We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but avoid interior rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay but avoid interior rooms”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My young sons and I stayed at the Tremont House on a last-minute trip to Galveston. The hotel is lovely, and the staff is attentive and friendly. We asked for a roll away bed, which was brought up quickly. The valet service was very efficient, and the car was always waiting for us when we called ahead. The rooms are a tad on the small size, but very comfortable and spotless.

We were given an interior room, which had windows looking into the courtyard. This was fine--the big windows prevented it from seeming closed in--until we returned from the beach to go to bed and found that we could hear the jazz band as if they were playing in our room. Don't get me wrong, the music was great, and if I did not have two exhausted children, I would have gone downstairs to listen. As it was, we had some trouble falling asleep with the sound of horns blaring. Fortunately, the band ended at 10pm, so it was not too late. But if you want to turn in early, try to get a quieter room than the interior ones.

All in all, the stay was comfortable and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid interior rooms if you want to go to sleep before 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are pleased that you had a "nice stay" at The Tremont House. Our apologies regarding the music. As you mentioned, the hotel offers live jazz on Fridays and Saturdays from 6 to 10 pm. It's wonderful for couples and adults and the atrium rooms benefit from the music, but, as you mentioned an exterior room may be preferable with smaller children on a weekend. Thanks for the insight and we hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    502
    175
    64
    49
See reviews for
466
1,012
71
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Every winter we attend the Dicken's on the Strand festival and walk by the Tremont House, so this vacation we decided to stay there. We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is first class with beautiful comfortable rooms, friiendlt staff and easy valet service. We will definitely book the Tremont House in the future.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed The Tremont House and you consider us a "grand hotel." Thanks for giving us a try and we hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful facility....loved the history and learning what famous individuals had stayed at The Tremont. Excellent service....clean room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for describing The Tremont House as a "beautiful facility." We are so pleased that you had a chance to see our new history display just off the front desk. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing