We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG the Beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OMG the Beds!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a delightful hotel. It reminded us of an upscale European boutique hotel where the rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. I got an incredible night's sleep on the most luxurious sheets and bedding that I have ever experienced in a hotel. My pillow was the perfect combination of cushy and firm and I didn't want to get up this morning.

The hotel is in the old town area of Galveston which suited us fine. It is a block away from the harbor and the same distance from most of the best dining. The hotel also offers a shuttle to its sister property for the use of the pool and spa.

We had a glass of wine in the lobby bar and a delicious bite to eat in the hotel cafe. The lobby is simple, classy and comfortable. The staff is caring and very well trained to offer a great stay to their guests.

I would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the positive review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We love that that you loved the beds and the general experience overall. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon. Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    495
    169
    64
    48
See reviews for
453
995
69
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent room, elegant and comfortable, bed was luxurious. Inside room was quiet but then it was Sun night, and so was town. Worth every penny for the room. Unfortunately missed rooftop bar but will be back again to take that in. Only thumbs down is the valet fee is way too steep to just park car across the street in a gated lot - felt gouged...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are pleased that you had a "great stay" at The Tremont House. By the way, our Rooftop Bar is now operating its new summer hours and is open Tuesday through Saturday (weather permitting). Also, you have the option to park on the street, which is metered. The meter charge is $1.25/hour from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Galveston and this was such a nice hotel, it had a beautiful lobby with jazz players in the evening one of the nights we were there -- the rooms are very large with super high ceilings, we didn't hear anyone around us, the beds were the most soft and comfortable I've ever had, definitely had a good night sleep here! This hotel is located downtown so it's definitely a better deal for the money and less busy than staying on Seawall BLVD when you visit Galveston... would definitely stay here again if I went back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndriap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the live jazz. Island Jazz Project performs every Friday and Saturday from 6 to 10 p.m. in the Toujouse Bar and our Rooftop Bar is now open Tuesday through Saturday (weather permitting/Summer hours). We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I make several trips a month to Galveston. The April trip I spent the night listening to the elevator going up and down. The room I had was next to elevator. The May trip the bathroom sink had hair from someone who was shaving. The bathroom was dirty and not clean.
Next trip I am staying at the Harbor House....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. We are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your last two visits. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and we hope that you enjoy Harbor House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fired up the Tripadvisor app on the iPhone while basking in the sun on Port Bolivar and found one king room avail at the Tremont and snatched it up for $189 gross. Arrived at location and was a bit confused on where to park to check in. Circled the blocked ( NO parking spots in sight) and just decide to ask the valet guys. They were very helpful in explaining the process. Check in was as expected, with the exception of the up-sales speech to a higher $$ room.

Got our two golden keys and headed to the 4th floor, passing the nice jazz band playing in the lounge. Our room was nice but extremely small I'd say around 300-350 square feet but certainly enough to accommodate. Liked the towel warmer, electronic lighting modes. The a/c seemed to work extra hard on a 82* night and virtually stayed on all night.

We were never told about a shuttle to Galvez. Would have loved to taken in a massage.

Room service prices are best left to those with endless pockets.
All in all, it was a great hotel and we wished we could have explored more of it.

Accidentally choose a rating for swimming pool and spa which this does not have. Tripadvisor won't let me take it out.

Room Tip: Pull right up to valet, it's $17 a reservation day.
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that they offer "clean" rooms as well for those with allergy issues.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so sorry to hear that you weren't able to take advantage of the courtesy shuttle to Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the jazz and we hope that you had the opportunity to see our Rooftop Bar. The Rooftop Bar is open Tuesday - Saturday (weather permitting).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing