We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get away”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We decided to take a break from Ft. Worth for the New Year & found this B & B. What a find! Pulling in the driveway was the beginning of a relaxing time. We stayed in the Carriage House, and it was small, but perfect for my fiance & I. I love that there was no tv in the "reading room"! Perfect place to turn off the phones & enjoy nature. The animals were a hoot, the goats, pigs, sheep, and horses...the walking trails were nice. It was cold & rainy most of our 2 night stay, so I can't wait to come back in the Spring when everything's in bloom! We'll definitely be back with the kids!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
77
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

I love bringing my grandkids here to run around, hike, pet the animals & stargaze! They have a great time walking by the river, playing croquet and horseshoes. And I can relax in the hammock to watch them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnemarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This place was great! I Chose it from reviews on trip advisor, and they were very accurate. It's charming, clean, and the animals are well cared for and friendly. The board games and movies in the rooms were a nice touch. Staff was super friendly and helpful. You could entertain yourself here for several hours, and it was just about my favorite thing about Glen Rose. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robing100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I was searching for something fun for my son and me to do and came across Country Woods Inn. I noticed they had a "walk-in special" so I called and booked the same day. It took an hour and half to get there from Dallas but it felt like we were a million miles away. As stated in previous posts, their website doesn't do this place justice.

We stayed in the Farmhouse East Wing. It was rustic but very cozy. I was actually surprised that it had satellite TV and a DVD player in the big room. The smaller room had a small TV/VHS combo also with satellite TV. They had several DVDs and VHS tapes to watch as well as many games (Trivial Pursuit, checkers, etc.) to play. The Farmhouse East had a mini kitchen with a small sink, microwave, and a smaller refrigerator/freezer. It was all we needed.

Outside our cabin was a tether ball court, hammock, tire swing, fire pit, grill, croquette kits, and tables with chairs. There was also a red wagon, tricycle, and mini rocking horse.

My 21-month old was so excited to feed the animals. Admittedly, I am a city girl and was not exactly sure what to do. There isn't anybody around to ask so we winged it. On the property are goats, horses, pigs, ducks, chickens, rabbits, a sheep, and a goose. The highlight of my son's trip was seeing horse poop (go figure). It was such a great experience for us both to get so close to the animals.

The toddler park needs to be updated. I didn't feel like the equipment was safe enough for my boy to play on. However, about a block away is Heritage Park with a gorgeous playground for big and little kids. You can get there by taking the paved walkway along the river. Just be careful of the stickers on your way to the river. Our shoes and socks were covered in them.

I cannot wait to come back here on a weekend and enjoy the Barn Breakfast. My son and I had a wonderful trip and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed in the adorable train car at the Coutry Woods Inn. My boys had a blast! One of their favorite memories was our "pet horses". The two horses on property loved to spend time with us when we were enjoying some outdoor time. Our hosts did a great job of having a clean and inviting space ready for us. We would highly recommend this destination for a relaxing, slow-paced get-away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILLS POINT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were 3 generations and everyone had a great time!!
Animals and exploring, cooking out, walks along the river, sleeping cool and comfrotable in a "living museum" - fun for all!! Beautiful, relaxing, exceeded our expectations - we look forward to going again!

Room Tip: We rented the Prairie House - both wings - and glad we did to have 2 bathrooms and enjoy all the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBORAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The last time we visited Country Woods Inn (2008), my oldest was 3 and I was pregnant w/ #2 and we had a blast. This time we have three kiddos (7, 3 1/2 & 21 mos.) and I cannot think of a better place to stay for a mini-cation. The kids loved walking around and visiting with, petting and feeding the animals. The play area is rustic - old school, but no less fun, especially the tire swing and lemonade stand. Radio Flyer wagons parked nearby and though marked for firewood, provided a great way to tote kids around. We stayed in the North Wing of the Prairie House as another guest did and, though, it was a bit tight, we were not uncomfortable. The two bedrooms were more space than the Saddlehouse, where we'd stayed previously, and were so carefully and thoughtfully decorated. The kids loved sliding down the little waterfall in the river, catching lightening bugs and breakfast in the barn. This place reminded me of stays at the Cataloochee Ranch in Maggie Valley, NC where my parents took my sister and I when we were children: making friends with other kids, eating together, going on long trail walks, picking wildflowers with my mom - all memories I treasure. And now, my husband and I get to make memories with our kids! I have recommended CWI to all my friends as a relaxing and delightful place to stay when visiting Glen Rose or Granbury.

Room Tip: Saddlehouse was great when we just had one little one - one room. With more children, Prairie House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
14.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
0.6 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Property: Country Woods Inn
Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing