We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Spent Labor Day weekend here. Valet parked and didn't get in my truck again until I left 3 days later. This hotel is right in the middle of the Strand shopping area, which is full of interesting stores and good restaurants. It's also w/in a 7 min walk to the Pier 21 area, which has more restaurants, museums, and cruise ship docking. AND, the hotel offers hourly shuttle service to its sister hotel, The Galvez, which is across the street from the beach and has an outstanding pool. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Tremont House, with jazz and drinks before going out for dinner and winding up the night at the rooftop bar. Attentive staff. Great rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jmo354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your Labor Day Weekend stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you explored the area and made a stop at our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. We hope that you will return soon. The fall is a great time to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    498
    172
    64
    48
See reviews for
461
1,001
69
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this beautiful hotel and had a room facing the inside (not a problem for us) right next to the elevator, so we heard the whine of the elevator most of the night. The bathroom was done in an ultra modern striped tile and really did not fit in with the historic building, but it was a nice bathroom. We were able to walk to the Strand shopping area easily, but note...this is a cruise ship port tourist trap. However we found an awesome old fashioned ice cream shop/candy shop and cooled off with some ice cream. I would absolutely stay here again, but ask for an outer room away from the elevator. Live and learn!

Room Tip: ask for an outside facing room... away from the elevators if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We appreciate the feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. Please note that you may also enjoy exploring Postoffice Street Arts & Entertainment District as well as Pier 21 on your next visit. Both are a short walk from the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the other side of the island near the cruise line docks so if u are going on a cruise or coming from one and need a quiet place to crash. Definitely stay here. there were children on the se floor as me and I didn't here a peep. Also the gym area isn't bad in case anybody wants to know. The bars and restaurants that are near the hotel close early if they don't have customers also. So again if want a nice quiet room that has a soft comfy bed this place is for you.
If u want the same thing but wish to sightsee may I recommend the sister hotel because it's right on the beach strip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Collegegrad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give a review on your stay at The Tremont House. As you mentioned, the hotel does not have a pool but guests have pool privileges at Hotel Galvez & Spa. The Tremont House is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District which offers restaurants, shopping and museums and art galleries. We hope that you will stay with us again before your next cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We spent several lovely days at the Tremont. We enjoyed our stay immensely and look forward to returning at the first opportunity. Our room was so lovely we found ourselves staying in more than we had planned just to take advantage of the beautiful room.

Our breakfasts in the hotel cafe were very good and worth their reasonable charges. The wait staff was very helpful and attentive to detail. When we took our meal 'to go' we found everything we needed in our sack when we unpacked our meal in our room.

The chairs, desk and bed were all extremely comfortable and this coming from someone with back issues who knows and understands the need for comfortable seating and beds. The bed linens were heavenly as were the pillows. Their blackout drapery worked perfectly and were great for sleeping in. It was also a nice touch that they were very user friendly.

The bathroom was nicely appointed. The towel warmer was greatly appreciated and made for that extra special touch.

The decor of the entire room was beautiful, peaceful and perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.

It was very nice to have The Strand at our doorstep. Lots of great shops and restaurants within a block or two. The Pier 21 restaurants were our favorites and a nice walk from the hotel. The candy store just a block over from the hotel seemed to be a favorite return spot for lots of visitors. We made good use of it daily as well.

The beach and the 'sister' hotel pool were just a short 4-5 minute drive away. The hotel provided shuttle was very nice, air conditioned and easily reserved for use. It picked up right at the door of the hotel.

We originally choose this hotel because it was pet friendly. We would choose it again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. The sunlight was bright their black out drapes worked g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, your room, our outlets, and the location as well as your visit to our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel was very close tot he pier for cruises from Galveston (you can walk to the pier if you really wanted to do that). Very clean, spacious rooms, courteous staff. Breakfast menu was average, but they do have Starbucks coffee. Good entertainment in the lobby as well. Very helpful front desk people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_alg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for choosing The Tremont House for your pre-cruise hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise and that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Tremont House is an excellent hotel to visit.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff is excellent! Will definitely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at The Tremont House. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 51 in Galveston
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing