We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We went to Rough Creek Lodge with a group of families. With people of all ages in our group (about 40 people), this was the perfect place to stay! The food was delicious and unique. Every meal the chef had lots of options and everyone kept talking about how much they enjoyed the food. Although the hotel can is a bit pricey, with all of the activities and entertainment that is included, the price is well justified. Since we went during a HOT Texas summer, the family pool was also a hit! Very relaxing and has a really fun water slide. We also really enjoyed the 5 mile nature hike trail that goes around the property. The service was great and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely love to go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the lodge have a lake view. Everyone in our group really loved their rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayDGee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our first Texas vacation and we wanted to have a lodge experience to offset the city experience. WOW!!! This place is great! The food was amazing, the rooms were perfect in every way and the activities were phenomenal! We toured the vast property in a Kawasaki mule, learned how to shoot and had fun competing who could hit the most targets, went zip-lining, threw tomahawks, shot arrows, played putt-putt and took a few turns at the driving range, played tennis as a family, cooled off in the pool, competed at the fitness center, and walked around exploring....and we still had many activities that we couldn't fit in. The kids were so tired by the end of the day they didn't have the energy to go to the kid's ranch and play X-Box.....which is a first! The fun is definitely bigger in Texas! We can't wait to come back (the kids are already planning the next visit)! I know that I mentioned that the food was amazing, but we all could not stop raving about every meal. We all tried new foods while here and enjoyed every bite. We loved sitting on the back "porch" after dinner and then enjoying the fire pit with other guests. This place is great for couples, families or group outings. All of the staff is so friendly and helpful and that really puts the exclamation points on this experience.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be great because the view is great! We were on the lower level and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We took the entire family, three kids ( 5, 8 & 10 ) grandma & grandpa ... my wife and I. There was something to do for everyone, and everyone had a terrific time. From grandpa taking his grandson down to the dock to fish .. then going over to the adult pool to sit in the Jacuzzi! To wonderfully prepared dinners and cocktails, while our kids were at the Kids Ranch. A family horseback ride, family pool, kawasaki mule ride, driving range, tennis court, fitness center, bike riding, zip lining, climbing wall, smores by the fire ...we seriously did it all. What we liked most was that there was never a line to wait in or arrived at something to find out that it was "all booked". The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with any request. With our package was the Fossil Rim animal park tickets, which we hit while heading out of town - what a great way to end the quick getaway! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I kept teasing my wife with how "rough" this place was going to be, but she knows me too well to have been very concerned. But needless to say, she was blown away with the accommodations and the friendly service. We had a package deal that included dinner and breakfast which was a memorable experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dropped in Rough Creek Lodge for drinks and had a light bar dinner. Sal our bartender was personable and suggested a wine I had not tried before. My husband had a skinny margarita that was made with fresh lime on the rocks. We shared a smoked turkey sandwich with hand cut fries that was the perfect amount for a light dinner. We ended our visit watching the sunset....perfect evening with a perfect setting and service. Worth the stop!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank amyo986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Rough Creek Lodge is definitely worth the price! Every member of staff is friendly and knowledgable. The food is excellent and you will never run out of things to do. There is plenty of entertainment for kids / families and adults too. I love this place and we will certainly be back again and again. Top notch!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had 14 people for a family reunion. it will be one of the all time best memories for the family for sure.
Great service
Great food
Great facilities
Great, great activities

all employees take ownership of their duties. Everyone call us by name. The food is five star. So many activities to choose from that there was something for everyone. Very kid friendly if you bring kids.

I also went to Rough Creek for a business offsite. perfect venue for team building or strategy meeting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
93 reviews
24.2 mi away
Plantation Inn Granbury
Plantation Inn Granbury
#10 of 13 in Granbury
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range: £169 - £1,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing