and near Pier 21 and Postoffice Arts and Entertainment District which is home to a great variety of restaurants. I'm sorry that our staff didn't provide better guidance in finding a restaurant. We hope that you'll come back and try one of the many locally owned restaurants that are within walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had to get a room last minute on a weekend late at night. We also had our dog and she was slightly over their pet weight limit maximum. Regardless of the odds being against us - they were able to get us a handicap room and allowed us to bring our dog. We slept well and had a lovely breakfast at the hotels restaurant. The only thing that could use improvement is the communication from the front desk to the bell-hop. We called down to get our luggage several times. I went downstairs to get the car and get our dog all loaded up in the vehicle and waited downstairs for at least 15 minutes even after informing the people that we had called up and needed someone. They apparently were never told and my husband came down with all our bags on his person: He said the woman at the front desk didn't even look at him. Not sure what happened there but they weren't busy and there wasn't any other excuse other than the people at the front desk did not get the message out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We're happy that we were able to get you a room at the last minute. Thank you for sharing the issues that you mentioned, we'll make sure that the appropriate managers are aware. We hope that you'll give us another try and we'll promise to make sure that valet takes care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing