We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Jose at Rough Creek made our trip one to remember and a must do every year. The level of service was one of the Ritz Carlton's we frequent often. He made sure all was taken care of and that we were having a great time. We have a toddler and was helpful and suggested great things to do with her. The food recommendations were also perfect along with the best top shelf margaritas you could have. Jose we will be back to see you and I hope they know they have a great employee! We will see you sooner than expected hopefully in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewbacag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    29
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
132
60
2
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Whether you need a relaxing weekend away with your spouse or you are looking for a place to hold a meeting...this is a great place to stay. The food is delicious and five star quality! The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The location requires a little bit of a drive, but it is well worth your time...you will be glad you did. Once you stay at this property, you will be a repeat client!
It's worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Beautiful location miles from anywhere, great views over the lake and farm land. Restaurant has good Texas food , rooms are very spacious and with a special offer price we thought it was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

First of all, I have to say that when I found out the price of our Valentine's Day get-away weekend here, I didn't see any way it could be worth that much money. In the end, we did leave feeling very pampered and with smiles on our faces, and that is saying a lot from someone who has traveled the world and likes a good deal.

FOOD - The chef has earned all kinds of honors and his food is absolutely outstanding. My husband and I really enjoy good food and this is some of the best we have ever had. I only gave breakfast a "very good" rating because I would have liked a few more items on the buffet, but the quality of the food was excellent. They make their own fresh pastries and breads daily, so everything is fresh and scrumptious. It would be very difficult to beat their steaks and the pheasant was also superb. The fresh made salsa at breakfast was some of the best salsa I've ever had.

SERVICE - the other reason people would love this is because the service is exceptional. It seemed like everywhere we turned, we were being called by name. When I was in the spa for my treatment, my name was on the locker. The manager asked to meet me and when I told her my first name, without hesitating or looking it up, she politely began calling me by Mrs. _____ (my married name). Very impressive.

VALUE - okay, now here is the deal. If you come here when the weather is good, especially during the middle of the week, so that you could enjoy all the many, many included activities, this could end up being a great deal. Or if you brought your family, as kids under 15 stay and eat for free, again this could be a fantastic deal. Some of the lodge rooms even have bunk beds for the kids and the cabins have three beds up in a loft if the kiddos are not small and can safely manage a spiral metal staircase. But for a couple in the winter, not such a good deal as we were there to get out of the city, relax, and enjoy the good food and service. Although we had a memorable time, there are other places that the two of us could have gone in the winter to get out of the city that would have been a fraction of the price, just perhaps not the same level of service or quality of food.

MUSTANG CABIN - we did thoroughly enjoy having a fireplace in front of our king size bed. The crackling fire my husband built was beautiful. The hammock outside and the rocking chairs on the screened-in porch would have been relaxing but it was too chilly and windy while we were here. Tiny bathroom is the downside to the cabin, but it does have a jetted bathtub. Compared to other places we have stayed, the cabins seem rather rustic for the price. You can do rustic and still be upscale, but this missed the mark a bit.

LODGE ROOMS - lovely, spacious rooms that all face out to the little lake with two chairs on the balcony to enjoy the view.

Book spa and dinner appointments well in advance as the resort is often full.

SPA - excellent service and did a great job of making each client feel special and pampered; however, I really enjoy a spa that has a steam room and sauna to relax in before a treatment. The adult pool and whirlpool is right outside the spa to enjoy.

ACTIVITIES - The great thing is that there are tons of activities for everyone to enjoy - fishing, boating, kayaks, hunting, shooting sports (clays, five-stand, rifle range, wobble trap, shooting instruction), paintball, volleyball, video golf, basketball and tennis, horseshoes and softball, fitness center, golf driving range, tomahawks and archery, zip-line, climbing wall, fossil hunting, nature trail, hiking and biking, Kawasaki mule rental, horseback riding, Adult swimming pool, spa, cattle drives, hay rides, play grounds, disc golf, petting corral, Kid's Ranch, kite flying, and Outdoor Family Pool complete with 66-foot Slide, Lazy River and Hot Tub. Not much chance to get bored when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you love seeing all the stars, hearing only the wind blow and maybe some crickets and love gourmet food, this is the place for you to visit. We've been coming here for birthdays and anniversaries for over 4 years and we never tire of it. The location is beautiful, the grounds are easy to hike/ walk, the pools are clean and private. I love one of the pools is for adults only - no screaming kids! The chef is world renown and I've never had a bad meal or drink there. The wine list is pretty great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, they all face the lake, so really there's no BAD rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

$1000 a night????
Rooms nice enough
Foods better than average
Staff is friendly
Place is nice but not laid out well. (Rooms open up to the outside? So rain, ice, heat...)
It's worth $350-400 NIGHT NOT DOUBLE THAT!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank wjbii58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

.My adult son and I went for acouple of nights as a father/son getaway. We hunted birds in the AM and hogs at night. The accomodations were comfortable and well appointed as to be expected for a upper end resort. Despite our novice hunting skills the staff and guides helpful, courteous and gracious in making our hunts a best ecperience. The food and wait service were exceptional as well.

Next time we will go when the weather is a little more temperate.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFBAUSTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
24.2 mi away
Plantation Inn Granbury
Plantation Inn Granbury
#4 of 13 in Granbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Property: Rough Creek Lodge
Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing