We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding pimiento cheese”
Review of Main Street Cafe

Main Street Cafe
Ranked #21 of 336 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding pimiento cheese”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The pimiento cheese sandwich, which is served warm on wheat bread, is the best menu item in this restaurant, which features many delectable choices. My spouse had the spinach salad, which he thought was superbly tasty. Amounts are more than ample.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elmiragegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Inconsistent but average food. Bad service. Will not go back.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a party of 5 and decided to go to Main Street Cafe. 3 people ordered the salad trio. The chicken and tuna salad were so dry my friend could not finish them. The strawberry salad was good. i ordered the grilled pimento cheese. This time it had way too many jalapeños and hardly any pecans. Other times I ordered it and it was good, well balanced. The pork chops my husband ordered were good. We had an order to go that took 45 minutes to make because someone had put the order in the wrong place. There was no apology for the wait so my husband will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dctalktexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Food is really good at Main Street Cafe. You'll find things that you might not expect in Garland such as truffle oil fries and home made deserts. The pecan cobbler desert is a MUST TRY!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmK9447PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nicest Lunch in D/T Garland”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have found the Prices to be reasonable and the Food Quantity & Quality to be very good. Their staff does NOT seem to understand any special requests about the Food but it is still pretty good. What I really like is the Cloth Table Cloths and Napkins in an area of town usually known for Greasy Spoon places!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good homecooking!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had lunch at the Main Street Cafe today. We were so tired of eating at the "major chains, wanted to try something new, and were looking for some homecooking/comfort food. Just by good luck we came across this cafe and we were not disappointed. It's a quiet place with a friendly atmosphere and great service. We tried the traditional homecooking fare with order of the chicken fried steak and chicken fried chicken and were not disappointed. There are more of their commonly ordered items but also offer salads, what sound to be delicious burgers and unusual items too like a grill pimento cheese sandwich (which I'm sure I will try soon). If you enjoy french fries, be sure to treat yourself to their fries cooked in white truffle oil......delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing