We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foothills Safari Camp at Fossil Rim
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My family's visit to Fossil Rim Safari Camp was the highlight of our vacation. We were traveling with two teens - 16 and 13, and this was a surprise activity for everyone but me. Driving to the camp is an adventure in itself. Once inside the gate, we were all amazed. Not only were there grazing antelope, but wild roadrunners, whitetail deer, and jackrabbits (which were almost as interesting as the transplants). Because there were four of us, I booked two "tents". These are on poured concrete pads, small but very clean and comfortable. The tents have air conditioning, and full baths. The tent camp (made up of 7 tents and the pavilion) resides on two fenced acres within a large paddock. The kids kept themselves busy watching the animals and the stars. Hint: bring flashlights and a camera! There is minimal ambient light (a couple of security lights mounted in the tree, but that only lights part of the area) and we found walking at night very enjoyable but it would have been challenging without a flashlight. Try to see the hummingbirds in the morning. Every employee we met was wonderful and seemed genuinely happy to see you. Very good breakfast. Take the morning tour. It's only open to people staying in the camp or lodge. My husband (who is not a big animal person) was fascinated. We are ready for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OKelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is one of the best weekend I have ever spent. We stayed at the Safari camp and was amazed at how great the accomodations were. It was 106 degrees that day but inside the tent was a nice 75 degrees. The camp was very clean and well kept. The pavillion was stocked with everything that you might need. Breakfast in the morning was great.
I also took the photography tour and all I kept saying was WOW!! WOW !!! WOW !!!!!
I can not recommend this place highly enough. Alll I can say is go and enjoy this for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronweasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

What do you get for $125? A unique, memorable, and pleasurable stay. The service was excellent and the specially prepared food was good. We got lost on the way because I did not bring a map and tried to rely on my GPS. Thankfully Brandy (the chef) was on the phone saving us before we could panic.The tents have two comfy twin beds, storage, shower, toilet, AC/Heat, windows, exhaust, a/c sockets, picnic table and relaxing chairs outside, and yes, there are cute animals roaming the vicinity too. There is a nice pavillion (with free wi-fi) where meals are served and is open for self-serve drinks all the time using the honor-system. The place was immaculate and in my opinion, stylish. We met a family who has stayed here every year for the last four years, and a couple on their 3rd trip this year. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinoypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I chose this for a special anniversary get-away. My husband had not been there but we are both animal (critter) lovers. Sitting in front of our "tent" watching the animals come to the water hole was so enjoyable and peaceful. A perfect photo setup. The back side tour is a must. Billie, our docent, was so knowledgeable and gave us so much time to watch and ask questions. The food was out of this world. That was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. The dinner prices are not out of line for the food and service. Breakfast is so filling and leaves you to full for snacks! Patti made sure we had all the comforts available.
The animals are all healthy and well cared for. I feel they are a might spoiled too. Even though they are not touchable, they are all content. They are well protected and they are the first priority.This is such a good place to educate young people about wild life and concern for natures well being. Thanks to all for a memorable time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OklahomaBatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We loved our visit to the Fossil Rim Safari Camp. There are 7 tents within the camp which sleep 2 people per tent. You have a bathroom, A/C & heat in the tent. The tents are situated near a Safari Lodge where the staff will cook breakfast and dinner. We had such a fun time. It's a unique place to stay. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, it's the wrong place to stay, but if you are looking for a unique and fun adventure, it's awesome!

Bring along some games and snacks. There's no entertainment at night, so bring some activities. It is a good family experience and a romantic place (other than the fact there are only twin beds!).

There is a sitting area that overlooks the watering hole. We booked a behind the scenes tour where we rode along with one of the wildlife biologists to feed the animals. I was able to feed the giraffes by hand!

I highly recommend Fossil Rim!

  • Liked — Unique. You really stay in a tent with canvas walls, yet you have a batroom and a/c.
  • Disliked — Only twin beds.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snail107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We enjoyed our weekend at the Fossil Rim Safari Camp in Glen Rose, Texas. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway which includes animal interaction & education, this is the place for you. **Highly recommended for children who want to learn about animals in the wild**

Safari Camp: The camp includes a handful of "tents" which have concrete slab floors, A/C (works great), & private bath with hot water heater. There are no refrigerators or cooking appliances in the room. The accomodations include 2 twin beds plus an extra folding foam mattress. The tent had basically everything we needed.
**Our only complaint was a very strong mothball smell that gave me a headache while we were in the tent for long periods of time. I'm not sure if all the tents are like this, but if you are sensitive to smells, I would caution you against staying in this tent**

Glass Pavillion (Dinner/Breakfast): This pavillion is located within the safari camp, just a short walk over from the tents. Dinner is served at a set time and is assigned seating on Friday & Saturday night. They offer a few meal choices for adults and kids that are selected when you make the reservation. They also offer a vegetarian dish for guests. Alcohol (beer/wine), sodas and coffee is served in the pavillion during dinner and can be purchased by the honor system after hours. Breakfast is served at 7:30 a.m. on the weekends and is very hearty. It includes french toast, scrambled eggs, potatoes, biscuits, fruit, juice, coffee and milk, which are served buffet style.
**No complaints here. The food was very good and the service was great**

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center: It's wise to go first thing in the morning when the animals are most active. And, if you can go when the park is less crowded, that is much better! If you purchase the Behind-the-Scenes Tour, your open-air van will leave at 8:30 a.m. sharp from the Safari Camp. There are some benefits to this tour. You can hear some interesting facts about the animals who live at the center. Plus, you don't have to drive your car and use your gas to drive through the 2-3 hour journey. However, there are only a few shortcuts that the van takes and many times we were stuck behind bumper to bumper traffic on the main road through the center. Also, if you want to stay and interact longer with the animals, you may not be able to do this while on the guided tour due to time constraints. We really enjoyed feeding the deer, emu, and giraffe. It was nice to see the animal areas are open and free much like their natural habitat and quite different than a crowded zoo! **We loved interacting with the animals - this was the highlight of the trip**

Overall our experience was positive at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center. We feel the animal caretakers really care about the animals and their well-being. The animals we viewed & interacted with all seemed healthy and happy in their sanctuaries. Although the accomodations could have been better (did not like the mothball smell at all), it was well worth it to be a part of nature. Please support this center so they can continue helping endangered species.

  • Liked — Nature & Animals
  • Disliked — Mothball Smell in Tent
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NatureCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
18.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Safari Camp at Fossil Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Safari Camp at Fossil Rim

Property: Foothills Safari Camp at Fossil Rim
Address: 3022 County Road 2010, RR 1 Box 210, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fossil Rim's Foothills Safari Camp consists of “tents” that are made to look like safari tents in Africa. The Camp is a two acre fenced enclosure overlooking one of Fossil Rim’s most popular wildlife watering holes where a variety of animals can be viewed.Each Tent Cabin is custom designed and fitted with two twin beds, fresh linens, a private bath, ceiling fans and central heat and air. A scenic wildlife drive and a hot breakfast is included in your stay.You can relax on your own small patio, stroll over to the guest pavilion or gather at the observation deck and trade the day’s stories with your fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fossil Rim Safari Camp Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing