We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...not impressed...esp for the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was booked because we had a large group in town for a cheer competiton and they could accommodate us. Room was old old old! Like instead of cleaning..let's just paint over the dirt....furniture is from the 70's and the common areas are run down as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Victorian Condo-Hotel - late March - and found a lovely, quiet, spacious room and used the parking/shuttle service to the port for a cruise. Staff was very attentive to my questions. Room was clean, nice decor and very comfortable bed. We especially like the heated pool as the weather was cool and crisp. Spacious balcony with view directly onto the Gulf.

For a family, it's convenient to let the kids have the separate bedroom with TV while adults relaxed in living room. With two children, the kitchen with refirigerator/microwave/stovetop helped keep our eating expenses way down.

Yes, we also had the problem with door key not working and had to return to front desk for replacement. This is NOT unusual with hotels and recently had the same problem with an upscale Marriott in Washington DC.

Overall....great place for family and/or cruise customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room that directly faces pool AND gulf. We were in building 5 with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talltantexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I "Tried to Enter Our Booked Condo" with the Pass Keys the Front Desk gave us,,, and they wouldn't Work. Went back to the Desk, and they sent someone with us to get in. Still Didn't Work. They gave us NEW pass cards, and they didn't work. After over half an hour they decided to give us a New Suite,,, I believe it's the one in these Pictures. Totally Out Dated / Prehistoric ! Not Cleaned since "I don't know When",,, MOLD in quite a few places, DUST BUNNIES, HA! These were "Dust Jack-a-lopes",,, Headboard, Shelves, Baseboards etc. were just COVERED in Filth. Had to spend the Nite in this one, then got moved back into the Suite we were supposed to check into, once they Fixed the Door Locks. Much Better in this Suite. Décor was All Right, and the Cleanliness,,, Passable. The View was a little better to the Gulf Seawall Blvd too.
The Staff at the "Front Desk" was Terrific,,, Any Time of Day or Nite. Had a few "Extended" conversations with a lot of the Girls up Front,,, Sorry to take you away from your JOBS , ladies!! ;-) But the MANAGEMENT needs to know,,, "You've Got The Right Staff" running YOUR SHIP there! What a "Bucket" full of different Accents too! It was Great!!!
After our one week stay, we couldn't stay one more night before our Sunday Cruise, so we had to Check-Out,, and find another means of Accommodations,,,, Which was much Worse,,, especially the Weekend of "National Cheerleading Competitions", Galveston was Full Up.
The Good Features of this Resort,,, Wal-Mart is right Next Door, but the back Driveway Gates of the Victorian are Locked most of the time, so Walking Back with Groceries is quite the Chore (all the Way back to Seawall Blvd.). We found out the HARD way, that you can NOT borrow a Shopping Cart from Wal-Mart, even if you were to Return it. Magnet's on the Wheels of the Cart "LOCK UP" as you approach 1 foot of the boundary of the Parking Lot.
Another Good Feature is Victorian's Gym and Out Door Hot Tub. Thoroughly Enjoyed them,,, Very Clean and Up to date Equipment.
Location, Location, Location,,, they say it's everything ! And it is, on this Spot! Right on Seawall Blvd. on the Gulf of Mexico, with miles of Paved "Track" for all ages to Use and Abuse! Beautiful scenic Sidewalk all along the Coast right into downtown Galveston, (which we used immensely).
Found out the "UTMB",,, the Galveston Hospital is a short drive from the Condo too. Had to use the Emergency Department for an Evening of Fun one night, also. Everything Good to say about that Establishment too !!
Cupboards and Kitchen Cabinets need a definite REPLACEMENT in most of the Suites we have seen at the Vic. Sea air must do some Heavy Duty Rotting to all Wood materials in Texas, hence the Wicker materials.
All in all,,, the Vic gets a 5 out of 10 rating from this Canadian Couple who have frequented many PORT city Condo's.
Will try to do better in Pre-Booking next time around.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are abundant, so pick one closest to the Seawall Blvd. or choose a Different Estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanCruisers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This might be a big disappointment if you are expecting a really nice hotel. If you are fortunate to rent from an owner that has totally updated their condo unit, you have a great time! If however, you rent from the hotel itself, it will be aged and in disrepair. It's a patchwork of maintenance...taking the short way out to fix anything. Each individual owner has their own standards. The view is amazing though! You are right on the seawall and most of the rooms face the seawall. It is close to many restaurants and even Walmart.

Room Tip: They have a children's pool and an adult pool. Ask which side they are on and choose depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Reserved a week through RCI.
To put it bluntly, the 2 bedroom unit was aged and shabby. The carpet was old and worn, the toilet plugged, the outlet in the bedroom behind the lamp sparked, when I plugged in my computer. When I first got into bed, for a minute, I thought it only had a box spring, since the bed was so hard and the springs formed ridges. The bathroom/shower was the smallest I’d ever seen. Rust and mold were observed. The furnishings appear to be from the 1970s
The staff was very helpful and when I asked for a better room, they allowed me to check out other units. After looking at 4 units, I finally found one that was minimally acceptable for a couple nights, then I checked out early and rented a hotel in Houston.for the rest of my stay.

I've stayed in many RCI resorts. Most were very nice. This resort is in a totally different category and the worst i've ever visited. I'm very disappointed in RCI and question their supposed standards.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingEngineer275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were looking for a room during the Thanksgiving week-end. The rooms were nicely priced and then I saw The Victorian Condo-Hotel. For nearly the same price, we got a larger place to stay with a nice sized living room, small kitchen, full small bath and a separate bedroom. What a deal. It is right across the street from the beach and has a great balcony view. The ROOMS were nice and we could actually spread out and enjoy ourselves. This also had a set of bunk beds and the couch let into a bed. Our only gripe was the couch needed to be replaced because when you sat down you had to have someone pull you up and the bed squeaked badly every time you moved. You will have to bring your own paper towels, salt, pepper, etc. but it is a great place to stay and I would take this type of room over a hotel room anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Section 7. Nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We rented a condo directly from the owners on vrbo.com (Vacation rentals by owner) and the rate was much cheaper--about half of what others charge. This was a very nice condo. It was totally stocked with plenty of towels, games, movies, beach chairs, comfy beds, and totally gorgeous. The view was wonderful and the location is ideal as it next door to super Wal-Mart. Our friends came at last minute and rented directly from the office, but our condo was much nicer.

Room Tip: Rent directly from owners to get better rates and nicer, more updated condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condominiums

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2219
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £97 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Victorian Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing