We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in Galveston & great wedding destination hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in Galveston & great wedding destination hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Built in 1839, the hotel is conveniently located. The hotel's beautiful Victorian architecture will transport you to nostalgic times. The staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms may seem old, but they keep them extraordinarily clean. My favorite feature is the mix of old and modern architecture. The lobby has a great bar to sit and relax after your long drive to Galveston.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Tremont House, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. There is a certain charm at historic hotels such as the Tremont House that you just cant find everyday. Thank you for being our guest and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    495
    169
    64
    47
See reviews for
453
995
69
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

While on a road trip across the US we passed through Galveston and found this beautiful hotel (4 star) for a really good price (we traveled in mid May and the room was just over $100/night). The room was immaculate with a very comfortable bed. We also ordered room service (which we don't usually do) and the roast chicken was amazing! So tender and flavorful. The only downside was that the valet parking was expensive ($17 plus tips). You could easily park on the street for free, if you wake early enough (before 9am).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SageFrances007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Tremont House, we always appreciate feedback. We are please that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed our amazing Roast Chicken. We hope you will return on your next trip to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at The Tremont House a few times during Mardi Gras festivities. It's an excellent hotel with very clean rooms and an exceptional staff. I always ordered room service the morning of our Mardi Gras parade and had one of their specialty smoothies delivered to my room. It was the perfect pick-me-up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double-queen room closest to the rooftop bar. Our room had a very nice bar area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We appreciate your loyalty to the Tremont House, thank you for making us your Mardi Gras destination. We love that you have found our smoothies to be the perfect pick you up. We hope to see you next year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Part of this property's charm is its age and history. That being said, some minor renovations inside the rooms and bathrooms of the hotel are in order.
Some of the pros are the wood floors inside the rooms, the high ceilings in the rooms, the location of the property and the wonderful cafe located inside the hotel. Some of the cons are the fact that pets are allowed and may (or may not) have gone to the bathroom on the wood floors in the rooms (eeew!), the old, somewhat dilapidated tiled bathrooms, and the limited room service (presumably due to the fact that the food is made in the same kitchen as the lobby cafe and constrained by their staff/kitchen abilities at the time).

I stayed there with my family for one night and was happy to check out the next day. I think a beach house would have been a better call for us price and comfort - wise. At $300+/night, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Our room very closely faced the brick facade of an apartment building. We had to keep our draped cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700mumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for staying at The Tremont House. We appreciate the insight on your stay. As you mentioned, we do allow pets that are 25 pounds or less for a non-refundable fee of $75/pet. Housekeeping is always aware of our pet guests so their stay is addressed and we find that most pets are house-trained. Thanks again and we hope that you visit Galveston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing