We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel in the strand area of Galveston...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Really enjoy the decor of the room. Felt like I had stepped back in time. I didn't know about the history of ghosts. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at The Tremont House. In the next few weeks, we plan to add a small exhibit on the history of The Tremont House and the role of our owners in the revitalization of Galveston's historic Strand. Please look for it on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Elegant, well maintained hotel, close to restaurants. Lovely jazz bar and roof top patio. Rooms have 12' ceilings and loads of character, it was very quiet and beds were comfy. Stayed in Room 310. Cafe had Starbucks coffee and a decent selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernongirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our jazz in the Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed during spring break. The location is perfect and the staff was professional and friendly. We are both in our 60's and the room was great for staying in and resting up for our next outing. The ambience of the hotel and the room was superb. We stayed in room 218 and loved the tall ceilings, towel warmer, and the incredibly comfortable bed(with my bad back that is saying a lot). As a former antique dealer I also appreciated the furniture. Certainly not antique but real honest to goodness wood.

The quality of the view from the window is subject to each person's opinion. Across the alley stands an original Strand building over a hundred years old. Many of the windows in that building have their original metal hurricane shutters. In other windows you can see where they have been bricked up at some time in the past. You can also see where a newer, much cheaper addition to the building was made. The original brickwork is superb.

One of the best experiences was that at night we could hear the ships' horns in the bay.

Needless to say we have already booked again for this summer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the decor and ambiance of the hotel. And, we are excited to read that you are booked for another stay this summer. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is pretty and very antique. It is in the middle of the island and has beaches on either side. The ballet parking is 17$ and it also also plenty of street parking available nearby.
The hotel can be a bit noisy at nights. I hear it is haunted and this is mainly to attract tourists.
Ordering food in the room can be expensive since they add 20% service fee and the food overall is also expensive.
Overall the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for sharing a review on your stay at the hotel. As you mentioned, The Tremont is in the heart of Galveston's downtown which is a great location but also has limits on parking. Guests can valet park for $17/night or park on the street, which is metered. Meters charge for parking from 9am to 6pm Monday thru Saturday. For your information, the hotel does offer a courtesy shuttle to its sister hotel Hotel Galvez which is on the beachfront. While we appreciate your feedback on food, please know that 20% is pretty standard for room service and delivery charges. Thanks and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very nice stay at the Tremont House. Lovely room, even though we had an interior view. Love the high ceilings, and the spotless bathroom and room. Turned out to be a pretty good value for weekdays in March.

One downside is that the breakfast offerings in the cafe downstairs are somewhat limited, and a little pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0dander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are very pleased that you had a "terrific stay" at The Tremont House and that you enjoyed your atrium facing room. Please note that on weekends, we have live jazz in the Toujouse Bar so guests can enjoy the music in the rooms by opening their French doors. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Pros:
-Location near the port and center
-Beautiful decoration
-Good beds
-Good size of rooms
-Amenities
-Bathrobes in the room
-Coffee machine
High ceilings
Free Internet

Cons:

-Unfriendly attitude of many employees:
When arriving the Valet parking/bell boy & receptionist had a cold and unfriendly attitude. As if they were making us a favor. Not a welcoming feeling after paying 260 dlls a night!!!!!

Next day receptionist and valet parking staff were more friendly.

- 17 dlls plus tax per day for Valet parking.

-No service at the bar:
We were at the bar for like 1/2 hour waiting to be served and no one came. It was a full night. However, there was a waitress who actually went to every table but ours. We left of course.

- Not flexible for checking in hours:
We checked in late according to the hotel, around 6:30 am, so we had to pay 260 dlls as if we entered the room a night before. Ok we agreed we were extremely tired after the trip.

In most of the hotels I've stayed around the world (Dubai, Mexico, Europe, etcetera) they are more friendly and customer care orientated and flexible and let us enter the room around that hour without paying as if we entered the room the night before. Extremely Disappointing for this kind of hotel.

-They didn't clean the room:
Since we checked in "late" they didn't clean the room that day.

We were celebrating a birthday and definitively this kind of ruined the celebration. Having the feeling that you're not welcome and unfriendly staff is definitely not worth to pay almost 600 dlls for the stay!!! I'd prefer to go back to the Four seasons chain were you receive quality service!

Staying in a hotel is about service and environment. That's what you pay for. If you fail in this. Reconsidered what you're doing.

Not coming back for sure.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Titamxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the hotel. We would like to explain our room policy. Check-in at our hotel is at 4 p.m. and our hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy. If you made a reservation to arrive the night before and didn't arrive until 6:30 am the next day then, like at other properties, you would responsible for your room. Our staff is happy to arrange an early check-in, based on room availability, but the earliest time would most likely be late afternoon.

We appreciate you letting us know about the issues regarding service and housekeeping. We will make sure that staff is made aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
814 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £82 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing