We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family (Fossil Rim)”

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is where Africa comes to Texas. Our 1,800-acre preserve holds a 9.5 mile scenic drive where you can interact with over 1,100 rare and endangered animals roaming free in their herds. Stay in your car, reserve your spot on a guided tour, or even spend a night at our Safari Camp or Lodge to see over 50 different species of wild animals including cheetahs, wolves, giraffes, rhinos and more. The delicious food at The Overlook Cafe is paired with an incredible view overlooking the park and our gift shop offers souvenirs to take home to family and friends. While Fossil Rim is sure to provide a unique experience and exciting adventure, we are dedicated to the conservation of species on the brink of extinction. Fossil Rim conducts scientific research, trains professionals, responsibly manages our natural resources and is committed to public education. We are a not-for-profit breeding center dedicated to the recovery of species in the wild and we invite you to join us in our efforts. Grab your camera and head this way for the scenic wildlife drive you won't forget. Located in Glen Rose, Texas, we are just 52 miles SW of Fort Worth and well worth a visit for people of all ages!
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I have taken my family to Fossil Rim several times. Each time, they have expressed a desire to return.
It is so neat when the animals come up to car. One of them actually ate the animal food right out of my sons hand.
The petting zoo is real nice along with the restaurant.
I plan on taking my family there again this summer.

Thank Jhand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience! Thanks so much for sharing, we appreciate that! Sometime you will have to try out our lodging. It's a great time as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for Fossil Rim Wildlife Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 605 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

A fun time and nice scenic drive through the animal park. The animals are all accustomed to being fed (buy food at front entrance bldg) and are more than willing to stick their necks in as far as you will let them. After an initial squeal, my child was delighted the rest of the time. A good hour or so.

Thank Tejastravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We are so glad you had a great time! We have yet to find a little one who doesn't enjoy the animals. Thanks for visiting and be sure to come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a really fun place highly recomend it. Make sure you buy a bag of food for even better experience.

Thank johnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We are so glad you had a great time! Please come again and be sure to invite your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! The up-close animal interactions will give you rich memories that you will be talking about for years to come. This adventure is for all ages.

Thank GenThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We took our two daughters (6 years and 19 months) to Fossil Rim over the weekend. It was such a treat for everyone! The place is enormous--plan on spending a few hours here. It took us 4 hours. Keep in mind, about halfway up, there's a petting zoo, gift shop, short hiking trail and restrooms. We spent quite a while there so that attributed to our 4 hour drive. My only complaint was the prices we paid and the prices posted on line were different. Being able to feed giraffes (and dozens of other animals) as they peek into your car made the price difference worth it!

Overall, this was a great visit. We'll be back!

Tip: Eat at "The Green Pickle" while you're in Glen Rose!

Thank DeeMc1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fossil Rim Wildlife Center also viewed

 

Been to Fossil Rim Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing