We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place! Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Condominiums
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was nervous to stay at the Victorian after reading so many negative reviews recently on Tripadvisor. We were having a bachelorette party weekend for my sister and we had two, two bedroom suites reserved. I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival on Friday and told them that it was a special weekend and could they please make sure that our rooms were nice. We were so pleased with the rooms that we got and were not disappointed at all. We were given two beautiful rooms with balconies facing the ocean. Our room, 8104 was beautifully decorated, extremely clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked and very modern. We were so happy with our stay that we will definitely return. The highlight of our trip was the staff. John, the maintenance man offered to help carry our bags when he noticed us struggling and he took great care of us the remainder of our trip. He was friendly and went out of his way to accommodate us when we noticed our a/c in our room was not cooling properly. He immediately fixed the problem and checked on us afterwards to make sure it was still working efficiently. It's people like John who go above and beyond to make places like this memorable. We will highly recommend this resort in the future and will return whenever in Galveston again. I would definitely recommend reaching out to the resort by e-mail if you have any questions or concerns. I did and they took great care of us and we appreciated it so much! Great place!

Room Tip: Room 8104 is beautifully decorated and has a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2snorkel0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at The Victorian over Memorial Weekend, and it was a BLAST!!!!!! We visit the Island as often as we can. We have never stayed at the Victorian, and boy have we missed out. When we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smile, check in was a breeze. We found our room, and settled in to relax from the drive. Our room was very clean, well stocked and had nice decor. Our room had a GREAT pool and gulf view!! The next day Saturday, there was a karaoke party at the pool!! We met Tammy, she was very nice, and made us feel welcome. The karaoke was a nice touch Victiorian. And the grounds are beauitful, all the flowers are blooming. I would recomend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank incognitotraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to all things going on in Galveston. Its really in the middle of things. You do have to cross a pretty busy street to get to the beach. They have 2 pools that are a good place to hang out. Small kitchens, so you can make some things to eat without going out for every meal. But, you can walk to nice places to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caredfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had 3 rooms reserved for 11 women for one night until we could move over to Moody Gardens for our convention. Upon arrival at 6p they had given one of our rooms away. We had to put 6 in one room and 5 in the other. The couch that made into a bed was nothing but wire coils covered in a thin material(no way anyone could sleep on it) we had to go to Walmart and buy pillows and blankets because they charge for extras. Rooms were old and dirty and I would not recommend this place at all. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed here with a school group and was fine. When here for a weekend with family we were put in a back room. Stinky, dirty, sticky furniture, broken bed, put my suitcase on a table so I could watch for bugs. We were told there were no other rooms to move into even though I was on their website at that time and it indicated that there were rooms available. The kitchen utensils were rusted, but I had no intention of using them. Did not ever feel clean when in that room. Not even when in the shower. I have spoken to other people who said they were also put in the back rooms and had the same filthy stinky rooms. The people at the front desk had no interest in any complaints. We did, however, have a nice view of the Walmart parking lot.

Room Tip: When booking, make sure to refuse a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandyharrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Victorian Experience was fine. There was nothing particularly special about the resort or the grounds, but the rooms were comfortable and the time we spent in our room was just to shower and sleep. The bed was comfortable and the showers were hot. The walls are very thin, however, so you may hear noises from all your neighbors and vice versa.
The view we had was nice, but if you're unlucky you'll be facing the Wal-Mart which is not as sexy as the beach. The pool was nice and is very kid-friendly. There is also a restaurant onsite, but we did not dine there. The staff was averagely friendly, nothing extraordinary. Overall this is an average hotel but very conveniently located on the Seawall next to some great restaurants and right across from the beach, which is a huge plus. We'd stay here again but not exclusively.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, otherwise you'll be looking at a parking lot, old homes (and not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Doors and windows in the $245 a night condo where rusted shut. The elevator sounded for 3 days as if it were on it's last leg, and then it went out completely. The room was out dated and the air conditioner was impossible to regulate , as it did not even have a cover plate on it. Do not bother telling the front desk about any problem, they will actually argue with you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadrenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#26 of 51 in Galveston
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condominiums

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2219
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £132 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victorian Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing