We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Condominiums
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Watch out for bedbugs!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My family and I recently stayed at The Victorian in Galveston, Texas. There are five of us, so we rented out a condo with one bedroom, bunk beds, and a pull-out bed. While the location is right across the beach with a good view from some of the condos and with a large complex, we were horrified to discover two rather large bedbugs inhabiting our pull-out sofa bed. Not only was the mattress insufficient for comfort or back support, it had pests! We were immediately upgraded to a larger condo with a better view, but it was rather suspicious that the managerial staff were not surprised to hear about the bugs. The new room had no issues, but no one slept that night until all the beds were double-checked! Be careful with the housekeeping in this hotel!

A good tip for wary travelers would be to purchase a handheld UV light that can illuminate bedbugs and any larvae or trails left by them in beds, and always check beds especially the less frequently cleaned pull-outs! We know we will for sure in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are better, beware the 7300s because our first room was in that area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CriticsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. We sincerely regret that these guests had an issue with bugs. When we were advised of the concern, our front-desk personnel immediately moved the guests to a two-bedroom condo for the same price as they were paying for a one-bedroom.

The Victorian has a top-notch housekeeping staff. We take the thought of having bugs in our units very seriously. When the guests reported this incident, we immediately called our professional exterminator. Upon inspection, it was determined that the dead bugs found were sand fleas. It is never pleasant to encounter bugs of any kind but, unfortunately, the presence of sand fleas is a common occurrence in Galveston since we all like to enjoy the beach. These little critters come back home with us on our towels, swimsuits, beach bags, etc.

Here at The Victorian, ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable, memorable experience is our number-one goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    92
    72
    59
    96
See reviews for
201
78
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Although yes the place can seem a little run down, as a whole it is a great experience if you are wanting a true ' by the sea' experience. The place has a very laid back feel and the staff is very nice. The condos are spacious and we didn't feel they were dirty at all, just a tad run down but personally me and my husband love that when we are staying on the coast! That's what makes it the coast ! I think for the price The Victorian is a great stay, and I cannot wait to visit again sometime!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here twice the only bad ICan honestly say WE miss the breakfast that used come with your stay ,EVen if it was a contiental breakfast it would be lovely ! WE would likt to live there some day accept for the Summer months .Between the mushroom pool the gracious and friendly front desk people as well as the housekeeping people WE love it and can.t wait to return next year who knows maybe sooner! Glen Campbell said itbest "OH GALVESTON!OH GALVESTON!"Oh victorian oh victorian"

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPEEDBUMPBICYCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We enjoyed our time at The Victorian. We had 2 condos for our wedding party, 4 adults and 6 kids. Everyone had room to sleep, eat and move around. Two wonderful pools to let the kids run off steam between activities. And we used The Elissa room for our reception. It was spacious and well appointed. We had a dance floor and plenty of room for all the tables and food. We plan to stay again any time we are on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed there in June and July of 2011, and are booked to come back in July 2012. I want to give as honest a review as possible. So here goes! The property is older, but we don't mind that. We stayed in both a two bedroom (with 5 adults) and a one bedroom (with 4 adults). Please bear in mind that it is not a 5 star resort, but it doesnt claim to be. We enjoyed ourselves immensely both times... It's all about attitude, people! The beds are comfortable, the rooms did exactly what we needed them to do, and the staff was very nice! The kitchenette was typical for that type of room and the bathrooms were a bit small, but again, worked great! We went with family the first time, and all the kids and adults had a great time. We went with a group for Riddles ( an adult event) the second time and had a blast... We had group meals on both occasions in the rooms and made it work fine!! The resort is compact and you are never far from a pool, which is a plus.
We had very reasonable rates on both trips. I would GLADLY go back to the Victorian ANYTIME without any qualms, just decide to have a good time and quit looking for things to complain about.You can do that anywhere you go- even high end hotels. We have stayed in 5-star locations in the US and Mexico, and still had so much fun here! Pools, close to shopping, restaurants.. Come on people- do you go to the beach to sit in your room and complain or get out and have fun??? It's a great value for Galveston and has all you need to have a nice trip. If you are looking for 5-star accomodations, try the San Luis, but you'd better bring extra $$$... Victorian- we will be there in just over 2 months and we CAN'T WAIT!!

Room Tip: Make sure to bring paper towels, they are not provided. Beach towels are not provided, either.. Oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LedbetterLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The wedding and the days leading up to it were made wonderful because of the hotel, hotel staff and most importantly the efforts of Karen Allen, Director of Group Sales & Catering.

My family really loved the idea of having a room (the Galley) where they could meet and have meals whenever their they wanted. Having that room from Wednesday through to Monday allowed me to greet guests whenever they arrived. And, a place for them to visit family up until they needed to leave for the airport.

The Galley works so well for organized or delightfully unorganized groups like my family. It came equipped with a large kitchen (appliances were what you'd find in a typical house), and a men's and women's room. We were able to make our family meals there and store food and drinks for the family to access when ever they wanted. The door to this room has a push button lock allowing us to have it locked, but opened without a key by my guests.

The pool was another great meeting place. Kids swam while adults visited. The pool was clean and there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas for hanging out.

The condos worked well giving my guests a nicer stay than a typical hotel room. Each condo had a bedroom, living room, efficiency kitchen and balcony with view of the gulf for when they needed a rest from the partying.

The wedding ceremony was held in the central garden. We added flowers to the fountain and rented white chairs for the guests - a beautiful setting.

The reception was held in the hotel ballroom. Spacious room with built in storage and counters where we set up our bar, cookie table and coffee bar. They supplied a dance floor, tables with linens, high end banquet chairs, and hotel staff for the entire evening just in case anything went wrong.

Nothing went wrong and my out of town guests appreciated not having to travel one place for hotel rooms, another for the ceremony and another yet for the reception.

They all took advantage of the beach right across the street and the convenience of nearby shopping.

Please feel free to use this note as a recommendation for future families holding a reunion or brides looking for a wedding venue at the Victorian Condo - Hotel.

Room Tip: The west side of the complex is always coveted by vacationers to the island because of the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofgroomHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of our property and staff. We work hard at giving groups the best experience possible, and it makes us very happy that your stay was so satisfying and your event was so successful. We hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I used to stay at the place when I was younger and came to Galveston to visit family. I just recently stayed here with my parents and my own kids. The outside has been re-painted, but the inside has remained much the same. We stayed in a two bedroom condo. The condo had a front view of the gulf and was wonderful. Despite what some reviews stated about it being dirty, our room was clean and the staff was nice. The bathrooms were small, but clean as well. There are two pools, one is heated and one is not. Unfortunately, the kids walk in pool is not heated. My kids loved that pool. They refer to it as the "mushroom"pool because of the mushroom fountain in the middle of it. It was very cold yet because it was only April, so we only used it on the very warm days. The other pool is heated and was wonderful, especially on the cooler days.
There is no direct beach access right across from the condo. You do have to cross the street and walk about a block down the sea wall to access a beach area.
Overall, we had a nice stay there. It was just like I remembered it. If you are looking for the Ritz, this would definitely not be your choice. However, for a family beach vacation; this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lepino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condominiums

Property: The Victorian Condominiums
Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2219
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Victorian Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing