We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Omar's Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    482
    164
    61
    47
See reviews for
439
959
67
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is a little older- we could hear some plumbing noises in the first room we were issued, but the staff quickly changed our room without any hassle. The rooms are very spacious. Location was great- you can walk just about anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House. Yes, the hotel is housed in a building that dates to 1879 and it does offer a certain charm and an ideal location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Really enjoy the decor of the room. Felt like I had stepped back in time. I didn't know about the history of ghosts. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at The Tremont House. In the next few weeks, we plan to add a small exhibit on the history of The Tremont House and the role of our owners in the revitalization of Galveston's historic Strand. Please look for it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Elegant, well maintained hotel, close to restaurants. Lovely jazz bar and roof top patio. Rooms have 12' ceilings and loads of character, it was very quiet and beds were comfy. Stayed in Room 310. Cafe had Starbucks coffee and a decent selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernongirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our jazz in the Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed during spring break. The location is perfect and the staff was professional and friendly. We are both in our 60's and the room was great for staying in and resting up for our next outing. The ambience of the hotel and the room was superb. We stayed in room 218 and loved the tall ceilings, towel warmer, and the incredibly comfortable bed(with my bad back that is saying a lot). As a former antique dealer I also appreciated the furniture. Certainly not antique but real honest to goodness wood.

The quality of the view from the window is subject to each person's opinion. Across the alley stands an original Strand building over a hundred years old. Many of the windows in that building have their original metal hurricane shutters. In other windows you can see where they have been bricked up at some time in the past. You can also see where a newer, much cheaper addition to the building was made. The original brickwork is superb.

One of the best experiences was that at night we could hear the ships' horns in the bay.

Needless to say we have already booked again for this summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the decor and ambiance of the hotel. And, we are excited to read that you are booked for another stay this summer. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is pretty and very antique. It is in the middle of the island and has beaches on either side. The ballet parking is 17$ and it also also plenty of street parking available nearby.
The hotel can be a bit noisy at nights. I hear it is haunted and this is mainly to attract tourists.
Ordering food in the room can be expensive since they add 20% service fee and the food overall is also expensive.
Overall the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shilpa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for sharing a review on your stay at the hotel. As you mentioned, The Tremont is in the heart of Galveston's downtown which is a great location but also has limits on parking. Guests can valet park for $17/night or park on the street, which is metered. Meters charge for parking from 9am to 6pm Monday thru Saturday. For your information, the hotel does offer a courtesy shuttle to its sister hotel Hotel Galvez which is on the beachfront. While we appreciate your feedback on food, please know that 20% is pretty standard for room service and delivery charges. Thanks and we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing