We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Saucer

Flying Saucer
Ranked #8 of 336 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Otherwise known as Saucer on the Lake or Flying Saucer Draft Emporium. Huge selection of beer on large patio by the lake. Typical pub fare (why don't you have pub as a cuisine?!)
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The view was great on the patio. Came here on a Saturday early evening and even though it was crowded found a table facing the water easily. The service was quick and the pretzels were amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DizzieDee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Tx
Level Contributor
150 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We like the flying sucer for pub style food. We are not beer drinkers, but the place is worth going to just for the food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for beer lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have been to several Flying Saucer locations, but this one tops them with its location on the lake. If the weather allows, then sit out on the patio and enjoy the wonderful views of the lake. Even if you are stuck inside, there is a large bank of windows that allows the same wonderful views. As with every Flying Saucer, the beer selection is expansive with a large number of beers on tap. The food is not the main draw, but I have had success with my orders with the food ranging from average to very good. Another treat....not listed on the menu is their popcorn, but if you ask, they will bring you a bowl of dill popcorn...sounds odd, but it is good. I have always experienced good service and friendly wait staff. Unlike some of the other Saucer locations, this one has a large convenient parking lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaufman, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Lake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great Food! Outstanding service - Danielle was the best waitress we have ever had. This is the best location on the Lake. They have indoor tables and an outdoor patio that overlook the lake. We reserved the patio for our Daughters college graduation party and it was awesome You can't go wrong with the Saucer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's a beer joint with food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the different saucers for years. This one had a spectacular view especially in the spring and summer times. Huge selection of beer. Food is not too bad. Order the pork belly sandwich. It's great. Supposed to be served hot, usually Luke warm, but it's still delicious. If you don't think it's too snobby....order a cheese plate. They have some awesome cheeses and meats to choose from. I'll be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txchef320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flying Saucer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing