We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Get-Away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the River
Ranked #1 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Enjoyable Get-Away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We made the trip for our 14th anniversary and we really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. We enjoyed the breakfast and the beautiful views and well-kept grounds. It was a true get-away without a TV in our room so me and my husband talked, napped and relaxed. The beds were so comfortable. It is so close to Squaw Valley Golf Course which we also enjoyed during our trip. Glen Rose is a beautiful little town - we will definitely be back for another get away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
69
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Inn on the River was an absolutely lovely place to stay for our wedding weekend. Pros for this location: Delicious in-house food (be sure to make it for their complimentary breakfast if you're a guest), extremely friendly staff, close proximity to the downtown square, and a gorgeous view of the river behind the building. I would definitely recommend spending a weekend here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is lovely and just a short walk to the historic downtown. We came to Glen Rose for a wedding and stayed at the Inn with family members from across the nation.
RX for stress: Leave your Ipad, phone, even the book or magazine you're reading in your room. Walk to the back of the property. Sit on a wooden glider on the river bank under live oak trees. Listen to the birds. Watch the water flow by. The river is shallow and very clear; do some wading.
When you're thoroughly relaxed, stroll in to town.
Everyone on staff at the Inn was helpful, friendly and seemed to be genuinely enjoying themselves.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of the most charming Bed and Breakfast Hotels I have personally experienced. The Staff is courteous and available. They were also able to easily accommodate a gluten free diet with seamless success. The grounds were immaculate and the Paluxy River runs at the lower boundary of the property. We took a nature trek at midnight and made a video of the frogs singing on the river....actually a great highlight of the trip. This hotel was an old assylum which has equal floor plans on first and second floors. Only two have king size beds and the rooms are fairly small but very comfortable. There are many reasons to go to this area of Texas...The dinosaur tracks are only one reason and worth the trip.

Room Tip: Choose based on bed size requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I wanted to share our experiences (notice plural) with Inn on the River. We have been there 4 times and every single time we have stayed at the Inn, we have been absolutely thrilled with our stay. The staff is always friendly and ready to help as well as the food has never let us down. Many places are inconsistent with their food, but not the Inn on the River! Absolutely WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PROBE61196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Inn on the River is an amazing place to stay !! Pictures on their website is exactly how it is
in person. Each room has a unique 'theme' or ambiance, and have wonderful view of the property or surrounding property. Walking distance to the historic square, food was wonderful,
and service from the staff was spectacular. If you need a place to renew your spirit, this is the place to be. Will clearly return, and absolutely recommend !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked the "girls' night" package at Inn on the River for a little R&R for two mommy-to-be friends before the arrivals of their little bundles of joy. Our experience was flawless from beginning to the end of our short 1 night stay. We informed the innkeepers of the pregnant ladies' situations, and they were great to accommodate their room with non-alcoholic sparkling wine (though technically their cheese plate still had soft cheeses) upon our arrival. Our 3 (actually 4 including salad) course dinner was divine. I didn't expect much from the food at the inn considering experiences with B&B's in the past, but the detail in each course was stunning. From the grilled pineapple slices and the candied pecans in the salad to the fresh berries on the creme brulee, the Inn left no detail amiss. The breakfast the next day was also tasty and more than sufficient between fresh fruit, a muffin, a breakfast burrito, bacon, and potatoes.

After dinner, the innkeeper saw that we were interested in playing a boardgame, and kindly set up a table for us in the front room. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. My only complaint is that the (queen) rooms are a little small, at least for 2 adults with luggage, we had to work around our suitcases. Also the bathroom lacked counter/storage space due to the pedestal sink. There was also no towel rack, so manuvering around the bathroom was a little difficult.

The back porch of the inn offers a serene view of the Paluxy River. All in all this was just the quaint getaway that us girls were looking for. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
0.6 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the River

Property: Inn on the River
Address: 205 SW Barnard St, P.O. Box 1417, Glen Rose, TX 76043-4814
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, which is designated a Texas Historical Landmark, is elegantly furnished to provide the ultimate in comfort. No two rooms are alike, but each is tastefully decorated with an antique armoire, fine linens, a feather bed and a goose-down comforter. All rooms have a private bath. The price of the room includes a full breakfast in our dining room overlooking the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing