We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great birthday getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    503
    175
    64
    49
See reviews for
468
1,015
71
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we checked in Sunday. We had an excellent, quiet room on 4th floor. Last time we stayed we were on third floor but both times we faced the street of the main entrance. When we needed a wine opener, the bar staff gave us a chiller and two glasses in addition to opening the bottle. The valet was always fast. The front desk staff so kind and welcoming. We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anjamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are glad that it "couldn't have been better." And, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our favorite place to stay when we go to Galveston. We love everything about the hotel, from the friendly and helpful staff to the room itself. It is our place to go when we really want to feel like we are on a get-away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so pleased that you "love the Tremont." We love your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Tremont for a family get together the Tremont was great rooms nice size. When checking in we were given a key to a room that had not been cleaned but the clerk apologized and we were given an up grade room the staff were all so helpful and friendly We enjoyed the short walk to the Strand

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank evelynkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at The Tremont House. Our apologies regarding that initial mishap but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and all I can really say is that is was just beautiful. The staff was helpful and attentive. The bathroom took my breath away and was just what the doctor ordered after several days on the beach. It's was within walking distance of the docks and it was a treat to be able to walk around and know we weren't too far from our room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank morningglory1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We appreciate your complimentary review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are also glad to hear that you had the opportunity to explore the area and made your way to Pier 21. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely consider staying at the Tremont again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you plan to return. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing