We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly bar server, she gave lots of info...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    498
    172
    64
    48
See reviews for
461
1,001
69
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed at The Tremont for three years in a row for Dickens on the Strand, last year, we noticed the placard for Pearls and Prohibition theme for the 2014 Mardi Gras Ball. Since we love 20s, Gatsby, Boardwalk Empire, we decided we had to return to attend the ball.

There are two ways to attend the ball, either purchase tickets to the Ball for $200 per person, or purchase a weekend package which includes two night stay at the Tremont as well as as the Ball and a few extras. We opted to splurge and purchase the package, at $1078+ you may be wondering if this is worth the price.

It is.

Before Friday: a detailed email with instructions prior to the event explaining all the activities, where to check in since the street was closed.

Friday: Valets were prompt and got us unloaded and at the front desk quickly. We checked in,a packet was waiting with wrist bands and special Tremont beads.

Ate at the Tremont Cafe, get the mushroom flatbread with truffle oil, its to die for.

We changed clothes went downstairs and listed to the Dr. Michael White Jazz Quartet, absolutely fabulous band. Also, the bar wait staff were great, loved the fact they asked if we wanted our photos taken (we did). Checked frequently to see if we needed anything. Overall, excellent customer service from both, Tremont Cafe and the Toulouse Bar.

Room was comfortable and cozy, could hear the jazz from the atrium. Great way to go to sleep.

Saturday: Its ball time!

-Went downstairs and was pleasantly surprised to find a third party professional photographer taking photos. (fyi... our 4 pose photo package was $65 + tax and the results were stunning, worth the money).
- Caterers were busy mingling with guests with tasty hors d'oeuvres, caviar, chicken salad, salmon. Served with Prohibition Lemonade, not too sweet, not too strong, but juuustt right. Servers were very polite and very busy. Excellent service.
- Dinner. If I have one complaint, it would be about dinner. Not THE dinner, it was incredible, just finding out it was being served. We never heard or saw an announcement, just noticed the crowd had thinned, and some folks purposefully walking down a hallway. We followed, and discovered the dining room. Had expected a more formal announcement with a gong, sign, etc. Dinner...well... it was a feast. Steak au pouvre was delicious, as was the crab cake. I saw pounds of oysters, shrimp, etc. I only took what I could eat, and that was delicious and filling. Did not try the dessert bar, was too full from dinner. By the time the meal was done, there was the parade. Had a great time viewing the parade. Across the street to watch the Cherry Poppin Daddies, and they were wonderful. Warning... ball room is smallish, if you do not get there early, expect to stand during this part of the event. Breakfast buffet did not disappoint.

Sunday: Continental breakfast in the lobby.

Overall, great experience.

However, I understand from the staff, the theme of the Mardi Gras ball changes every year, so check their website to see if the theme is something you would be interested in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagmara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our 30th Annual Mardi Gras Ball at The Tremont House! It looks like you had a great weekend so we did our job. It is a great party. Thanks for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice hotel in the "Strand". Good location for walking around downtown. Rooms were appointed nicely, high ceilings. Love the old buildings of historic Galveston. Valet Parking is $17.00 though. Enjoyed our evening here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location and the ambiance of the hotel. By the way, between April through October there are free movies and concerts nearly every weekend. Check with the front desk on details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very cool haunted hotel, Great tours and history. Beautiful lobby and bar and very comfortable rooms. Very modern and good mattress. The Restaurant was horrible. The only bad thing about the hotel is the restaurant is in the middle of the lobby, with no walls, so it's a bit weird to be eating and have people walking next to your table walking in and out...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. Based on your description, it reads as if you dined in the Toujouse Bar, which is part of our lobby, rather than the Tremont Cafe. The Tremont Cafe is just past the brick arches and is a casual dining area. You also order items in the Toujouse Bar. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience. We hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Galveston and also consider dining at Galvez Bar and Grill, which is located at our sister hotel Hotel Galvez. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing