We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”
Review of Inn on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the River
Ranked #1 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This B&B is truly a gem! It is very well decorated, clean, and the bed was wonderful. It was also fun to look at the open rooms where the guests hadn't checked in yet. Everything is so cozy! The grounds are beautiful, with plenty of options for outdoor seating. The best thing about our stay might have been the breakfast! Lovely table settings, and amazing food. It is a full breakfast - ours was fresh fruit, muffins, cheese covered breakfast taco, potatoes, bacon, orange juice, and coffee or tea. Delicious! I can't think of anything negative about our stay. I recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTaylor073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
69
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Read the fine print when you book a conference at the Inn! We had a conference last weekend and only 12 rooms of our 15 room block was filled. I've never heard of a hotel not guaranteeing a rate and then releasing extra rooms on a given date. We paid the advance deposit equivalent to one night at the conference rate and were surprised to be charged the additional cost for 2 nights at the regular rate when we checked in ($83.54 more than we expected). We were not offered a less expensive room and found it hard to enjoy the beautiful surroundings since we were not notified. So sad since it was our first visit to this part of Texas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This Inn is so feminine- nice comfy beds, cute wallpaper, lamps, bedspreads, armoires- everything very antique looking yet so very comfortable and relaxing! Quaint town, town square just a few yards away! Staff are so friendly and accomodating! Breakfast was so enjoyable-with a view of old oak trees, fountain, green lawn, inviting adirondack chairs! Also enjoyed lunch at the Storiebook Cafe! Great place for a totally get away from the hustle and bustle of life!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangsally314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband is terminally ill and one day he woke up stating that he wanted to "see those dinosaur tracks!" We attempted to go one weekend, but it had rained and the park ranger told us the tracks weren't visible. We decided to drive around Glen Rose, since we'd just driven there for the day. On our drive, we saw The Inn on the River and thought, "What a great place that would be to stay!" When we arrived back home to Houston, I decided to research places to stay for our next attempt to see those tracks.

When I took the virtual tour of The Inn on the River, I knew we had to stay there. I knew we had to sit in those white chairs facing the river, shaded by the beautiful ancient oak trees. I called the Inn and spoke with Ms. Amy. She asked if this trip was for a special occassion such as an anniversary or honeymoon. I explained that this would probably be the last vacation I would take with my sweet husband. She was so wonderful and said that they'd make sure that we had a wonderful time.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. I cannot thank the Ms. Amy, Ms. Catherine, Ms. Katie, and Mr. Ernie enough. Our room was so soothing. The feather bed and pillows were a piece of heaven! The grounds were so beautiful and the trees did not disappoint. Each morning, we sat in the white chairs and watched the birds search for food in the river. The squirrels danced in the trees, and we were charmed by the flight of numerous hummingbirds.

The food is beyond description. Breakfast each morning was served with a smile and kindness. We thought the food could not get any better after eating breakfast, but oh my goodness, you must make a reservation for dinner! Each course was better than the preceding one! As we dined by candlelight, we watched the squirrels and hummingbirds dance around the water feature.

The Inn is very quiet and relaxed. The care you receive from the wonderful staff cannot be duplicated. You must stay at The Inn on the River!

Room Tip: The Inn leaves all the rooms open, until guests check in. You can stroll throgh the hallways and pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieandJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Everything & everyone so warm and inviting. Lap of luxury in peaceful beautiful surroundings. Manicured grounds with swimming pool overlooking the river under 300 year old live oak trees. "Loverly" rooms with comfortable beds. What more could you ask? An awesome chef! Dining service impeccable. This is a wonderful bed and breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Windows on the porch give you nice view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Although rooms are small, one can't help but remember that when the hotel was built people didn't need a lot of space.
The calm atmosphere allows for total disconnection and relaxation. Not having a tv in the room a major plus.
Breakfast service was beyond compare and all the staff friendly and inviting.
In a nut shell, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you want a truly lovely experience at a bed & breakfast then you must stay at the Inn on the River. We found this Inn by accident while looking around Glen Rose, visited and toured the Inn and grounds and knew immediately that we had to come back. Everyone that works there is pleasant, the Victorian rooms are so inviting, comfortable and relaxing. The grounds with the 300 year old oak trees was the perfect place to sit and relax, squirrels running about, cardinals and other birds flying around, that was the absolute perfect place for us.

From a homemade breakfast to the homemade evening cookies, we just could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is the only room that has a door to the back yard grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila_Merritt063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
14.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
0.6 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the River

Property: Inn on the River
Address: 205 SW Barnard St, P.O. Box 1417, Glen Rose, TX 76043-4814
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, which is designated a Texas Historical Landmark, is elegantly furnished to provide the ultimate in comfort. No two rooms are alike, but each is tastefully decorated with an antique armoire, fine linens, a feather bed and a goose-down comforter. All rooms have a private bath. The price of the room includes a full breakfast in our dining room overlooking the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing