We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great! Great! Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desperados - Dos

Desperados - Dos
Ranked #5 of 332 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great! Great! Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Great food! Great drinks! Excellent service! I will be back for sure! Food is of the best quality! Taste fresh and well plated! Drinks are strong and not too expensive. Queso is to die for! Pumpkin Cheese Cake will make you slap your mother. Great experience!

Helpful?
Thank joelwilson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I frequent this place at least once a week....it's EXCELLENT!

My favorite dish, if I HAD to choose would be the Desperado Tacos! The fajitas are super good as well.

Wednesdays are the best, with $2 margaritas!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have frequented this restaurant for about 12 years and I need to let other people know what a gem this place is. I have been to many Mexican restaurants and this one has the most unique and authentic Mexican flavor anywhere. From the delicious salsa (medium spicy with a cilantro flavor) to the Sopapillas for dessert - it is a treat every time. The service has been outstanding for many years and the resaturant is family owned and been in the Dallas area for over 30 years. The restaurant features a full bar and serves award winning Margaritas. If you want the best fajitas or guacomole that you've ever eaten, you need to go to Desperados. The food is of the best quality and if you are a Mexcian food freak like I am - you'll love this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Everything was Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a great mexican food place with exceptional drinks. The food was exactly what you want from a good tex-mex place. Great appetizers and entrees. The wait staff was very attentive, even to our large party. They seemed to encourage lingering, instead of the push to fill tables. Very refreshing! I will visit again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Desperados tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Love their tacos made with steak and fried in a flour tortilla with cheese and pico. Their lettuce and tomato that comes with it has a tangy dressing that is great to finish the tacos.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Desperados - Dos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing