We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the expense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Georgetown
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Georgetown
1 review
“Not worth the expense”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrived at Candlewood Suites and anticipated a suitable hotel (having stayed at other locations). Immediately after walking in the entry, a section of the outside entry came crashing down...right where we'd momentarily stood.

The rooms were clean, but their was a security light glaring directly into our room-making sleep impossible. Spent $134 for the worst hotel experience ever. Corporate office was nice about it, but didn't refund our money. I'll NEVER recommend that chain again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpearce544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Ms. Pearce,

Please accept our apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. We take the feedback of our guests seriously.

I inspected your room upon check out. I did note that the blackout drapes were operational they provide sufficient black out of all light. I am unclear as to whether or not you used them?

We did have a malfunction on our canopy due to recent storms. We are very fortunate that no one was hurt! We are working to get this fixed immediately.
If you're able, please contact me directly so we can further discuss your stay and perhaps win you back by proving we are 100% committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. Take care.

Sincerely,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
512-591-7888 ext 509
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
19
12
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I purchased a hotel night as a gift for family for Christmas. A night away from kids is always nice, I went to the hotel to make the actual reservation for them. Jimelia ( I hope I'm spelling that right) greeted me at the front desk. She was AMAZING!! So very helpful! What I was looking for was not available, and she more than accommodated, not just by helping with the room but also with her kind, funny self. Thank you again Jimelia!

*family LOVED the room- It was very clean, beds were comfortable and the overall feel of the room was very nice. They will stay again, and its a hotel I will recommend to other family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baejrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important to us. I'm happy to hear the stay was a pleasant one. I will share this posting with the team member you mentioned. It was our pleasure having you and please come back soon! Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
512-591-7888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice clean big rooms,, noisy beds, LOL,, free parking,, no breakfast. big frig, stove sink, coffee pot,,, really nice always stay hear on business,, no restaurants in walking distance but plenty within couple of miles

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the review. Im pleased to see you are a return family member posting great feedback. Our home is your home! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General manager
512-591-7888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I just want you to know that I hate, absolutely hate staying at hotels. I avoid them at all costs, but since I recently left my husband because he cheated on me with his less than wholesome intern at the hospital, I had no choice. I am not the type of women that needs a man so bad that I will forgive a cheater. I had to get out as soon as I knew and there was no turning back. I immediately sought starting looking online for a hotel to stay since I do not have family in the area. I figured I would stay somewhere close to work until I found an apartment. I chose to stay at Candlewood for the value. To my surprise, I enjoyed every minute of this stay other than the constant reminder that I was alone and leaving my husband. When I entered I was greeted by Ms. Shelby who genuinely smiled at me. She told me that if I needed anything to just call her. For some reason I broke down and give her my story. Not the full story but that I was hurting. I know she didn't care, but she listened like I was her best friend. I headed up to my room. It wasn't fancy but it was very clean and tidy. It smelled clean as well. I did the check where I put on my white socks and walk across the carpet to see how nasty it would be and to my surprise my socks were still white! I was very pleased with the room overall. I went down stairs after a while to get a drink, had a nice quick conversation with that very tall front desk man and then hurried back to my room. It was quiet so I could work on some emails for work. About 5 minutes later I got a call from the front desk asking me to come down and get my wallet that I left behind! I did not even know I left it. Thank god that friendly, honest man was working. He wasn't just great with me, but with all his guests. Thank you so much Candlewood for making my hard time a little more bearable. I will
always suggest this hotel to any one who asks where a good place to stay would be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batmannchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
First of all thank you for the time you took in writing such a lengthly review. I am very happy to see we could be of service to you in your time of need. I am sorry about the circumstances that brought you to our hotel, but thank you for choosing us at the same time. I will share this review with all of our team members and as well give a special thanks to the team members you mentioned in your review. I hope when we see you again it will be under better circumstances. Thank you again and take care.

Warmest Regards,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Story City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Like the review title states, I'm rarely ever surprised. I thought I would give them a try. Breakfast and a pool are not important to me. I travel a lot and price is what's important to my pocket book. I called the hotel and got a very low rate for my 11 day stay. I'm thinking okay here we go, I've never stayed at a Candlewood Suites before and I was nervous that I was going to get what I paid for. In the Words of Gomer Pile...Surprise Surprise...They rooms are very very clean and well appointed. Check in was a warm welcome. Most hotels smile, take your info, and hand you your keys. That was not my experience. Free laundry room, free long distance, free wifi, hbo, a cool little store on site for my midnight munchies, and pet friendly. This is good to know because I'll be back in the area again off and on for the next few months, and I can bring EMMETT. I really wish someone would have mentioned pets are accepted during my reservation. They would probably get tons of business if people knew that. Its a newer hotel in the area and very well maintained. I don't like to eat out much and the set up has everything I need to cook at home. I have been to two other hotels in this same area and third time is the charm. I'd tell you which ones in town to avoid but I don't roll like that. Give this one a try and maybe you to will be surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. By all means do come back and bring Emmet. We enjoy meeting the little travel companions, we realize having great accommodations for all members of your family are important you and we try to deliver a good experience for everyone in your party. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for the great review.

Warmest regards,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
512-591-7888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was ok as far as hotels go, but if you decide to book online make sure you will still be able to make your trip and there is no possible way things can go awry. We were in Texas for job interview and had booked for May 30th through the 31st and then from June 3 to the 4th. When we arrived on the 30th we were given a smoking room (neither my husband or I smoke) and two full size beds (last time I checked this was not the 1950's; most married couples sleep in the same bed) When I brought this to the person working at the front desk's attention we were able to switch rooms, and I assumed it was an honest mistake made by the hotel and thought nothing more of it. The next morning I had to go to the hotel lobby and wait for a friend to pick me up, there was a different person at the front desk and he informed me that he personally took my reservation and I put in a note when I booked online for a smoking room with two full size beds. Huh? I told him I didn't but he kept trying to argue the point, which was a little uncomfortable and just weird. Anyways we ended not being able to make it back to Georgetown to stay again on the 3rd. The hotel was extremely unreasonable about giving us a refund and stated it was there policy. I have stayed at other hotels with the same policy and have found there is always wiggle room, but there is no talking to these people. I will never stay at another IHG hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbee40971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for the time you spent in writing this review. All reviews are taken seriously by the management team. We appreciate your feedback. I did see that your room was booked online. Unfortunately for whatever reason the room type selected was smoking. I am happy to hear however that we were able to move you to a non-smoking room, even though we were not able to give you your preferred room type do to prior reservations made by other guest. I'm very sorry you are unhappy with our Advance purchase policy. I would like to speak to you further if you are available, and by some chance, are able to retain your future business and bring you back to IHG BRAND. It is my hope that we can reach a satisfactory compromise. Guest satisfaction and loyalty are very important to us. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
email: candlewoodgtgm@yahoo.com
phone 512-591-7888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here while researching retirement communities. Hotel was adjacent to I -35 South making it easy to visit Austin (30 min). Front desk staff were very accommodating and asked several times if the room was satisfactory. The room was on the third floor but an elevator was available. The lobby was comfortably outfitted with a flat screen and couches. A small snack shop was nearby along with a gym and (free) laundry. The only downside was the pool and jacuzzi are in a separate, detached building, requiring room key access. Not sure I would want to go without a companion after dark. The only individuals I saw in the parking lot were smokers. Ladies there are outlets nearby and both sides of I-35 have restaurants that please every palette. The room was a nice size with a queen bed, flat screen, table, dishwasher, 2-burner range top, microwave, coffeemaker, full-size fridge, utensils and plates. Everything was clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veloris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTGeneralManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I thank you for the time you took to write this post. We pride ourselves on catering to all guest. its extremely encouraging to see such good reviews. We sincerely hope to see you again on your next trip whether its on business or pleasure! I will pass this review on to the rest of the team. Thank you again for your stay. We'll see you soon!

Charlotte Beauchamp
General Manager
512-592-7888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Georgetown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Georgetown / Austin North
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Georgetown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Georgetown Texas Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 10 in Georgetown
113 reviews
8.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin Round Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Georgetown

Property: Candlewood Suites Georgetown
Address: 451 N Interstate 35, Georgetown, TX 78628-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Georgetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the all new Candlewood Suites Georgetown. Georgetown's ONLY extended stay hotel! You will enjoy our richly appointed, comfortable suites. Let our friendly staff welcome you to your home away from home. We are an all suites hotel, with full kitchenettes, including a full-size refrigerator with ice-maker, a full-size dishwasher, a full-size microwave, a 2 burner ceramic/glass cook top. You will love having the convenience of an onsite, complimentary guest laundry. Experience affordable luxury and come home to Candlewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Georgetown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing