We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall our stay was great, except the food from room...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank hotelguruChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

While on a road trip across the US we passed through Galveston and found this beautiful hotel (4 star) for a really good price (we traveled in mid May and the room was just over $100/night). The room was immaculate with a very comfortable bed. We also ordered room service (which we don't usually do) and the roast chicken was amazing! So tender and flavorful. The only downside was that the valet parking was expensive ($17 plus tips). You could easily park on the street for free, if you wake early enough (before 9am).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SageFrances007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Tremont House, we always appreciate feedback. We are please that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed our amazing Roast Chicken. We hope you will return on your next trip to Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at The Tremont House a few times during Mardi Gras festivities. It's an excellent hotel with very clean rooms and an exceptional staff. I always ordered room service the morning of our Mardi Gras parade and had one of their specialty smoothies delivered to my room. It was the perfect pick-me-up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double-queen room closest to the rooftop bar. Our room had a very nice bar area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We appreciate your loyalty to the Tremont House, thank you for making us your Mardi Gras destination. We love that you have found our smoothies to be the perfect pick you up. We hope to see you next year. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Part of this property's charm is its age and history. That being said, some minor renovations inside the rooms and bathrooms of the hotel are in order.
Some of the pros are the wood floors inside the rooms, the high ceilings in the rooms, the location of the property and the wonderful cafe located inside the hotel. Some of the cons are the fact that pets are allowed and may (or may not) have gone to the bathroom on the wood floors in the rooms (eeew!), the old, somewhat dilapidated tiled bathrooms, and the limited room service (presumably due to the fact that the food is made in the same kitchen as the lobby cafe and constrained by their staff/kitchen abilities at the time).

I stayed there with my family for one night and was happy to check out the next day. I think a beach house would have been a better call for us price and comfort - wise. At $300+/night, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Our room very closely faced the brick facade of an apartment building. We had to keep our draped cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 700mumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for staying at The Tremont House. We appreciate the insight on your stay. As you mentioned, we do allow pets that are 25 pounds or less for a non-refundable fee of $75/pet. Housekeeping is always aware of our pet guests so their stay is addressed and we find that most pets are house-trained. Thanks again and we hope that you visit Galveston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My fiance and I have always wanted to stay here when we visit Galveston and this past Father's Day was our date. We thought about parking ourselves since parking seemed available but it was a special occasion so we took advantage of valet parking. Each time we called down and asked for our vehicle it was always ready and the attendants were perfect gentleman. Check in was flawless and we headed to our room. As we opened the door we were amazed at the beauty and elegance of the room. And the bed was so comfortable! This is a very special place and within walking distance (couple of blocks) of the Strand. If we would have had a nice to have list, we would have loved to have a small refrigerator in our room. I did call down to the front desk but was told they were available but were $23.00 daily (a bit too much).

All in all, The Tremont House was one of the most elegant hotels we have visited and within walking distance of several shops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of the Tremont House, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and hope you will visit us again on a future trip to Galveston. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £86 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing