We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wear white socks here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't wear white socks here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

I booked this hotel because of the space it afforded us on the one night prior to our cruise out of Galveston & most other places required a two night stay. The room was adequate, but far from what I felt it should have been for the money paid. The floors were filthy, the wallpaper was peeling, the bathroom had mildew & mold around the tub, there were only 2 towels (not sets of towels, just 2 towels) for the 5 of us staying there. When I called to ask for more, I was aked if we would turn in our used ones first! I laughed & explained that there were 5 of us in the room. Towels were then delivered promptly & we received 3 sets of towels this time. The view was nice, but overall - I wouldn't stay here for more than one night.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cascole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    90
    71
    58
    96
See reviews for
199
77
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

I travel all over TX and I stay in 5 star hotels and 0 star dives so I have a common person’s opinions:

The view was great! The way the hotel/condos are built almost everybody has a great view.

The rooms were clean and had a good floor plan, very userfriendly. Just had a bit of wear and tear (worn floors and furnitue, iIf they replaced some of the furniture it would make a world of difference).

The kitchen had allot of dishes and accessories and even wine glasses (sat on the balcony and watched the waves)

The flat panel TV in the bedroom is a very smart addition cause of limited space and makes a difference.

Parking can be a pain but the have a lot that is easier to navigate in the back.

Arcade is old but fun if you like retro.

Breakfast is over a 9:30am so if you aren't an early riser you will miss out

Extra Towels did not cost extra (via someone else’s review)

I would stay at this hotel again, but I probably won't choose to hang in Galveston again. The town is hard to navigate to see all the sites. In order to get to the beach from most hotels, you would have to cross a very busy road and pack all your stuff unless you are lucky enough to be down the island on one of the on-the-beach places. The seawall is a savior to the town but makes parking and getting to the beach a pain. The beach is shallow so you can wade out a long way but the water looks brown even though it is not icky. There is lots to do in the town but lots is pricey. If you have plenty of $ it is fun. If you wanna spend time at the beach it’s self I would suggest one of the TX's other beaches... one of the Padre's, Mustang Island or so. Also if you are a drinker the beaches where you can drink are limited (so good for families, bad for partiers)

An essential tool is a downloadable map that is WONDERful (you will have to blow it up and print on multiple pages) but it was FABUlous to have. I got the link off the Galveston CVB website: [--]

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2006

I have to definitly say that we would go back here!!! We went with our 3 yr old Special needs son and when we first got there we realized the locks on the doors we could open it from the inside but not from the outside. Well My son loves to escape so they had to come and install one of those flip locks and from the time we called them until the time they came and fixed it was a total of 30 mins. They were very persistant on our request and I was very appreciative of that!! I loved the room they had flat screen television in the bedroom and the room actually had a lot of room.

I was hesistant to stay here because of all the reviews but Im really glad we chose to stay here. The Kiddie pool was great for us since we have a 20 month old and 3 yr old. I cant say how much I really enjoyed staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MamaHedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2006

This property is the epitome of why timeshare properties have a bait-and-switch reputation. The full color showroom catalog depicting this property will certainly reveal a shiny new property with every feature a guest could want. Arriving proves the photo shoot was made when the property was constructed, and minimal maintenance has been applied to keep it operational for one, two or more decades. The room was acceptable insdie, but the buildings, grounds, and facilities were barely maintained. The balcony furniture suffered from years of exposure to salt water spray, and the outside walls had accumulated a thick layer of black dirt. Arriving at the assigned room yielded elevators that were dirty, rusted out stairwells, and walkways painted with non-skid paint that had worn to the cement where people have walked. Across every room entrance is a burglar-bar door, although the crime these circumvent is not likely given the activity at the place. Their purpose is questionable, and their presence leaves the guest with an uneasy feeling why they are there. Free hot breakfast translated to waiting in line behind 15-20 people who are served warm greasy potatoes labeled has browns, scrambled eggs prepared hours ago and kept warm, and sausage and bacon baked in the oven to assure safety, but yielding little in the texture, appearance, or taste arena. The banquet facilities were adequate, but also had an appearance of many years use with only the bare required maintenance. Vermin dripped down the wall beneath the refuse chute door. The site advertises rooms sleeping six which is a gross exaggeration and only true if four of the six are children and don't require much comfort or bedding quality to be satisfied. The bedroom itself was microscopic to a point that a flat-screen TV on the wall truly was in the way of moving about the room. Bathrooms were clean, but the dropped ceiling in order to accomodate the climate control system left one feeling as if they were showering in a travel trailer bath. No room for one to dress while the other bathes can be expected. For the asking rate, it takes very little effort to find a room with a whole lot more to give. I would never revisit this place, and cannot recommend it to anyone with the rare exception of a large family on an extremely tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arnold_Ziffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

My wife and I stay here on a Sunday and Monday and had a nice stay. The location is excellent, short walk to the beach and walking distance to Rainforest Cafe, Landry's, Golden Corral, Sonic and McDonalds. Nice views of the gulf from every room. Two very nice heated pools, I can see how the Victorian would be very popular with families with kids during the peak season. Room was clean, furniture and carpet was a little worn. There was a tennis court but the fitness center was very limited. Breakfast buffet consisted on muffins, cereal, waffles, fruit and juices. Front desk was very helpful and refered us to some nice restaurants and provided coupons. I would highly recommend the Victorian, its a bargain during the off season.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tex4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2005

We were so excited to have our daughter, son-in-law, and 4 grandkids (15, 12, 6 & 3) join us on vacation. The rate we were quoted was wonderful, especially for a 2 bedroom plus bunks & queen sleeper so that we could all fit in one place. What a surprise to find filthy floors, strangely-arranged bathrooms, dingy, nasty looking furniture, windows that hadn't ever been introduced to Windex, and towel service for only 4 people! The air conditioner had to be recharged on our arrival, we had to get bedding for the sleeper, extra towels, etc. The most accomodating people we met were those involved with housekeeping & laundry. We wanted to wash our clothes, but needed detergent. The dispensers were inoperative, but the laundry personnel gave us a box to use. The pools were nice, although the hot tubs were over-chlorinated to the point that the fumes burned your eyes...Why? Overall, we were not very impressed, even for the $$, particularly since we had just come from a Residence Inn in San Antonio that offered us so much more for only $30 more a night...more room, better accomodations, better food choices, free cocktails in the evening, and much more secure-feeling rooms. The Victorian is operated more as an investment property than a hotel, and we'll never stay there again, regardless of price.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank momomtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian the weekend of 9/7/05. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. The place had a geat view of the gulf. All rooms offer such view. The way the bedroom was angled, we could also see the gulf whlie lying in bed. Both pools looked really nice. Great location. Walmart was in walking distance (right next door). Golden Corral restuarant is also within walking distance. The place was just "surface" clean. I noticed a build up of dirt around the basebaords and along the floors. The bathroom vent was full of dust. The place was ok but could be better with just a little more attention given to the cleaning, especially the balcony area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.0 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#37 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2219 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing