We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Mardi Gras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for Mardi Gras”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed there for Mardi Gras. It was great. The room was well appointed and you can't beat the location for all the Mardi Gras balls and parade. The bar is great as well. If you do not ride in the parade this is where you want to stay. You are right of the strand and the parade goes down the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate the plug for spending Mardi Gras at The Tremont House. The 30th Annual Mardi Gras Ball & Parade Viewing Party is on Saturday, March 1, 2014. The hotel is offering a weekend Mardi Gras package and individual ball tickets. This year, the theme is "Pearls and Prohibition" and will include a performance by Retro-Swing Band Cherry Poppin' Daddies. Reserve your room soon. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    495
    169
    64
    48
See reviews for
453
995
69
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Spent just one night here prior to boarding the Disney Wonder cruise. The location is great! Walking distance to multiple restaurants and shopping. It is just a couple of blocks from the harbor. The building was built in the 1800's and beautifully restored and converted. We were upgraded to a suite so I'm not sure what the typical rooms are like. The suite had one bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms, a wet bar with ice machine and a sitting / meeting room. Everything was extremely nice except...the area rug in the sitting room was badly stained. I was surprised since everything else was perfectly clean and nicely decorated. I did point the problem out to the staff at checkout.

The lobby is lovely with lots of sitting space and a nice bar. There is also a restaurant area. We ate breakfast there. The menu offered nice options but the food tasted packaged.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bell hops went out of their way to be helpful and offer suggestions for dinner.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate the four stars on your recent stay at The Tremont House. And, thank you so much for pointing out the issue with the rug. Our staff will be sure to share that detail with housekeeping. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A romantic Christmas Eve and Day in Galveston, on the Strand and in the Tremont! Perfect get-a-way for a nice rendevous with my man. The room and view of the downtown were great. THe bed was comfy and everything was very clean. Just as I would expect from the Tremont. A first class hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. I have always stayed on the top floor looking towards the beach. Maybe nex...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice and environmentally friendly, but not stingy.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are thrilled that you experienced the "perfect getaway" with your significant other at The Tremont House. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This is the best place to stay while going to Dickens on the Strand. It's right on the venue with performances in the lobby. Most of the patrons are in costume which adds to the fun. The rooftop bar is nice but we prefer the bar inside. It's absolutely beautiful and the make wonderful Manhattans and martinis. The rooms are quaintly decorated and the service is exceptional.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House during Dickens on The Strand. We agree that we are an ideal location for this wonderful holiday festival. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
704 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing