We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Bad Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very cool haunted hotel, Great tours and history. Beautiful lobby and bar and very comfortable rooms. Very modern and good mattress. The Restaurant was horrible. The only bad thing about the hotel is the restaurant is in the middle of the lobby, with no walls, so it's a bit weird to be eating and have people walking next to your table walking in and out...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. Based on your description, it reads as if you dined in the Toujouse Bar, which is part of our lobby, rather than the Tremont Cafe. The Tremont Cafe is just past the brick arches and is a casual dining area. You also order items in the Toujouse Bar. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience. We hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Galveston and also consider dining at Galvez Bar and Grill, which is located at our sister hotel Hotel Galvez. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise. Due to an oil spill, this turned into two nights, and the staff were under a lot of pressure to please a LOT of angry people. Never once did I see a staff member get frazzled. You can tell they're trained expertly to deal with these situations.

The rooms are beautiful, with ridiculously tall ceilings and gorgeous windows. The decor is traditional, as you might expect, and the rooms are lacking ultra modern amenities that the chain hotels have. One other thing that stuck out was the toilet being about six inches from the ground. Maybe not the best option if you have bad knees or are over five feet tall.

Overall I really liked this hotel but I'm a sucker for history. For the price, you might be better off at a chain.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank SC101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are sorry to hear that your cruise was delayed due to the oil spill and we are glad that our staff at The Tremont House was able to assist. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will choose to stay with us again. There is a certain charm at historic hotels, such as The Tremont House, that you won't find at a chain. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The history and location of the hotel is great. Would recommend to others if the room service food is improved and the noise level could be fixed. Lots of street noise late into the night. A good place to party, but not for a quiet retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate the insight on your stay at The Tremont House. And, thank you for letting us know about room service. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a beautiful hotel! Luxury linens, antiques, hardwood floors, and a rooftop bar. They also have a bar inside the hotel that was built in 1888 - it's beautiful! Local shops and are cafes within walking distance of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate your glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We love that you enjoyed the hotel, ambiance and location and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First off, this place is cool looking from the time you enter. The front desk is small, kind of like you expect to see in Europe, not the big, long type of thing we tend to run to in the U.S. The lobby is inviting with a nice bar and cafe area.

The rooms have hardwood floors with area rugs and are nicely appointed. The bed frames are iron and brass and the rooms we were in had high ceilings. All in all, a very comfortable hotel with nice appointments. The location is great with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We will certainly be back to enjoy the Tremont in the future.

What made our stay special, however, was the staff. We were supposed to spend one night here and get on a cruise ship the next morning. An oil spill in Galveston Bay delayed everything for everyone. Two cruise ships were trying to get into port and one was trying to get out but nobody could go anywhere. The Tremont staff was great in handling all the questions that were being thrown at them, handling people who wanted to re-book their rooms for another night, and so on. They were total professionals.

Room Tip: We asked for rooms away from the atrium because the bar could potentially be loud in the evening. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We love that you had a "great experience at The Tremont House." We are sorry to hear about the delay of the start of your cruise but we are glad to see that our staff was able to assist. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Big, clean, and very comfortable rooms. Super nice staff. Exceptionally good room service (and in room dining). Can't say enough good things about this hotel. We will be coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak_reviews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We appreciate your glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
808 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £84 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing